Date: 28/11/2020 8:43
0

Customer Reviews for SIG Sauer ASP20

Average Customer Review

4.5 (31 reviews)
1 star

Create an online review   and share your thoughts with other customers

The most helpful favorable review

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful:

Overall rating:5.0

Value for money:4.0

Accuracy:5.0

By Charles from USA on 2019-01-09 19:07:51

Things I liked: Very accurate, smooth, light trigger, Not that loud, very well packaged for safe delivery and best of all MADE IN AMERICA with SIG constructed barrel.

Things I would have changed: With my inexperience you would be ill advised to consider any changes I may suggest, But as of right now I can't think of anything I would change.

What others should know: Pyramid air and specifically Ruth in customer service were a pleasure to work with. I ordered a Diana 340 Ntec in August 2018 and as of January 2019 I still hadn't received it ( Dianas fault, not Pyramid air). I asked Ruth to suggest a comparable replacement and she suggested this SIG. Boy am I glad she did. Shooting JSB exact jumbo Diabolo 15.89 My first three shots ,before I even adjusted the scope ,out of this rifle at 20 yds were touching each other in a 1/2" group 1" from the center of the target at 11 o'clock. My next three shots were at 30 yds with a 3/4" group ( 2 touching each other) about 1 1/2" from center at 11 o'clock. Not bad for the first 6 shots out of this rifle from an inexperienced air rifle shooter. I'm anxious to find out how far this rifle will shoot accurately. Excusing inexperience and a short range time, right now I can't say enough good things about this rifle. Someone with more experience could give a better more technical review than I can.

The most helpful critical review

0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:

Overall rating:2.0

Value for money:2.0

Accuracy:5.0

By Thomas from USA on 2019-08-21 11:23:59

Things I liked: Fit and finish are excellent, accuracy was great for single shots. I didn't have time for group shooting. Velocity was closer to advertised than most brands 8.44 Exact was 1025fps and 10.64 was 975fps. Length of pull was good for me.PS-- For those that can't tell what cal. uses an 8.44 pellet, it is a .177 cal.

Things I would have changed: I am short so the length of pull should be adjustable for people with longer arms. The necessary screws are in the Syn. stock so that should not be a big change.

What others should know: The reason for 2 stars overall---The locking wedge in the barrel started coming out of its slot. This caused the lockup to get worse until I was afraid I would bend the barrel trying to close it. PA said to send it back for a replacement. No shipping cost to me. 5 stars for them. I will review the replacement after a full test.

Sort by:
  • 12 Next
  • Showitems
  • 5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    By KEVIN from USA on 2020-08-17
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Shoots great with JSB 18g Nice balance

    Things I would have changed: Needs to come with a sling.Gets heavy after while

    What others should know: Great rifle for the price

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Steven from USA on 2020-08-02
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: The ASP20 is a very accurate breakbarrel. I am new to the breakbarrel world, so I was concerned that I would be unable to develop a consistent hold. But after just 2 practice sessions, I started hitting the target with great consistency. Man is this rifle fun to shoot.

    Things I would have changed: I wish Sig Sauer made a .25 caliber.

    What others should know: I mounted a SeeAll Open Sight because I do back yard shooting and I didn't want to mount a scope (at least not yet). I am very pleased with the both the ASP20 and the SeeAll sight.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Paul from USA on 2020-07-12
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: This rifle is very powerful and accurate.It blasts right through 1/2 plywood that i paced off at 30 feet.I purchased this rifle without a scope and later fitted it with a Sig whiskey 3 scope. Im impressed with the accuracy of this rifle .The groups at 30 feet are dime sized.I will leave feedback after i try it at longer distances at the range.Another reason i purchased this rifle that it is made here in the united states. Im going to hunt squirrels with this gun in the fall.

    Things I would have changed: I wouldnt change a thing.This is a high quality rifle

    What others should know: Some may not like the weight it is a bit on the heavy side. Im using this rifle to hunt small game.I bought the 22 cal.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Scott from USA on 2020-07-10
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Quality of build and accuracy. I have recently purchased 4 different springer (coil and gas) air rifles, the SIG ASP20 is the most accurate out of the box.

    Things I would have changed: The stock is somewhat bulky.

    What others should know: The ease of closing the barrel upon cocking is more pleasurable.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Richard from USA on 2020-07-09
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Accuracy. Tight groups. Handsome rifle. Enough power .22 for efficient kills on squirrels. Balanced nice. Barrel and picatinney rail very true. Minor scope adjustments to dial it in. Trigger is awesome. 1st stage travel span was set a minimum out of the box. Easy break down to charge cylinder. Locks up solid. Awesome technology and design at the lock up. Gun is almost maintenance free. White lithium grease at the pivot points.

