Date: 27/1/2021 21:0
0

Customer Reviews for Umarex Octane Elite - Page 3

Average Customer Review

4.0 (53 reviews)
Umarex Octane Elite
Pre-order

Out of Stock

Create an online review   and share your thoughts with other customers

The most helpful favorable review

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful:

Overall rating:5.0

Value for money:5.0

Accuracy:5.0

By Robert from USA on 2018-01-19 08:49:24

Things I liked: I don't write long reviews. Just no b.s. Extremely accurate with a hard punch. It took a lot of practice to site in the scope. Started at 25 yards. Perfect. Then about 20 more shots at 50 yards. 20 more at 70 yards with 3 inch groupings. 2 writhin 1 inch. Those put a dent in a metal roof exhaust pipe. Hit a few at 100 yards with little punch. But like I said, lots of practice taking into consideration of windage. This is NOT a .308 rifle, so windage plays a big role in any .22 pellets even at these distances. I've found that the JSB Heavy Diablo 18.13 grain is the best for my .22 rifle.

Things I would have changed: Trigger pull is to much in my opinion. About 4.3 pounds. Really? Freestanding with this trigger pull can throw off sighting. Not for fun plinking. Cocking can wear you out after about 20 rounds with over a 30 pound cocking process.

What others should know: Great if you want accuracy and power. Patience is the key for sighting in longer targets. Start at 25 yards and gradually more down range. Stick with the heavier lead pellets or what's the point? Loud for the first dozen shots or so. Be prepared for that, the weight, and heavy cocking. I love it now. But almost gave up with my LACK of patients. Also make sure your scope is tight or it will move. Great rifle. Love it now!

The most helpful critical review

0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:

Overall rating:1.0

Value for money:1.0

Accuracy:1.0

By Carina from USA on 2020-11-02 21:05:21

Things I liked: The look only.

Things I would have changed: The defective parts.

What others should know: This item was made defective, still waiting for a refund.

Sort by:
  • Previous 123
  • Showitems
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Daniel from USA on 2018-04-05
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: The UMAREX Octane Elite is very accurate.

    What others should know: It is a bit heavy at 13 lb, although for me as a bench shooter, it helps my accuracy.. It is a bit difficult at 43 lbs. although it does get a bit easier as it breaks in.

     
  • 4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    By Patrick from USA on 2018-03-05
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating

    Things I liked: Was very surprised when I received my Octaine Elite .22. The heft of it makes it a very stable platform even when shooting from a standing position. Very accurate at 20 yards... as that what I have in my backyard... and no complaints from the neighbors. Still trying different ammo to find the right fit for my rifle, but so far cossman hp 15.4 gr is is staying on a 2" target. Wish umerx would offer this rifle in .25

    Things I would have changed: The scope that is included is... well cheap. It gets the job done for short range but definitely will be putting better glass on my rifle. The eye relief is rather shallow, which is somewhat uncomfortable due to the rifles kick. The glass is not as clear as other scopes when used to sight distance targets. The turrets have crisp clicks when adjusting and the crosshairs so far hold true. The one inch tube is nice but I would prefer 30 mm

    What others should know: Excellent Springer gun. I was not disappointed and neither will you. Great by expecially for the money. Only thing I would recommend is opting for a better scope. Also would like to add that during my ordering process I had to contact Pyramyd Air customer support. And I'm very pleased to say they were most helpful. I highly recommend this rifle.

  • 3.0 3.0

    4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Edward from USA on 2018-02-17
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    1.01 rating

    Things I liked: Accuracy is good power is good. Interested in stop shock system.

    Things I would have changed: Noise

    What others should know: Function is ok, pull is moderate, fairly noisey. Not the best looking gun around..

     
  • 1.0 1.0

    3.0 3.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Tom from USA on 2018-02-12
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    2.343 ratings

    Things I liked: Only fired 3 shots from gun . Could not truly evaluate rifle. Defective scope, crosshairs rotated inside scope

    Things I would have changed: Provide a better scope

    What others should know: Could not just send back the scope. Required to send back rifle also.

  • 4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Kyle from USA on 2018-02-12
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: I shoot the rifle with open sights. I found it accurate ( can hit the 2'' bottom of soda cans over and over at 25 yards), I think the Umarex Stopshox system and what I consider a medium grade trigger is what makes this possible. The rifle is quiet. I live in the city. The houses are just a gangway apart. While shooting my Octane off my back porch my next door neighbor stepped out onto his back porch. I asked him if I was disturbing him--he said he did not know I was out there until he saw me.

