Date: 14/11/2018 19:49
0

Umarex Octane Elite. 2251353. Customer Reviews - page 1

Average Customer Review

4.0 (24 reviews)

Create an online review   and share your thoughts with other customers

The most helpful favorable review

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful:

Overall rating:5.0

Value for money:5.0

Accuracy:5.0

By Robert from USA on 2018-01-19 08:49:24

Things I liked: I don't write long reviews. Just no b.s. Extremely accurate with a hard punch. It took a lot of practice to site in the scope. Started at 25 yards. Perfect. Then about 20 more shots at 50 yards. 20 more at 70 yards with 3 inch groupings. 2 writhin 1 inch. Those put a dent in a metal roof exhaust pipe. Hit a few at 100 yards with little punch. But like I said, lots of practice taking into consideration of windage. This is NOT a .308 rifle, so windage plays a big role in any .22 pellets even at these distances. I've found that the JSB Heavy Diablo 18.13 grain is the best for my .22 rifle.

Things I would have changed: Trigger pull is to much in my opinion. About 4.3 pounds. Really? Freestanding with this trigger pull can throw off sighting. Not for fun plinking. Cocking can wear you out after about 20 rounds with over a 30 pound cocking process.

What others should know: Great if you want accuracy and power. Patience is the key for sighting in longer targets. Start at 25 yards and gradually more down range. Stick with the heavier lead pellets or what's the point? Loud for the first dozen shots or so. Be prepared for that, the weight, and heavy cocking. I love it now. But almost gave up with my LACK of patients. Also make sure your scope is tight or it will move. Great rifle. Love it now!

The most helpful critical review

0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:

Overall rating:1.0

Value for money:1.0

Accuracy:1.0

By Jack from USA on 2018-08-24 06:54:46

Things I liked: Fast shipping by Pyramid Air. 2 days.

Things I would have changed: Would like to have an American made gun and better quality control or testing before shipping.

What others should know: bought this gun because of good reviews. Checked all screws, 2 on barrel needed tightening, 2 were stripped. Unpacked it , mounted the scope and fired about 100 rounds. Could not get a consistent group with any of 5 different weight pellets. Scope was o.k. but could not adjust it any more to the left. Called Umarex and they said "send it back". Sent it back after paying UPS $45. for shipping. Waiting for word from Umarex. My opinion is; don't waste your money, pay a little more for an American made gun, if you can find one.

Sort by:
  • 12 Next
  • Showitems
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By David from USA on 2018-09-11
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    4.52 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Let me start by saying I am new to pellet guns. I was given a Crosman XT and added a Simmons scope and I was hooked. I ran out got my hands on a Gamo Whisper. At 10 yards I was shooting dimes freehand. New hobby. Groundhogs lookout! On to the Octane. I shouldered this gun at the local superstore. I wanted to research a bit and found this site. The price was much better here so I ordered the gun. Upon its arrival, I mounted the scope, and went out to give it a try. This gun is a completely different animal the my other guns. It took me 6 shots with the forearm resting on the deck rail to zero at 10 yds. It does give you a workout cocking this rifle, but man, it hits hard and consistent. Balance is good. The recoil system works. Just takes a bit to get used to. Right now, with the Umarex scope, I'm doing dime groups, but many same hole hits. So, lets see how it does over time. My hopes are high.

     
  • 1.0 1.0

    1.0 1.0

    1.0 1.0

    By Jack from USA on 2018-08-24
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Fast shipping by Pyramid Air. 2 days.

    Things I would have changed: Would like to have an American made gun and better quality control or testing before shipping.

    What others should know: bought this gun because of good reviews. Checked all screws, 2 on barrel needed tightening, 2 were stripped. Unpacked it , mounted the scope and fired about 100 rounds. Could not get a consistent group with any of 5 different weight pellets. Scope was o.k. but could not adjust it any more to the left. Called Umarex and they said "send it back". Sent it back after paying UPS $45. for shipping. Waiting for word from Umarex. My opinion is; don't waste your money, pay a little more for an American made gun, if you can find one.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Thomas from USA on 2018-08-15
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: I like the price point for a powerful airgun that I use to control groundhogs that destroyed my garden. I purchased .22 cal with crow magnum pellets that go completely through 3/4" plywood at about 30 yards. The gas piston is quieter than my existing spring piston .177 gun. The chat function on pyramydair.com was fantastic. I think Bruce was the person's name. He asked me what I wanted to do and suggested this combo and the pellets. He was spot on. Great help. I'm very happy with my purchase.

    Things I would have changed: In an effort to save money, I decided to NOT have pyramid air mount the scope and sight-in the gun. It took me about 25 shots to get the gun dialed in. I wouldn't change the purchase but next time would have pyramydair set it up.

