Date: 27/1/2021 20:22
0

Customer Reviews for Umarex Octane Elite - Page 2

Average Customer Review

4.0 (53 reviews)
Umarex Octane Elite
Pre-order

Out of Stock

Create an online review   and share your thoughts with other customers

The most helpful favorable review

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful:

Overall rating:5.0

Value for money:5.0

Accuracy:5.0

By Robert from USA on 2018-01-19 08:49:24

Things I liked: I don't write long reviews. Just no b.s. Extremely accurate with a hard punch. It took a lot of practice to site in the scope. Started at 25 yards. Perfect. Then about 20 more shots at 50 yards. 20 more at 70 yards with 3 inch groupings. 2 writhin 1 inch. Those put a dent in a metal roof exhaust pipe. Hit a few at 100 yards with little punch. But like I said, lots of practice taking into consideration of windage. This is NOT a .308 rifle, so windage plays a big role in any .22 pellets even at these distances. I've found that the JSB Heavy Diablo 18.13 grain is the best for my .22 rifle.

Things I would have changed: Trigger pull is to much in my opinion. About 4.3 pounds. Really? Freestanding with this trigger pull can throw off sighting. Not for fun plinking. Cocking can wear you out after about 20 rounds with over a 30 pound cocking process.

What others should know: Great if you want accuracy and power. Patience is the key for sighting in longer targets. Start at 25 yards and gradually more down range. Stick with the heavier lead pellets or what's the point? Loud for the first dozen shots or so. Be prepared for that, the weight, and heavy cocking. I love it now. But almost gave up with my LACK of patients. Also make sure your scope is tight or it will move. Great rifle. Love it now!

The most helpful critical review

0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:

Overall rating:1.0

Value for money:1.0

Accuracy:1.0

By Carina from USA on 2020-11-02 21:05:21

Things I liked: The look only.

Things I would have changed: The defective parts.

What others should know: This item was made defective, still waiting for a refund.

Sort by:
  • Previous 123 Next
  • Showitems
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Neil Allen from USA on 2020-04-18
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Awesome pellet Gun! It is a lot of fun. and very Accurate!

    Things I would have changed: Nothing comes to mind at this time

    What others should know: Great Pellet gun, Great companies(Pyramyd and Umarex)!!

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Catherine from USA on 2019-09-04
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    4.52 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Great first air rifle product for my son - he is really enjoying it. Had a bit of an issue with the scope at first but Pyramyd Air customer service rectified it immediately an we are very happy with both the product and the company!

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By KEITH from USA on 2019-07-22
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    4.02 ratings

    Things I liked: Great accuracy!

    Things I would have changed: The weight

    What others should know: It is very heavy and you should not free hand it

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By joe from USA on 2019-07-21
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    3.52 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: excellent service and great products

    Things I would have changed: nothing

    What others should know: be safe

     
  • 2.0 2.0

    1.0 1.0

    1.0 1.0

    By Flamino from USA on 2019-07-10
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: I like the power and the look of this air rifle, it does a good job on rodents.

    Things I would have changed: Better quality control, and, quality parts. The cheesey rear sights that keep coming loose while firing.

    What others should know: This rifle shakes it self a part, the retaining C-clip on the cocking arm both fell off, the bolt that attaches to the pivot point of the barrel became loose and fell off, it started leaking oil from around the stopshox end and down the trigger. The trigger is so hard to squeeze its ridiculous that it takes a great deal of pressure. I shot 500 predator polymag .22 pellets through this air rifle only to be disappointed.

     
  • 3.0 3.0

    2.0 2.0

    1.0 1.0

    By Steven from USA on 2019-06-24
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Accuracy seemed to settle down after about 30 shots.

    Things I would have changed: The product description is misleading. It indicates 3.5-pounds of trigger pull. I measured the pull with my Lyman scale and it averaged about 16-pounds. Needless to say, it was incredibly difficult not to pull shots. A Pyramydair customer support representative suggested that I obtain a "match" trigger upgrade from eBay. I did so, and that brought the pull down to a more manageable 5-pounds. With some polishing of the trigger group, I should be able to get that down finally - after $27 for the eBay component - to the stated pull of 3.5 pounds.

    What others should know: To make the gun shootable, you will almost certainly need to "void the warranty" by obtaining third-party trigger group upgrade components and then install them in your new gun. I would have been so much happier to just pay an extra $27 and get a gun out of the box that lived up to the specifications "CLAIMED" by Umarex. I was very disappointed with the gun's factory performance.

  • 1.0 1.0

    1.0 1.0

    1.0 1.0

    By Dave on 2019-06-12
    Was this review helpful?
    5.02 ratings

    Things I liked: Nothing

    Things I would have changed: I Should Of Kept My Money

    What others should know: The scope Mechanism Is Mickey Mouse, A Wast e Of Money. Pisces Me Off!

