Date: 27/1/2021 21:57
0

Customer Reviews for SIG Sauer ASP20 - Page 2

Average Customer Review

4.5 (32 reviews)
1 star

Create an online review   and share your thoughts with other customers

The most helpful favorable review

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful:

Overall rating:5.0

Value for money:4.0

Accuracy:5.0

By Charles from USA on 2019-01-09 19:07:51

Things I liked: Very accurate, smooth, light trigger, Not that loud, very well packaged for safe delivery and best of all MADE IN AMERICA with SIG constructed barrel.

Things I would have changed: With my inexperience you would be ill advised to consider any changes I may suggest, But as of right now I can't think of anything I would change.

What others should know: Pyramid air and specifically Ruth in customer service were a pleasure to work with. I ordered a Diana 340 Ntec in August 2018 and as of January 2019 I still hadn't received it ( Dianas fault, not Pyramid air). I asked Ruth to suggest a comparable replacement and she suggested this SIG. Boy am I glad she did. Shooting JSB exact jumbo Diabolo 15.89 My first three shots ,before I even adjusted the scope ,out of this rifle at 20 yds were touching each other in a 1/2" group 1" from the center of the target at 11 o'clock. My next three shots were at 30 yds with a 3/4" group ( 2 touching each other) about 1 1/2" from center at 11 o'clock. Not bad for the first 6 shots out of this rifle from an inexperienced air rifle shooter. I'm anxious to find out how far this rifle will shoot accurately. Excusing inexperience and a short range time, right now I can't say enough good things about this rifle. Someone with more experience could give a better more technical review than I can.

The most helpful critical review

0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:

Overall rating:2.0

Value for money:2.0

Accuracy:5.0

By Thomas from USA on 2019-08-21 11:23:59

Things I liked: Fit and finish are excellent, accuracy was great for single shots. I didn't have time for group shooting. Velocity was closer to advertised than most brands 8.44 Exact was 1025fps and 10.64 was 975fps. Length of pull was good for me.PS-- For those that can't tell what cal. uses an 8.44 pellet, it is a .177 cal.

Things I would have changed: I am short so the length of pull should be adjustable for people with longer arms. The necessary screws are in the Syn. stock so that should not be a big change.

What others should know: The reason for 2 stars overall---The locking wedge in the barrel started coming out of its slot. This caused the lockup to get worse until I was afraid I would bend the barrel trying to close it. PA said to send it back for a replacement. No shipping cost to me. 5 stars for them. I will review the replacement after a full test.

Sort by:
  • Previous 12
  • Showitems
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Paul from USA on 2019-11-11
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: The fit/finish is fantastic. Cocking is not tough. The Picatinny rail holds optics snug. The trigger is easy to learn and probably my favorite trigger of any gun I own. But most of all, the accuracy. Comparing this rifle with my budget underlever is night and day. Not only is it more accurate with its favorite pellets, it likes a wider range of pellets. Not only that, I can shoot 3 pellets from 3 manufacturers in the same target square.

    Things I would have changed: If it could be built lighter without compromising accuracy, I would like it a little more. Two pellet models were tough to seat. Not sure what's up with that.

    What others should know: My gun loves, in order, the Baracuda Match, JSB Exact Heavy, and the Baracuda Hunter. The Predator Metalmag does well too. It was the only 8 grain pellet that performed close to as well as the ones in the 10 grain area. I would stick with pellets over 10 grains.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Michael from USA on 2019-10-15
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Great air rifle.

    Things I would have changed: Nothing comes to mind.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Thomas from USA on 2019-09-01
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: .177cal-average velocity with Exact 10.34-875fps/ Exact 8.44-1022fps/ H&N FTT- 936fps/H&N Barr. match-913fps all measured with a Chrony. Largest group was 1 3/4 in. with FTT. Smallest group was 3/4in with EX. 8.44. All were an average of 3 groups of 5 shots at 50 yds. Accuracy was excellent to say the least. The cocking effort was not excessive for the power ( in my opinion). My Hatson 125 is harder than this. Loud at the gun for the shooter but at 20 plus feet away, it is very quiet. 100 yd. ( just for the halibut) 5 inch gong hit 19 out of 20 shots using 3 mil dots when sighted for 50 yds. ( using an Airmax 4X12)-- 50 yd shots would go through a 3/8 inch plywood board. Trigger was OK at the factory setting so I left it alone.

    Things I would have changed: Length of pull needs to be adjustable. It's good for short arms like mine, but I bet big boys will want a little more length. If I could I would take some weight off, it's a bit heavy. I know, I know, it helps with accuracy,but, you can always add more but not so much take it off.