    Things I would have changed: The thumb-hole in the stock needs to be opened to better fit large hands. I wear a x-large glove and my hand is not as comfortable on the Octane's stock as it is on other rifles with similar stocks. I would like the direction the safety has to be moved before the rifle can be fired changed. It is really foreign for me to pull the safety back toward the trigger before shooting--not bad, just different compared to the other break-barrels I own with safeties in the trigger well.

    What others should know: This rifle almost reminds me of shooting a well built spring piston rifle with a good trigger. I think Umarex did a great job for $220.00.

     
  • 3.0 3.0

    3.0 3.0

    1.0 1.0

    By James from USA on 2018-02-08
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    4.343 ratings

    Things I liked: you can hold gun like fire arm. not artillery style The stopshok is great.

    Things I would have changed: scope is no good after 50 shoots the cross hairs rotate and wont hold zero trigger is very very hard to pull I need a glove . The glove keeps my fingers getting pinched and getting sore I replaced scope with UTG SWAT 3-12X44 The trigger so hard it is hard to get a good hold on target when you pull the trigger,

    What others should know: This is my third octane elite the first 2 shot 1 foot above target center >The third gun shoots good except for the very very hard trigger pull and the scope is gone after 50 shotts or so. My Umarex Octane shoots better than the Elite The STOPSHOK is great The trigger and scope no good

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Robert from USA on 2018-01-19
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    4.52 ratings

    Things I liked: I don't write long reviews. Just no b.s. Extremely accurate with a hard punch. It took a lot of practice to site in the scope. Started at 25 yards. Perfect. Then about 20 more shots at 50 yards. 20 more at 70 yards with 3 inch groupings. 2 writhin 1 inch. Those put a dent in a metal roof exhaust pipe. Hit a few at 100 yards with little punch. But like I said, lots of practice taking into consideration of windage. This is NOT a .308 rifle, so windage plays a big role in any .22 pellets even at these distances. I've found that the JSB Heavy Diablo 18.13 grain is the best for my .22 rifle.

    Things I would have changed: Trigger pull is to much in my opinion. About 4.3 pounds. Really? Freestanding with this trigger pull can throw off sighting. Not for fun plinking. Cocking can wear you out after about 20 rounds with over a 30 pound cocking process.

    What others should know: Great if you want accuracy and power. Patience is the key for sighting in longer targets. Start at 25 yards and gradually more down range. Stick with the heavier lead pellets or what's the point? Loud for the first dozen shots or so. Be prepared for that, the weight, and heavy cocking. I love it now. But almost gave up with my LACK of patients. Also make sure your scope is tight or it will move. Great rifle. Love it now!

  • 4.0 4.0

    4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Darth Vader from USA on 2018-01-12
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    3.52 ratings

    Things I liked: Maybe my 0.22 is an overachiever, but I've found it to be both accurate and powerful. I'm getting from 24.5 to 27 FPE with various pellets and several of them will group under an inch at 25 meters. I like the stopshox system and it seems to work at making the rifle less hold sensitive. I use a kind of tight artillery hold with mine and still get good groups, the rifle just doesn't seem to care all that much. The bundled scope and rings are pretty good, better than most bundled stuff. The shot cycle feels very quick and positive on mine, I actually prefer this gun to my other gas-piston guns because of the feel of the shot cycle. Cocking smoothed out after a couple hundred shots and is now pretty good for a gun with this much power.

    Things I would have changed: The trigger on my example is just OK - it's pretty heavy but it does break nice and clean. I can shoot fine with it but it does take some getting used to, especially when transitioning from other guns with better triggers. I prefer a mil-dot reticle on my scopes, also the yardage markings on the AO ring aren't even close to correct. The fiber optic rod on the front sight wasn't properly mushroomed and started to walk out to the rear, so I had to heat up a spoon and re-mushroom it to hold it in place - no problems since. I also needed to shim my breech seal with a strand of dental floss to prevent leakage, this tightened up my velocity numbers and lowered standard deviations.

    What others should know: My gun shoots different weights of pellets to widely different POIs. Pellets of similar weight (and therefore similar velocity) shoot to close to the same POI. Most of the shift is vertical, so it makes me think that the time spent in the barrel is the primary factor determining the POI shift. I think it may be because of the operation of the stopshox system - when a pellet exits the barrel earlier or later it corresponds to a slightly different location of the stopshox system in the recoil cycle. Its pretty consistent with any given pellet, but if I change ammo I usually have to re-zero the scope. The forend feels loose, but that the way it needs to be for stopshox to work smoothly. Also, temperature has a pretty significant effect on the gas ram - my power levels change about 1.5-2 FPE between 35*F and 75*F.

