Date: 5/8/2020 20:59
0

Customer Reviews for Seneca Eagle Claw

Average Customer Review

4.5 (7 reviews)
2 star1 star

Create an online review   and share your thoughts with other customers

The most helpful favorable review

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful:

Overall rating:5.0

Value for money:5.0

Accuracy:5.0

By Mark from USA on 2020-03-22 22:44:38

Things I liked: The gun is really accurate and has plenty of power . This will make a good hunting rifle and I think I will really like it especially the quick lever action .

Things I would have changed: Maybe a little lighter trigger and a better check valve in air tube.

What others should know: On second power setting with an 18.13 JSB my gun is putting out 967 FPS .

The most helpful critical review

0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:

Overall rating:3.0

Value for money:2.0

Accuracy:4.0

By Albert Perez from USA on 2019-12-22 10:30:37

Things I liked: It is a very good looking rifle. It is a lightweight and balanced. It loads easily and I like lever action.

Things I would have changed: I would have made the safety indicator a little easier to spot. It is overpriced and I would prefer a larger tank.

What others should know: There is a less expensive rifle that I did not purchase because it could not be purchased in 25 with a picittiny rail. So far I'm a bit disappointed.

Sort by:
  • 4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    By Brian from USA on 2020-06-16
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: I am very impressed with fit and Finnish. Only one small blemmish in the wood stock. The magazines cycle well when pellets are seated properly. The upper receiver appears to be milled well. Barrel and shroud are tight and as they should be. Lots and Lots of power.

    Things I would have changed: Very heavy. Trigger pull is a bit long and not match grade. However the trigger is as good as most rimfire guns out of the box. Needs a sling ! This is a hunting rifel for sure. The power wheel ? Set it on the indicator dots.

    What others should know: 70+ fpe . All day long . Any grain weight under 25 grains crack . Not sub Sonic. Achieved 70 fpe 20 grain consistently. Achieved 70+ with 30 grain slug however slugs bipass air. Still looking for optimal pellet for both accuracy and energy. This is a squirrel, rabbit, coon, fox , bobcat killer.

     
  • 4.0 4.0

    4.0 4.0

    4.0 4.0

    By Moss from USA on 2020-06-10
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    4.01 rating

    Things I liked: Good looking rifle , Nice walnut stock , It was the under lever that drew me to this rifle and It works well .

    Things I would have changed: I would have berried the quick disconnect In the bottom of the stock rather that sticking out at the end of the tube , The trigger Isn't bad but not great either , It was probably around 4ibs or so out of the box I dialed It down to around 2ibs and lost the first stage , so the triggers not to bad now but no first stage , maybe I'll play around with It some more and get that first stage back .

    What others should know: All In all I'll give the gun a 8 out of ten , It has awesome power very accurate over 50 yards with JSB 18G pellets . At a 100 yards the group opened up to about 1 1/2 not to shabby remember this Is for hunting not a bench rest rifle . The power adjuster wheel works well once you have played around with It for a while you get to know where the power you want Is . Is It a slug gun...Im not sure I tried Nielsen 27G 218 slugs out to 100 yards on full power the group was about 3" cc I was expecting better but the gun was new so ill try them again when Its worn In , I'v ordered a couple of tins of H&N slugs they may do better .

     
  • 4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Albert Perez from USA on 2020-04-03
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: This was a fine rifle to learn on. David is correct and I should have waited to learn more about PCP before judgement.

    Things I would have changed: I can't think of anything at this time. The weight is good so a larger caliber would overweigh the gun.

    What others should know: This is a fun gun to learn on. Since I've had a chance to learn some I've bought another rifle in a larger caliber. I am waiting to get another soon. Oh, this tired old man bought a compressor as well. Pumping these babies up by hand is a bit tiring.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Mark from USA on 2020-03-22
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    4.02 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: The gun is really accurate and has plenty of power . This will make a good hunting rifle and I think I will really like it especially the quick lever action .

    Things I would have changed: Maybe a little lighter trigger and a better check valve in air tube.

    What others should know: On second power setting with an 18.13 JSB my gun is putting out 967 FPS .

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    By David on 2020-03-20
    Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating

    Things I liked: The Eagle Claw is a solid, well built gun. It arrived in perfect condition, ready to shoot out of the box. The rifle has several defining features that allow it to carve out a unique space in the varmint hunting market. First is the very smooth lever action. This is a fun-to-shoot gun. It's large, (i bought the full-size rifle), and has an enormous air tank, (almost as large as a bottle). It will easily push 30 - 35 shots, (.22cal), before there is any decline in muzzle velocity. In fact, from 200 BAR, FPS rises for the first 15 shots, levels off,and then slowly drops to the starting point. The curve is fairly flat and a regulator would be a waste. The magazine is spring loaded and the pellets are loaded tail first. The spring loaded feature allows the mag to index perfectly with every shot. Finally, the accuracy is more than enough for varmint hunting out to 50 yards.

    Things I would have changed: I am not sure I would change anything at this point. One small thing that could be done better is the cover for the tank inlet. A full-size, (Air Arms), or rotating, (Hatsan) style cover would look better. But this is only personal preference. Of note, this is one rifle that could use a de-pinger built into the air tank, of course, this would change nothing but the sound.

    What others should know: It is what is says it is. Powerful and accurate with ample capacity. The shrouded barrel is fairly effective at cutting down the noise - it is still loud, but the bark is gone and it is safe for unprotected ears from what I can tell.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By David from USA on 2020-01-12
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: I bought a refurbished .25 Seneca Eagle Claw in Dec 2019. It arrived promptly and I shot it about 150 times. The gun appeared absolutely new and was beautiful. The power wheel did not function well and my maximum velocities were about 910 fps with 33.95 JSB ammunition, about 8 per cent below the advertised 970 fps. I returned it to Air Venturi, and they found a pellet stuck in the power wheel mechanism. After removing the wheel functioned well and the maximum velocity went up to about 935, still a little less than advertised. The rifle otherwise is flawless in its appearance and function. Accuracy is superb even when reducing the power level. A change of 400 fps only results in a drop of about I" at 25 yards. I get about 90 accurate shots from a 200 bar fill to the yellow line of 100 bars, although the velocity drops 120 fps from about 650 fps to 530 at low power. Noise is comparable to a .25 Marauder, even at 935 fps. the power wheel did not turn freely and I was getti

    Things I would have changed: The rifle is 4" longer than I would like and 1 lb heavier than my Marauder. The stock is beautiful walnut,but 3/8" too thick in the for grip. The gun needs sling studs.

    What others should know: Mr Perez is unfair in his comments about the gun. He may have gotten a lemon. I think most guns would reflect my evaluation. This is the best pcp I have ever owned, and though highly accurate, better suited for hunting than bench rest. Definitely backyard friendly. Air Venturi Service is unmatched. This gun needs a You Tube video to fully present its excellence.

  • 3.0 3.0

    2.0 2.0

    4.0 4.0

    By Albert Perez from USA on 2019-12-22
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: It is a very good looking rifle. It is a lightweight and balanced. It loads easily and I like lever action.

    Things I would have changed: I would have made the safety indicator a little easier to spot. It is overpriced and I would prefer a larger tank.

    What others should know: There is a less expensive rifle that I did not purchase because it could not be purchased in 25 with a picittiny rail. So far I'm a bit disappointed.

Navigation