    Things I would have changed: Make it lighter but then you would have to sacrifice something.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    3.0 3.0

    4.0 4.0

    By Malcolm from USA on 2020-07-07
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    1.01 rating

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Well made

    Things I would have changed: Make gun lighter

    What others should know: Not yet

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Richard from USA on 2020-07-07
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Very accurate. Trigger is smooth, very little creep if any. Solid breech to barrel lock up. Quiet. Easy to break and charge piston. Balanced very well. Packaged nicely in a corrugated box with foam thats reusable. Pyramid puts it in an outer shipper for protection.

    Things I would have changed: Its heavy.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By william from USA on 2020-06-23
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: easy to cock with plenty of power, trigger can be adjusted lower than you can want it.. accuracy is great with almost any pellet you put in it

    Things I would have changed: its a little bit heavy with no eyelets to put a sling on it

    What others should know: i bought the .177 based off of i had to wait to get a .22... Over all i am very pleased with the .177.. it is accurate with almost any pellet you put in it..

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Dale from USA on 2020-06-22
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Ambidextrous safety. very manageable weight. grip is very comfortable. quiet, very quiet. accuracy is excellent with an 18.4 gn pellet. we are able to maintain a very tight grouping at 30 yards. 1/2" using a red-dot optic. the 18.4 gn pellet is repeatable at 720 to 730 fps and they are hard hitting out to 50 yards. very entertaining gun to shoot especially at moderate distances when shooting metal, nice little ring. trigger adjustment resolved the little takeup it came with and now feels as good as anything else we shoot.

    Things I would have changed: not much, the breaking action is stiff, and that is expected. but once you break it the cocking action is easy and feels solid. snaps back cleanly.

    What others should know: for inside 30 yard shots on small game I don't think I have seen a better platform.

     
  • 3.0 3.0

    3.0 3.0

    5.0 5.0

    By John from USA on 2020-05-28
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Solid ergonomic synthetic stock, steel Picatinny rail, good groups, good materials, smooth operation.

    Things I would have changed: SIG need to be sure to align the barrels with the receivers and rails. Better yet, just add an underlever and be done with it. Plastic trigger would probably look better quality if steel or aluminum.

    What others should know: Why the break ? There is really no good reason to have a break barrel airgun design, especially since almost everyone uses a scope – this means that the barrel moves relative to the receiver and scope mount. Why ask for trouble when an under-lever avoids the problem ? Just a hair of movement equates to quite a variance in shot placement at 25 yards. Given that SIG tend to make innovatively designed precision products using good materials, and they advertised this as having precision barrel alignment and repeatability, I decided to give it a try. I took great care mounting my favorite airgun proof scope, but when I went to zero it I found that at full scope elevation it still shot an inch low at 25 yards (shot great groups, just low). I measured the angle between the barrel axis and the receiver – it was almost half a degree out, with barrel pointing down. I emailed SIG with a detailed description of the problem and they sent me a shipping label. Two months later the rifle was returned with a message that they had test fired it with their equipment and it was OK (the test target showed it shooting low at 25 yards). The documentation indicated that the customer service people had not communicated my well documented problem to the technical assessment people. Everyone knows that if you install a scope with a greater range of adjustment then you will be able to get zeroed – but my view is that I should not have to use a specific scope with large adjustment range on a rifle that is advertised as being a new generation of break barrel with revolutionary precise alignment. I solved the problem by mounting a fixed 6x SWFA Super Sniper 30mm tube scope with 140 MOA of adjustment – somewhat limiting (scope and mounts cost more than the rifle). I don’t know how many ASP20 rifles are like this, perhaps most users get it zeroed and don’t realize, or don’t care, that their scope is maxed out on adjustment. The bottom line is that I would not give any other break barrel more than 2 stars. The SIG gets 3, but would have had 4+ stars had it been manufactured properly, and had the customer service/tech assessment been better performed. Points to SIG for at least being receptive, and paying shipping both ways. This rifle has a good solid ergonomic synthetic stock, an accurately welded on STEEL picatinny rail, is made from good materials, and is made in the USA. With a little practice SIG will have a market leading winner (it is already the leader in break barrels, despite the problem). For now, there are several good under lever designs out there, so why risk it. Why did SIG risk it – they should have just made this an underlever from the start, it could have been a world-beater.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Robert from USA on 2020-05-13
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: It is a good as advertised. Quality is high. Built to last. If accuracy is the primary objective, consider this rifle.

    Things I would have changed: Nothing

    What others should know: Trigger adjusted to 2 1/4 pounds.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Tellico Tom from USA on 2020-04-23
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Impressive crisp trigger out the box. 1 lb. 10 oz. Phenomenally accurate with a variety of pellets. 1/4" groups at 25 yards. Smooth cocking, but not easy for me unless I use both hands. Picatinny rail is a nice touch instead of a dovetail. Power level seems to be perfect for the 22 caliber, 800+ fps with medium weight pellets. Really likes the H&N Hunter Extreme pellets.

