Date: 30/11/2020 16:6
0

Customer Reviews for Umarex Octane Elite

Average Customer Review

4.0 (52 reviews)
Umarex Octane Elite
Pre-order

Out of Stock

Create an online review   and share your thoughts with other customers

The most helpful favorable review

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful:

Overall rating:5.0

Value for money:5.0

Accuracy:5.0

By Robert from USA on 2018-01-19 08:49:24

Things I liked: I don't write long reviews. Just no b.s. Extremely accurate with a hard punch. It took a lot of practice to site in the scope. Started at 25 yards. Perfect. Then about 20 more shots at 50 yards. 20 more at 70 yards with 3 inch groupings. 2 writhin 1 inch. Those put a dent in a metal roof exhaust pipe. Hit a few at 100 yards with little punch. But like I said, lots of practice taking into consideration of windage. This is NOT a .308 rifle, so windage plays a big role in any .22 pellets even at these distances. I've found that the JSB Heavy Diablo 18.13 grain is the best for my .22 rifle.

Things I would have changed: Trigger pull is to much in my opinion. About 4.3 pounds. Really? Freestanding with this trigger pull can throw off sighting. Not for fun plinking. Cocking can wear you out after about 20 rounds with over a 30 pound cocking process.

What others should know: Great if you want accuracy and power. Patience is the key for sighting in longer targets. Start at 25 yards and gradually more down range. Stick with the heavier lead pellets or what's the point? Loud for the first dozen shots or so. Be prepared for that, the weight, and heavy cocking. I love it now. But almost gave up with my LACK of patients. Also make sure your scope is tight or it will move. Great rifle. Love it now!

The most helpful critical review

0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:

Overall rating:1.0

Value for money:1.0

Accuracy:1.0

By Carina from USA on 2020-11-02 21:05:21

Things I liked: The look only.

Things I would have changed: The defective parts.

What others should know: This item was made defective, still waiting for a refund.

Sort by:
  • 123 Next
  • Showitems
  • 1.0 1.0

    1.0 1.0

    1.0 1.0

    By Carina from USA on 2020-11-02
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: The look only.

    Things I would have changed: The defective parts.

    What others should know: This item was made defective, still waiting for a refund.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Tom from USA on 2020-11-02
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: My Unarex Octane Elite air rifle is great - the power is outstanding. (Warning it can punch holes in things that other air guns just "dent" - don't ask me how I know this... LOL! The accuracy is also great - very easy to zero the scope and it nails whatever you aim at if you do your job. One thing to consider is that this is a heavy rifle and so it would not be a good rifle for those whose strength might make that weight a problem.

    Things I would have changed: It would be nice, even for a big guy like me if the rifle was a bit lighter... Just sayin'...

     
  • 4.0 4.0

    4.0 4.0

    4.0 4.0

    By Mack from USA on 2020-10-24
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: it seems to be and good rifle shoots consistent for a break barrel

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Fred from USA on 2020-10-06
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: What I like the most about Umarex Octane Elite is all updates that were made from first version. I also like the adjustable trigger. This is my first .22 air rifle brake barrel. Bullets getting harder to come by and much more expensive in California. The Octane Elite keeps my shooting eyes in shape, and lets me practice on different techniques not wasting a lot of money on rounds. I will be purchasing the top 5 brake barrel air rifles from Pyramid. I will let you know my favorite once I get more comfortable with air rifles.

    Things I would have changed: I do not know enough about air rifles to give any recommendations

    What others should know: For under $200 dollars Umarex Octane Elite is an excellent weapon system to practice targeting using iron sights or scope. Good Job!

     
  • 1.0 1.0

    1.0 1.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Alex from USA on 2020-10-05
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: It is accurate

    Things I would have changed: Everything. Cocking is a massive. Adjustable -- length of pull in first stage not trigger wt miss represented. Heavy. Forget the scope it is so awful i am not even going to bother to put i on the gun.

    What others should know: Cheap. Get a gym membership to build up your upper body. I just got this gun MAYBE it will improve with age but unlikely.Economical and cheap but still not worth the money

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Mark from USA on 2020-09-23
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: Accurate and powerful both in one package. I bought this about 4 years ago and have absolutely no regrets. We have a significant squirrel problem and this is the answer. Also works great for other small game (rabbits, opossum, racoons etc). Friends that have shot it are also impressed.