    What others should know: Leverage the chat function while browsing. The tech was extremely knowledgeable and helpful in arriving at a solution to replace the ineffective .177 cal spring loaded air rifle that I previously purchased at a big box store.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Ron Hanz on 2018-08-15
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: This rifle was bought for hog control. Don't remember the date I purchased from Pyramid this Umarex Octane .22 (probably out of warranty but still doing the job). Live in a no firearm discharge subdivision of small acreage tracts in central Texas. Hogs gotta root but I became tired of replacing my lawn. Included scope works for my purposes. Most shots are less than 25 yards as the hogs are indifferent to humans until you create a racket. Forget the number of hogs to date, but most were in the 20-50+ pound size. A shot to the brain pan puts them kicking.

    Things I would have changed: Probably close to the weight of a Garand, but manageable. The strength required for cocking may be problematic. Could present problems for some.

    What others should know: An old f**t here and almost never do the review thing. Email from Pyramid saying give a review and enter a drawing motivated me to post this, but it does everything I require.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Scott from USA on 2018-08-02
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: I really like this air rifle. The optics are an par with 4 of my other conventional rifle scopes ....vtex....so I'm quite pleased with the optic. I did however use my own rings. This thing is hefty !!! When you cock it you know you've got a handful of power. At 15 yards it was printing clover leaf groups....when I did my part:). It liked the heavier 18 grn and the liter 14 grn pellets equally. Prairie dogs be warned.

    Things I would have changed: I would like to have the option for a barrel mounted optic....scout rifle style. The irons sites are on the barrel for a reason, having a square area or notched mounting area for an e.e.r. or l.e.r. scope would be a real plus.

    What others should know: If you want to hunt small game, this is your gofer getter ! Squirrel and rabbit beware !!! It has the power to get the job done properly. For target shooting the weight ads to the stability and excellent iron sights or great included optic makes it a pleasure to shoot !

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Jeff from USA on 2018-07-09
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Very happy with my purchase of the Elite Air Rifle Combo. It was what I expected from watching the show. My wife ordered the wrong one the 1st time, we returned it, and Pyramyd was quick in shipping the one we wanted. I have purchased 2 other items from Pyramyd and plan on other purchases.

     
  • 4.0 4.0

    4.0 4.0

    4.0 4.0

    By Paul from USA on 2018-07-07
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: The concept and design is good, the scope is fair enough for general use to 25-35 yards, but I would replace it with a Mil Dot reticle for more precision/ long range work. Unfortunately, the stock separated from the action on the first shot, and numerous parts fell to the bench. Based on reviews from other Umarex users, I feel certain this problem was an anomaly in the plastic stock molding. The package was returned to Pyramid Air for replacement two weeks ago, so I'm waiting for the replacement to arrive. Based on what I know, I fully expect the four star rating to be accurate. I'd update it to 5 stars after I nail several 50 yard squirrels.

    Things I would have changed: Perhaps offer a higher quality scope option.

     
  • 1.0 1.0

    1.0 1.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Kenney from USA on 2018-07-06
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: Bought mine back in March, 2018. Fast delivery and what and impressive beast it is. After the break in was shooting JSB Ultrashocks at 960 fps. Then about a month ago, after 2500 rounds or so, can't keep the scope zeroed. Sent 4 UTG's back cause they would not hold zero. Yesterday I got out the chronograph and that same pellet now flies 442 fps. The piston is leaking. Called Umarex they said send it back and they will look at it. Only problem is I polished the trigger hence the warranty is voided.

    Things I would have changed: I would have bought a different rifle.

    What others should know: I have Crossman, Benjamin, and Gamo piston air rifles that are much older than my Umarex and have fired many more rounds. The pistons are still going strong in all but the Umarex. Umarex Octane a disappointing waste of money.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    3.0 3.0

    By Bill from USA on 2018-06-19
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Fast shipping! Arrived a day earlier than promised. Packaging was also good. Rifle is fairly accurate and getting better with use daily. All information provided by Pyramid was all accurate and very helpful! Pyramid will be my supplier of choice for future purchases, Thanks Pyramid Air!

    Things I would have changed: Trigger and weight.

    What others should know: Use Pyramid, you wont be sorry!!!

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By John from USA on 2018-04-29
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Item as described. Arrived undamaged.

    Things I would have changed: If you put a 36.00 trigger kit on it it becomes a much more accurate rifle. Only 600 rounds so far but is very consistent.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Jamie from USA on 2018-04-17
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Extremely powerful rifle, accurate rite out of the box! The stop shox system is awesome for your scope no more destroyed scopes! Has a great feel to it I don't mind heavy and I'm a small guy. Easy to cock and has a automatic safety!