    What others should know: This gun is a replacement for one that broke ( see my review for that one). PA sent me a new one inside of 3 days, 5* for that. H&N pellets will need a seating tool, at least mine did. The Exact pellets were good with fingers only. Air arms were ok to seat but not real accurate when shooting. CLEAN THE BARREL before you shoot. ( pardon me for yelling but this is very important) accuracy will be bad if you don't , so why waste ammo. Do it first. I used a Hawke Airmax 4X12 and it is starting to come apart. I see pcs. of glass inside moving around. The shot cycle is very harsh so it could be fun to find a scope that will last. Sandbag shooting is possible if you use a soft bag and mount the gun on the bag just in front of the trigger guard. Penna. has a small game season for airguns. This one is going hunting, so squirrels--watch out, here comes the SIG. The gun may be a bit heavy so I will use a light 4X to hunt with. Heavy or not I'm going anyway.

  • 4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Tom from USA on 2019-09-01
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.02 ratings

    Things I liked: Mine is a .22 Synthetic received in July 2019. This is a hard hitting (21-23 ft/lbs) and is highly accurate - on a par with my RWS 48.. Noise when shooting is not at all objectionable, as far as I'm concerned.. Haven't felt the need to get out the decibel meter.to check it. It's fine.

    Things I would have changed: An adjustable comb would be nice in order to get a comfortable and consistent "cheek weld," regardless of the scope mounting set-up. No complaints on the trigger, except that it's plastic. It's no T-06 or Rekord but it works well. It's just the idea of plastic or space-age polymer or whatever. But then, I did buy the synthetic model so - never mind. An automatic on safety would also be a good safety factor.for that one time I forget. That sliding safety is sort of funky too. But, I like the rifle for it's considerable virtues.

    What others should know: To me, this is a heavy gun. If this thing cocks with 23 lbs of effort, I'll eat my hat! I can marginally cock it with one hand but 90% of the time, I reach up and use both hands. Bathroom scale test says 44 lbs FWIW. Like a couple others have said most pellets won't fit without extraordrinary effort - using a tool. That includes all the Crosman, H&N and Beeman pellets. I'm not doing that. Fortunately,all the JSB pellets I normally use, fit with finger pressure except for the big 25.4 gr Jumbo Monster. The Predator Metalmags also fit and work well with an extreme spread (10 shots) at just 8 ft/sec. Yes, I'm using a chronograph. RWS pellets are not my favorite but, surprisingly, in this gun, they fit and work very well - Super Domes, H-Points.and Meisterkugeln. Both the JSB and the RWS pellets fit to my liking are are really accurate as well. So, I'm good with this. .

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Nate on 2019-08-28
    Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating

    Things I liked: Bought mine at PA, arrived a day earlier. The gun is very accurate, the best break barrel I ever fired! Better than my Octane Elite, Gamo Swarm Maxxim and Bone Collector and my Hatsan 125Sniper. The wedge design is very solid when locked, time will tell if this good trait will hold in the future. Overall build quality is excellent, I just do hope that no problem will arise in the first few months of owning this gorgeous rifle.

    Things I would have changed: I wish they put a flutted jacket on the entire barrel and make the end of the suppressor detachable so I can clean the buffles inside it just like in my Hatsan with QE suppressor. I wish also that the cheek piece is adjustable, too low on my preference using 3x12x32 bugbuster optic w/ medium QD rings.

    What others should know: Rifle is not pellet picky, always accurate once zeroed in.Tried HN Barracudas, Hunter Extreme, FTT, JSB, RWS superpoints, Gamo redfires and rockets and even the cheap Crossman Premier Piranhas, all are very accurate. H&M FTT and JSB Diabolo 15.89gr are the best.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Steven from USA on 2019-08-23
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Over all I'm very happy with my Sig. Nice looking and the feel is like a well made rifle. Having great fun with it as well on the range. Nice to be able to shoot the Sig in the backyard. The silencer is way cool as I can shoot at home and not worry about the neighborhood complaining. The trigger is a nice touch as you can really see how accurate the rifle is. Yes money well spent. Pyramid Air had a great price and buying was easy and shipment was way fast. Got the Sig in 3 DAYS.

    Things I would have changed: Not a thing.

    What others should know: Scope mounting is easy.

     
  • 2.0 2.0

    2.0 2.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Thomas from USA on 2019-08-21
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Fit and finish are excellent, accuracy was great for single shots. I didn't have time for group shooting. Velocity was closer to advertised than most brands 8.44 Exact was 1025fps and 10.64 was 975fps. Length of pull was good for me.PS-- For those that can't tell what cal. uses an 8.44 pellet, it is a .177 cal.