    Things I would have changed: Cocking effort is significant, not for youngsters.

    What others should know: Can't be beat, especially for the price.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    By Gary from USA on 2020-09-21
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: This gun is one of my hardest hitting, and accurate rifles in my collection. The accuracy of mine can put 5 shot group inside of a quarter-sized circle at 30 yards. Better if you have a steady rest. This is my varmint gun go-to, which it has many times taken down a full sized raccoons with one shot. I am currently using the same scope it came with.

    Things I would have changed: The cocking effort is excessive. The weight factor is good. Wishing it came in a wood stock version. The sound discharge is moderately high. The trigger mechanism had to be refined to get a smooth trigger pull without altering the accuracy(you can find this enhancement online in detail), since it had a heavy hard trigger pull from the factory.

    What others should know: I use Crossman Premier hollow-point 14.3 gram ammo, an it works great. If you use the Premier piranha work great on birds an small rodents. Also, the Benjamin ammo of the same weight and type work great in this gun. Use a heavy back stop while target practicing, shots will completely go through 1/2 inch plywood or fence boards. I have had my gun for 4 years.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    By Gary from USA on 2020-09-21
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: This gun is one of my hardest hitting, and accurate rifles in my collection. The accuracy of mine can put 5 shot group inside of a quarter-sized circle at 30 yards. Better if you have a steady rest. This is my varmint gun go-to, which it has many times taken down a full sized raccoons with one shot. I am currently using the same scope it came with.

    Things I would have changed: The cocking effort is excessive. The weight factor is good. Wishing it came in a wood stock version. The sound discharge is moderately high. The trigger mechanism had to be refined to get a smooth trigger pull without altering the accuracy(you can find this enhancement online in detail), since it had a heavy hard trigger pull from the factory.

    What others should know: I use Crossman Premier hollow-point 14.3 gram ammo, an it works great. If you use the Premier piranha work great on birds an small rodents. Also, the Benjamin ammo of the same weight and type work great in this gun. Use a heavy back stop while target practicing, shots will completely go through 1/2 inch plywood or fence boards. I have had my gun for 4 years.

     
  • 4.0 4.0

    4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Darren from USA on 2020-08-14
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: A fantastic pellet rifle w a deadly accurate scope. Overall great gun combo.

    Things I would have changed: Lighter weight gun

    What others should know: Spend the money to have the scope zeroed and the zero it to your eye.

     
  • 2.0 2.0

    2.0 2.0

    1.0 1.0

    By Jason from USA on 2020-07-26
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Let me start out with this is a great air rifle. That being said the scope is very subpar at best.

    Things I would have changed: The scope is falling apart! The parallax adjustment ring is separating from the scope and is not even remotely close to accurate for yardage now. The reticle is not level to the scope body. The windage and elevation adjustments get jammed when trying to sight it in.

    What others should know: I contacted Pyramid Air on my scope issues. They were very helpful and suggested that I get a hold of Umarex. The gentleman at Umarex was extremely rude. He told me that I would have to take the scope off and pay to ship it back to the them so they could determine if there was an actual problem with the scope. Possibly 3+ weeks to get it back. I give up! I guess I will spend the money on a quality scope, I need the rifle up and running for Pigeons, ( I live on a farm ).

  • 4.0 4.0

    4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    By George from USA on 2020-07-25
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Powerfull and accurate. At 25 yards pellet passes through 3/4 " pine board.

    Things I would have changed: Length and weight. Very heavy

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Brian from USA on 2020-07-24
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: The octane elite is very accurate, well built, just a nice tight gun for under $200

    Things I would have changed: Nothing

    What others should know: Nothing

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By David from USA on 2020-07-23
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Great Deal, I bought the .177 ver. Came in today very accurate , dead on with Open sites and with the scope. The wife has trouble cocking , Me NP and I 5'8 200 lbs and 60 years young. My first purchase of an air gun and im hooked. PCP next ! The Bad is the safety does not always take I dont know if it is cause its new (60 pellets ran thru) I like the quality a tad heavy good bench gun. Im sold.............