    Things I would have changed: Not really liking the barrel sight it's big and bulky kind of hard to see small targets! I don't really care how loud it is would rather have a great barrel sight than a big bulky one. The safety is backwards than most other rifles takes some getting used to.

    What others should know: Awesome rifle rite out of the box you get a awesome scope as well! The silent air doesn't work half of the time but other than that a great rifle sturdy and stable kind of on the heavy side! Put my hatsan 125 sniper rifle to shame in the cocking and accuracy department!

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Daniel from USA on 2018-04-05
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: The UMAREX Octane Elite is very accurate.

    What others should know: It is a bit heavy at 13 lb, although for me as a bench shooter, it helps my accuracy.. It is a bit difficult at 43 lbs. although it does get a bit easier as it breaks in.

     
  • 4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    By Patrick from USA on 2018-03-05
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Was very surprised when I received my Octaine Elite .22. The heft of it makes it a very stable platform even when shooting from a standing position. Very accurate at 20 yards... as that what I have in my backyard... and no complaints from the neighbors. Still trying different ammo to find the right fit for my rifle, but so far cossman hp 15.4 gr is is staying on a 2" target. Wish umerx would offer this rifle in .25

    Things I would have changed: The scope that is included is... well cheap. It gets the job done for short range but definitely will be putting better glass on my rifle. The eye relief is rather shallow, which is somewhat uncomfortable due to the rifles kick. The glass is not as clear as other scopes when used to sight distance targets. The turrets have crisp clicks when adjusting and the crosshairs so far hold true. The one inch tube is nice but I would prefer 30 mm

    What others should know: Excellent Springer gun. I was not disappointed and neither will you. Great by expecially for the money. Only thing I would recommend is opting for a better scope. Also would like to add that during my ordering process I had to contact Pyramyd Air customer support. And I'm very pleased to say they were most helpful. I highly recommend this rifle.

  • 3.0 3.0

    4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Edward from USA on 2018-02-17
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    1.01 rating

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Accuracy is good power is good. Interested in stop shock system.

    Things I would have changed: Noise

    What others should know: Function is ok, pull is moderate, fairly noisey. Not the best looking gun around..

     
  • 1.0 1.0

    3.0 3.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Tom from USA on 2018-02-12
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    2.343 ratings

    Things I liked: Only fired 3 shots from gun . Could not truly evaluate rifle. Defective scope, crosshairs rotated inside scope

    Things I would have changed: Provide a better scope

    What others should know: Could not just send back the scope. Required to send back rifle also.

  • 4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Kyle from USA on 2018-02-12
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: I shoot the rifle with open sights. I found it accurate ( can hit the 2'' bottom of soda cans over and over at 25 yards), I think the Umarex Stopshox system and what I consider a medium grade trigger is what makes this possible. The rifle is quiet. I live in the city. The houses are just a gangway apart. While shooting my Octane off my back porch my next door neighbor stepped out onto his back porch. I asked him if I was disturbing him--he said he did not know I was out there until he saw me.

    Things I would have changed: The thumb-hole in the stock needs to be opened to better fit large hands. I wear a x-large glove and my hand is not as comfortable on the Octane's stock as it is on other rifles with similar stocks. I would like the direction the safety has to be moved before the rifle can be fired changed. It is really foreign for me to pull the safety back toward the trigger before shooting--not bad, just different compared to the other break-barrels I own with safeties in the trigger well.

    What others should know: This rifle almost reminds me of shooting a well built spring piston rifle with a good trigger. I think Umarex did a great job for $220.00.

     
  • 3.0 3.0

    3.0 3.0

    1.0 1.0

    By James from USA on 2018-02-08
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    4.02 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: you can hold gun like fire arm. not artillery style The stopshok is great.

    Things I would have changed: scope is no good after 50 shoots the cross hairs rotate and wont hold zero trigger is very very hard to pull I need a glove . The glove keeps my fingers getting pinched and getting sore I replaced scope with UTG SWAT 3-12X44 The trigger so hard it is hard to get a good hold on target when you pull the trigger,

    What others should know: This is my third octane elite the first 2 shot 1 foot above target center >The third gun shoots good except for the very very hard trigger pull and the scope is gone after 50 shotts or so. My Umarex Octane shoots better than the Elite The STOPSHOK is great The trigger and scope no good

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Robert from USA on 2018-01-19
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    4.52 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: I don't write long reviews. Just no b.s. Extremely accurate with a hard punch. It took a lot of practice to site in the scope. Started at 25 yards. Perfect. Then about 20 more shots at 50 yards. 20 more at 70 yards with 3 inch groupings. 2 writhin 1 inch. Those put a dent in a metal roof exhaust pipe. Hit a few at 100 yards with little punch. But like I said, lots of practice taking into consideration of windage. This is NOT a .308 rifle, so windage plays a big role in any .22 pellets even at these distances. I've found that the JSB Heavy Diablo 18.13 grain is the best for my .22 rifle.