    Things I would have changed: I am short so the length of pull should be adjustable for people with longer arms. The necessary screws are in the Syn. stock so that should not be a big change.

    What others should know: The reason for 2 stars overall---The locking wedge in the barrel started coming out of its slot. This caused the lockup to get worse until I was afraid I would bend the barrel trying to close it. PA said to send it back for a replacement. No shipping cost to me. 5 stars for them. I will review the replacement after a full test.

  • 3.0 3.0

    3.0 3.0

    3.0 3.0

    By John from USA on 2019-08-10
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    4.02 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Made in the USA. Well built. Very sturdy. Easy to cock (after the first few times)

    Things I would have changed: The cheek on the stock is WAY too low. I had to install an after market cheek riser and raise it all the way up, just to be able to look through the scope. The suppressor suggests that it is quiet to operate. It is not. The mechanical sounds made when firing are VERY loud. You wont get a second shot after a miss.

    What others should know: This rifle recoils quite a bit. I shoot a 6.5 Creedmoor that has about to same recoil. It shoots one inch groups at 15 meters. Had I not installed the cheek riser, I would probably return it.

     
  • 4.0 4.0

    4.0 4.0

    4.0 4.0

    By fred on 2019-08-04
    Was this review helpful?
    2.01 rating

    Things I liked: fairly easy cocking, good trigger that should get better as it breaks in but would like it to get to 2 lbs instead of limited to 2.5 lbs. Back yard quiet. Seems very accurate but have only fired at 15 yards so far.

    Things I would have changed: Interestingly, the larger H&N head pellets won't fit - 5.5 mm and larger very difficult. JSB not a problem nor is Crosman Premium. Still experimenting for most accurate pellet.

    What others should know: You do need to purchase an optical sight with this rifle as it doesn't come with iron sights.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By earl from USA on 2019-08-03
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: The synthetic stock, its very accurate, easy to cock, the trigger suites me fine out of the box, location of the safety and sig sauer quality. The look after installing the UTG bubble leveler scope.

    Things I would have changed: Wouldn't change a thing.

    What others should know: This one is a .22 cal. Its a little on the heavy side but manageable especially after adding a scope. I received it on 22 Jul and immediately added a scope. Discharged 50 rounds after sighting in and my shoulder was starting to complain a little by then. accuracy is superb. Used 21.14 gr H&N barracuda match to sight in. Once zeroed @ 20 yards I put up a fresh shoot & see target and discharged 3 rounds and thought I had missed the target with the second two pellets, literally just one hole a tiny bit bigger than the pellet, all three rounds. i could not be more pleased. I discharged 5 H&N 16.20 gr hornets and the hole opened to the size of a quarter. I'm going to introduce it to a few ground hogs that are giving me a fit. I'm recommending this rifle to all my friends.

  • 3.0 3.0

    5.0 5.0

    3.0 3.0

    By mike from USA on 2019-07-30
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    2.04 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: So far alls good, a little to early , haven't done enough shooting to have a opinion yet, sighting in went smooth. Gun arrived in great shape, like the cocking, easy and smooth.

    Things I would have changed: To early to have a opinion

    What others should know: To early to have a opinion

  • 5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Charles from USA on 2019-01-09
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    4.02 ratings

    Things I liked: Very accurate, smooth, light trigger, Not that loud, very well packaged for safe delivery and best of all MADE IN AMERICA with SIG constructed barrel.

    Things I would have changed: With my inexperience you would be ill advised to consider any changes I may suggest, But as of right now I can't think of anything I would change.

    What others should know: Pyramid air and specifically Ruth in customer service were a pleasure to work with. I ordered a Diana 340 Ntec in August 2018 and as of January 2019 I still hadn't received it ( Dianas fault, not Pyramid air). I asked Ruth to suggest a comparable replacement and she suggested this SIG. Boy am I glad she did. Shooting JSB exact jumbo Diabolo 15.89 My first three shots ,before I even adjusted the scope ,out of this rifle at 20 yds were touching each other in a 1/2" group 1" from the center of the target at 11 o'clock. My next three shots were at 30 yds with a 3/4" group ( 2 touching each other) about 1 1/2" from center at 11 o'clock. Not bad for the first 6 shots out of this rifle from an inexperienced air rifle shooter. I'm anxious to find out how far this rifle will shoot accurately. Excusing inexperience and a short range time, right now I can't say enough good things about this rifle. Someone with more experience could give a better more technical review than I can.

  • Previous 12
Navigation