     
  • 4.0 4.0

    4.0 4.0

    4.0 4.0

    By Arthur from USA on 2019-02-03
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.02 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Appearance, consistency shot to shot.

    Things I would have changed: Show the true specs not what they wished the gun will do for FPS can not hit 1000fps with .22 alloy pellets, 860-870 with 14.3 lead

    What others should know: Buy a Hatsan 95 springer 20.5fpe and accurate. The Octane is a neat gun but not a power house 18.13gr. @770-780 =23.5 fpe -24.5fpe the scope that came with the gun creeps. Meaning you make 4 clicks now it moves later so you think your zeroed but its creeped 1/2"or more over night.I noticed this when I would have to make 16clicks to gain an 1/8" the pick the gun up 4 hr.s later and the poi moved anther 1.25"s hopefully it will loosen up.

     
  • 2.0 2.0

    3.0 3.0

    2.0 2.0

    By Carl from USA on 2018-12-17
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.02 ratings

    Things I liked: I did like the price and since I had a umarex octain in 177 cal. which I really like I decided to purchase the umarex octain elite in 22 cal

    Things I would have changed: The trigger pull is terrible and the new shock absorber system makes the recoil seem excessive. I believe the older umarex octain was a much better rifle.

    What others should know: I did call Umarex to tell them the problems but the rep. pretty well gave me a run around. and brushed me off. I can only shoot the gun about 25 times before my trigger finger is so sore I have to quit for the day. I don't know if it is the pressure I have to use to pull the trigger or if it is the safety lever jamming back against my finger when the barrel assembly recoils against the shock absorber.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By David from USA on 2018-09-11
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    4.52 ratings

    Things I liked: Let me start by saying I am new to pellet guns. I was given a Crosman XT and added a Simmons scope and I was hooked. I ran out got my hands on a Gamo Whisper. At 10 yards I was shooting dimes freehand. New hobby. Groundhogs lookout! On to the Octane. I shouldered this gun at the local superstore. I wanted to research a bit and found this site. The price was much better here so I ordered the gun. Upon its arrival, I mounted the scope, and went out to give it a try. This gun is a completely different animal the my other guns. It took me 6 shots with the forearm resting on the deck rail to zero at 10 yds. It does give you a workout cocking this rifle, but man, it hits hard and consistent. Balance is good. The recoil system works. Just takes a bit to get used to. Right now, with the Umarex scope, I'm doing dime groups, but many same hole hits. So, lets see how it does over time. My hopes are high.

  • 1.0 1.0

    1.0 1.0

    1.0 1.0

    By Jack from USA on 2018-08-24
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    1.01 rating

    Things I liked: Fast shipping by Pyramid Air. 2 days.

    Things I would have changed: Would like to have an American made gun and better quality control or testing before shipping.

    What others should know: bought this gun because of good reviews. Checked all screws, 2 on barrel needed tightening, 2 were stripped. Unpacked it , mounted the scope and fired about 100 rounds. Could not get a consistent group with any of 5 different weight pellets. Scope was o.k. but could not adjust it any more to the left. Called Umarex and they said "send it back". Sent it back after paying UPS $45. for shipping. Waiting for word from Umarex. My opinion is; don't waste your money, pay a little more for an American made gun, if you can find one.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Thomas from USA on 2018-08-15
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: I like the price point for a powerful airgun that I use to control groundhogs that destroyed my garden. I purchased .22 cal with crow magnum pellets that go completely through 3/4" plywood at about 30 yards. The gas piston is quieter than my existing spring piston .177 gun. The chat function on pyramydair.com was fantastic. I think Bruce was the person's name. He asked me what I wanted to do and suggested this combo and the pellets. He was spot on. Great help. I'm very happy with my purchase.

    Things I would have changed: In an effort to save money, I decided to NOT have pyramid air mount the scope and sight-in the gun. It took me about 25 shots to get the gun dialed in. I wouldn't change the purchase but next time would have pyramydair set it up.

    What others should know: Leverage the chat function while browsing. The tech was extremely knowledgeable and helpful in arriving at a solution to replace the ineffective .177 cal spring loaded air rifle that I previously purchased at a big box store.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Ron Hanz on 2018-08-15
    Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating

    Things I liked: This rifle was bought for hog control. Don't remember the date I purchased from Pyramid this Umarex Octane .22 (probably out of warranty but still doing the job). Live in a no firearm discharge subdivision of small acreage tracts in central Texas. Hogs gotta root but I became tired of replacing my lawn. Included scope works for my purposes. Most shots are less than 25 yards as the hogs are indifferent to humans until you create a racket. Forget the number of hogs to date, but most were in the 20-50+ pound size. A shot to the brain pan puts them kicking.