    Things I would have changed: Trigger pull is to much in my opinion. About 4.3 pounds. Really? Freestanding with this trigger pull can throw off sighting. Not for fun plinking. Cocking can wear you out after about 20 rounds with over a 30 pound cocking process.

    What others should know: Great if you want accuracy and power. Patience is the key for sighting in longer targets. Start at 25 yards and gradually more down range. Stick with the heavier lead pellets or what's the point? Loud for the first dozen shots or so. Be prepared for that, the weight, and heavy cocking. I love it now. But almost gave up with my LACK of patients. Also make sure your scope is tight or it will move. Great rifle. Love it now!

  • 4.0 4.0

    4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Darth Vader from USA on 2018-01-12
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    3.52 ratings

    Things I liked: Maybe my 0.22 is an overachiever, but I've found it to be both accurate and powerful. I'm getting from 24.5 to 27 FPE with various pellets and several of them will group under an inch at 25 meters. I like the stopshox system and it seems to work at making the rifle less hold sensitive. I use a kind of tight artillery hold with mine and still get good groups, the rifle just doesn't seem to care all that much. The bundled scope and rings are pretty good, better than most bundled stuff. The shot cycle feels very quick and positive on mine, I actually prefer this gun to my other gas-piston guns because of the feel of the shot cycle. Cocking smoothed out after a couple hundred shots and is now pretty good for a gun with this much power.

    Things I would have changed: The trigger on my example is just OK - it's pretty heavy but it does break nice and clean. I can shoot fine with it but it does take some getting used to, especially when transitioning from other guns with better triggers. I prefer a mil-dot reticle on my scopes, also the yardage markings on the AO ring aren't even close to correct. The fiber optic rod on the front sight wasn't properly mushroomed and started to walk out to the rear, so I had to heat up a spoon and re-mushroom it to hold it in place - no problems since. I also needed to shim my breech seal with a strand of dental floss to prevent leakage, this tightened up my velocity numbers and lowered standard deviations.

    What others should know: My gun shoots different weights of pellets to widely different POIs. Pellets of similar weight (and therefore similar velocity) shoot to close to the same POI. Most of the shift is vertical, so it makes me think that the time spent in the barrel is the primary factor determining the POI shift. I think it may be because of the operation of the stopshox system - when a pellet exits the barrel earlier or later it corresponds to a slightly different location of the stopshox system in the recoil cycle. Its pretty consistent with any given pellet, but if I change ammo I usually have to re-zero the scope. The forend feels loose, but that the way it needs to be for stopshox to work smoothly. Also, temperature has a pretty significant effect on the gas ram - my power levels change about 1.5-2 FPE between 35*F and 75*F.

  • 4.0 4.0

    4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Joey from USA on 2017-12-17
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating

    Things I liked: This rifle is very accurate (after a hundred shots or so) I am getting most groups at 25yds around a quarter size some smaller with premier 14.3 round nose pellets. I have not shot it rested on pillows or gun rest yet. Slightly lighter than my Hatsan 135 and much better feel to the way it sets in your hands. Not too hard to cock..The rifle is good, it is shooting as good as most of my European rifles that cost so much I am scared to take them in to the woods.. ...from bottom box...Umarex has not responded to email about breech seal replacement...been a week now

    Things I would have changed: This is a good hunting rifle and that is what I will use it for. Initial feel is that the stock is flimsy in the forearm area (due to engineering of top shox system) The rifle is heavy enough that it needs a way to put a sling on it. Because of its design I am not sure how to do that yet and a traditional set up will not work on the forearm section of the rifle. The trigger is not as advertised. Tried adjusting it once but could not relieve the break point so I returned it to factory settings. Would love to see what this rifle would do with a 3ib trigger and a better optic

    What others should know: Rifle was sent by pyramid air and came late, it shipped a few days late and presented a problem for me as I was out of town by the time it was delivered. PA includes their disclaimer that lets folks know that item around holidays will ship late but 3 days late? I paid for faster shipping and no adjustment was made because they could not deliver. Look, I am a business owner that depends on online sales as well. I have hired additional help to ensure my customers do not have to wait twice as long as normal for their products. I am not satified with PA because this is notthefirst time it has happened I can ship items from the west coast to my business or house faster than I can get packages from PA that is only about 700 miles from me. Upon inspecting the rifle before shooting I noticed the breech seal does not pass the surface breech, PA said to contact Umarex or send the rifle back,(nice service PA) you are willing to eat $40 in shipping charges to avoid sending a $3 o-ring. see top box

  • 12 Next
Navigation