    Things I would have changed: Not made in CHINA

    What others should know: Buy it ! it is a great gun for the price for sure, I can see some hunting in the future with this Bad Boy

     
  • 3.0 3.0

    4.0 4.0

    3.0 3.0

    By Henry from USA on 2020-07-12
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: The gun is way too heavy and has an uneven trigger causing the gun to kick in all directions

    Things I would have changed: see above

    What others should know: no

     
  • 1.0 1.0

    1.0 1.0

    1.0 1.0

    By Reed from USA on 2020-06-18
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: I am trying to purchase an air rifle to fit my particular needs. Pyramyd Air seems to be the company that offers very good selections at competitive prices, as well as excellent descriptions of each model. In some cases an article had been written on a particular model having been tested, which is extremely helpful. Also, Pyramyd Air offers warranty information on all models, and offers a chat sight I found very helpful and useful, but I only came to experience all this after I found problems with my purchase. As far as my purchase goes, it was not what I was hoping for. However, the good thing with Pyramyd Air is their reputation to satisfy customers. So far, I have no complaint about handling my case, which is to return a deficient product and exchange it with a better product. Will keep you posted on the final result.

    Things I would have changed: I think Pyramyd Air needs to be more discerning about marketing certain foreign made items. Although I blame myself for not being more thorough in my search, as I accepted the description of the Umarex Octane Elite AR Combo, I failed to do more research. It appeared this AR offered what I was looking for in performance and value. When I got the gun, everything changed. It was too heavy, more than I thought; the stock was cheap plastic, the barrel grip was loose, and it would not break the barrel for me without doing a lot of straining. I assume this gun was made outside the US as I'm not familiar with the brand name. Just sayin.

    What others should know: I could not rate this gun for value or accuracy. I'm very disappointed in myself for buying it based on the description I read, rather than doing more research. Seemed like a very good buy for the money. Not so, in my opinion. I think it's worth the time and effort to read the reviews, research other websights that may offer the model your interested in and then call Pyramyds' chat line to verify any concerns or issues you may have with that particular model, before you make a decision. Well, that's what I am doing now anyway. Live and learn. Good luck!

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Tom from USA on 2020-06-14
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: This is a very powerful, accurate rifle! I really like the way the recoil is managed and the way the sound level is controled. The scope appears to be excellent and I really hope it holds up over the long term, as it is a huge asset.

    Things I would have changed: The rifle is heavy - feels like I'm carrying an M1 Garand. But - that also lends some stability when shooting offhand, so...

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Jordan from USA on 2020-05-20
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Absolute powerhouse! Nice quality air gun. Accurate with good pellets. The adjustable trigger is nice. The scope has nice zoom features.

    Things I would have changed: The recoil. After 20 shots my shoulder was sore like I shot a large caliber firearm.

    What others should know: Absolutely a great buy, quality, accurate, I've been shooting 2in groups at 35yds with no trouble (using good pellets). It does kick like a mule!

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    By Miguel from USA on 2020-04-19
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.02 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Power, looks and over all how it's put together as well as how heavy it is. This is an adult rifle not intended for young or weak individuals. On a positive note the sheer heaviness helps with accuracy as it muffles vibration so I really appreciate this.

    Things I would have changed: The scope was destroyed by this gun after a few hundred shots. The reticle is cheaply made and the reticle retainer that it should have is not installed within it. Be mindfull that it's made in China and they cut corners to keep cost down. All screws must be removed and re-tightened with lock tight as the rifle wants to take itself apart due to excessive recoil. And I do mean every screw on this rifle.

    What others should know: The trigger pull is aweful. But 7 years training in the Shaolin temple could remedy this with their strict iron palm training.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    By Miguel from USA on 2020-04-19
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.02 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Power, looks and over all how it's put together.

    Things I would have changed: The scope was destroyed by this gun after a few hundred shots. The reticle is cheaply made and the reticle retainer that it should have is not installed within it. Be mindfull that it's made in China and they cut corners to keep cost down. All screws must be removed and re-tightened with lock tight as the rifle wants to take itself apart due to excessive recoil. And I do mean every screw on this rifle.

    What others should know: The trigger pull is aweful. But 7 years training in the Shaolin temple could remedy this with their strict iron palm training.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Neil Allen from USA on 2020-04-18
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Awesome pellet Gun! It is a lot of fun. and very Accurate!

    Things I would have changed: Nothing comes to mind at this time

    What others should know: Great Pellet gun, Great companies(Pyramyd and Umarex)!!

     
  • 123 Next
Navigation