    Things I would have changed: Probably close to the weight of a Garand, but manageable. The strength required for cocking may be problematic. Could present problems for some.

    What others should know: An old f**t here and almost never do the review thing. Email from Pyramid saying give a review and enter a drawing motivated me to post this, but it does everything I require.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Scott from USA on 2018-08-02
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    4.01 rating

    Things I liked: I really like this air rifle. The optics are an par with 4 of my other conventional rifle scopes ....vtex....so I'm quite pleased with the optic. I did however use my own rings. This thing is hefty !!! When you cock it you know you've got a handful of power. At 15 yards it was printing clover leaf groups....when I did my part:). It liked the heavier 18 grn and the liter 14 grn pellets equally. Prairie dogs be warned.

    Things I would have changed: I would like to have the option for a barrel mounted optic....scout rifle style. The irons sites are on the barrel for a reason, having a square area or notched mounting area for an e.e.r. or l.e.r. scope would be a real plus.

    What others should know: If you want to hunt small game, this is your gofer getter ! Squirrel and rabbit beware !!! It has the power to get the job done properly. For target shooting the weight ads to the stability and excellent iron sights or great included optic makes it a pleasure to shoot !

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Jeff from USA on 2018-07-09
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: Very happy with my purchase of the Elite Air Rifle Combo. It was what I expected from watching the show. My wife ordered the wrong one the 1st time, we returned it, and Pyramyd was quick in shipping the one we wanted. I have purchased 2 other items from Pyramyd and plan on other purchases.

     
  • 4.0 4.0

    4.0 4.0

    4.0 4.0

    By Paul from USA on 2018-07-07
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: The concept and design is good, the scope is fair enough for general use to 25-35 yards, but I would replace it with a Mil Dot reticle for more precision/ long range work. Unfortunately, the stock separated from the action on the first shot, and numerous parts fell to the bench. Based on reviews from other Umarex users, I feel certain this problem was an anomaly in the plastic stock molding. The package was returned to Pyramid Air for replacement two weeks ago, so I'm waiting for the replacement to arrive. Based on what I know, I fully expect the four star rating to be accurate. I'd update it to 5 stars after I nail several 50 yard squirrels.

    Things I would have changed: Perhaps offer a higher quality scope option.

     
  • 1.0 1.0

    1.0 1.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Kenney from USA on 2018-07-06
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: Bought mine back in March, 2018. Fast delivery and what and impressive beast it is. After the break in was shooting JSB Ultrashocks at 960 fps. Then about a month ago, after 2500 rounds or so, can't keep the scope zeroed. Sent 4 UTG's back cause they would not hold zero. Yesterday I got out the chronograph and that same pellet now flies 442 fps. The piston is leaking. Called Umarex they said send it back and they will look at it. Only problem is I polished the trigger hence the warranty is voided.

    Things I would have changed: I would have bought a different rifle.

    What others should know: I have Crossman, Benjamin, and Gamo piston air rifles that are much older than my Umarex and have fired many more rounds. The pistons are still going strong in all but the Umarex. Umarex Octane a disappointing waste of money.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    3.0 3.0

    By Bill from USA on 2018-06-19
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: Fast shipping! Arrived a day earlier than promised. Packaging was also good. Rifle is fairly accurate and getting better with use daily. All information provided by Pyramid was all accurate and very helpful! Pyramid will be my supplier of choice for future purchases, Thanks Pyramid Air!

    Things I would have changed: Trigger and weight.

    What others should know: Use Pyramid, you wont be sorry!!!

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By John from USA on 2018-04-29
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: Item as described. Arrived undamaged.

    Things I would have changed: If you put a 36.00 trigger kit on it it becomes a much more accurate rifle. Only 600 rounds so far but is very consistent.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Jamie from USA on 2018-04-17
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: Extremely powerful rifle, accurate rite out of the box! The stop shox system is awesome for your scope no more destroyed scopes! Has a great feel to it I don't mind heavy and I'm a small guy. Easy to cock and has a automatic safety!

    Things I would have changed: Not really liking the barrel sight it's big and bulky kind of hard to see small targets! I don't really care how loud it is would rather have a great barrel sight than a big bulky one. The safety is backwards than most other rifles takes some getting used to.

    What others should know: Awesome rifle rite out of the box you get a awesome scope as well! The silent air doesn't work half of the time but other than that a great rifle sturdy and stable kind of on the heavy side! Put my hatsan 125 sniper rifle to shame in the cocking and accuracy department!

     
  • Previous 123 Next
Navigation