    Things I would have changed: Not a thing. Sig Sauer nailed it with this one.

    What others should know: Make sure your scope and mounts can handle the sharp snap of the recoil action. Buy premium (pro) mounts. The guns seem to be in short supply, so be prepared to preorder. Well worth the wait, though.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Edward from USA on 2020-03-23
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: First, the packaging! SIG did it right...the gun arrived in a heavy box, with foam cut out to actually fit and protect the gun. -Hefty, Beefy, Stout are all words I would use to describe this gun..and I like them all. -The barrel "lock up".....simple concept, executed in an outstanding manner, and I believe its a major reason this gun is so accurate. -ACCURATE!! -Surprisingly good trigger. Out of box it is perfect for me. -The welded on rail! Gosh I wish all air rifle makers did this. -The stock is design/built so I can actually rest my cheek where is should be, without "reaching" to see through the scope.

    Things I would have changed: -Safety...just awkward all the way around.

    What others should know: When this gun arrived, I checked it over, and everything was tight from the factory, then clean it. The bore was surprisingly clean. After cleaning the bore with goo-gone, I used a bore mop slathered in Mothers Caranuba cleaner wax in the bore, let it sit for a couple of mins then followed it with a couple of clean patches. Some might think I'm nuts, but I believe doing this aids in a guns accuracy. For years I've done this to my powder guns with increased accuracy.....and it seems to work in air gun too. (check the pics) To date this is the best piston gun I have seen/fired. SIG did it right, and for me this gun is certainly a keeper!

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Ron overbay on 2020-03-15
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: Shoots great, handles well but hard to cock. Enjoy shooting it.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Plinker50 from USA on 2020-02-29
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating

    Things I liked: I enjoy shooting an accurate rifle and this is one for sure! My son sighted it to zero on the mil-dot just below the crosshair and as long as you do your part, that is exactly where the pellet goes. We used Crosman Premier hunting pellets and H&N sniper pellets and the zero was the same even though the sniper pellets were a bit heavier than the Crosman pellets. The trigger works flawlessly and it breaks really crisp. I'm not sure of the pull since I don't have a gauge to check it with, but it is very light. I would guess about 2 to 2.5 lbs. Overall, a very nice gun and I am very pleased with it. SIG did an excellent job with this rifle!

    Things I would have changed: This is not a complaint but it is a very heavy rifle. It is even heavier than my son's 308 that he hunts with.

    What others should know: My son said that the cocking effort is a little on the heavy side and it is, but it isn't nearly as heavy as some other magnum power air rifles. If that is an issue for you I would say to try one out if you can before you buy it.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    By Plinker50 from USA on 2020-02-28
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: The quality of the gun is amazing. My son, Jordan, helped me to mount the scope that I bought for it and even though I haven't had a chance to sight it in yet, the first shot only landed about five inches below my aim point. I am looking forward to finishing this review later. I am very impressed with this rifle and the folks at Pyramid Air are great. I will come back and update when I get the scope sighted in properly. Thank you so much!

    Things I would have changed: Nothing!

    What others should know: If you are looking for a quality air rifle, SIG-SAUER has you covered hands down.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Goldie from USA on 2020-02-28
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: This rifle is very well built and of high quality, an excellent value for the money spent, and is extremely accurate! I highly recommend this rifle!

    Things I would have changed: Nothing, this is a great rifle!

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By David on 2020-02-16
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: Purchased the Asp20 in .22 with whiskey3 scope.Did a lot of research on other high end break barrels and decided on this rifle.Couldn't be more happier.I can't put it down.Very powerful and scary accurate.The scope is truly amazing.I purchased a lazer range finder to use to it's full potential.In some hunting situations hold over with the mil dots work best.But when you can range your target and know exactly how far it is,and be able to dial the scope to that range and hold dead on...Truly amazing.

    Things I would have changed: Nothing

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Greg from USA on 2019-11-23
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Adjusted the trigger a little lighter set the scope the first group at 35 yds was a half inch Great shooting gun

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Paul from USA on 2019-11-11
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: The fit/finish is fantastic. Cocking is not tough. The Picatinny rail holds optics snug. The trigger is easy to learn and probably my favorite trigger of any gun I own. But most of all, the accuracy. Comparing this rifle with my budget underlever is night and day. Not only is it more accurate with its favorite pellets, it likes a wider range of pellets. Not only that, I can shoot 3 pellets from 3 manufacturers in the same target square.

    Things I would have changed: If it could be built lighter without compromising accuracy, I would like it a little more. Two pellet models were tough to seat. Not sure what's up with that.

    What others should know: My gun loves, in order, the Baracuda Match, JSB Exact Heavy, and the Baracuda Hunter. The Predator Metalmag does well too. It was the only 8 grain pellet that performed close to as well as the ones in the 10 grain area. I would stick with pellets over 10 grains.

     
  • 12 Next
Navigation