  • 4.0 4.0

    4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Joey from USA on 2017-12-17
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating

    Things I liked: This rifle is very accurate (after a hundred shots or so) I am getting most groups at 25yds around a quarter size some smaller with premier 14.3 round nose pellets. I have not shot it rested on pillows or gun rest yet. Slightly lighter than my Hatsan 135 and much better feel to the way it sets in your hands. Not too hard to cock..The rifle is good, it is shooting as good as most of my European rifles that cost so much I am scared to take them in to the woods.. ...from bottom box...Umarex has not responded to email about breech seal replacement...been a week now

    Things I would have changed: This is a good hunting rifle and that is what I will use it for. Initial feel is that the stock is flimsy in the forearm area (due to engineering of top shox system) The rifle is heavy enough that it needs a way to put a sling on it. Because of its design I am not sure how to do that yet and a traditional set up will not work on the forearm section of the rifle. The trigger is not as advertised. Tried adjusting it once but could not relieve the break point so I returned it to factory settings. Would love to see what this rifle would do with a 3ib trigger and a better optic

    What others should know: Rifle was sent by pyramid air and came late, it shipped a few days late and presented a problem for me as I was out of town by the time it was delivered. PA includes their disclaimer that lets folks know that item around holidays will ship late but 3 days late? I paid for faster shipping and no adjustment was made because they could not deliver. Look, I am a business owner that depends on online sales as well. I have hired additional help to ensure my customers do not have to wait twice as long as normal for their products. I am not satified with PA because this is notthefirst time it has happened I can ship items from the west coast to my business or house faster than I can get packages from PA that is only about 700 miles from me. Upon inspecting the rifle before shooting I noticed the breech seal does not pass the surface breech, PA said to contact Umarex or send the rifle back,(nice service PA) you are willing to eat $40 in shipping charges to avoid sending a $3 o-ring. see top box

  • 2.0 2.0

    2.0 2.0

    2.0 2.0

    By Joe from USA on 2017-12-08
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    3.02 ratings

    Things I liked: Power of this Rifle feels good.

    Things I would have changed: #1 The whole stock feels cheap! This particular one i recieved has movement in the fore-end and #2 The front site! It does not need to be that long fiber optic broke luckily i had replacements to fix with. #3 Offer a modle with out the thumb whole. not every thumb whole stock fits every one.

    What others should know: I bought this based on airgunner reviews, I want power in a .22 with out having to go PCP. (this gun seems to have it) The Stop Shock technology seemed like a good idea to reduce hold sensitivity, but YOU CAN FEEL the whole action moving when you cock it, and slight rotation left to right. Not sure if thats because the action is floated. And the reason why its not incredibly accurate. (its not broke in and have only tired 2 types of pellets) I may have gotten a refurb possibly. The trigger has movement left to right (not a fan) Ive shot about 150 rounds through it? Jury is still out!! also did not come with a scope,I have UTG 4x16 that i put on it anyway but never the less it should have had one and Hince my theory of a refurb. Will be contacting Pyramyd about this and possibly send this product back.

  • 3.0 3.0

    3.0 3.0

    3.0 3.0

    By Allen from USA on 2017-10-31
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.03 ratings

    Things I liked: I purchased my Octane Elite during the first week of July this year before any real customer reviews were available. I took a chance knowing this was a new model with the StopShox and paid the $229 also knowing it was an economy rifle. The question I still ask myself is if am I disappointed or not. I would have to say no, not really considering it's a budget rifle and I knew that going in. Initially, I found the rifle extremely hold sensitive and difficult to achieve groups under 2 inches at 20 yards. The trigger had almost a 10-pound pull as well. However, the Elite has a lot of power and I saw potential in it's abilities for accuracy. I replaced an element of the trigger group with a part from Tim Montano and that brought the pull down to just under 2.5 pounds. I then removed a very small amount of material on the plastic spacer guides that meet the action in the front stock so that they were just flush with no side-to-side movement in the action. I now have 2-inch groups at 50 yds.

    Things I would have changed: Obviously, the things I would change would be the things I did change. Those two simple changes mentioned above improved my accuracy considerably. The extreme pull weight of the trigger was enough by itself to wreck havoc on acceptable accuracy. But the side-to-side movement in the action at the front of the stock not only created an overall rickety feel to the rifle, it was adding to the challenge of maintaining enough stability to consistently repeat a successful hold while firing. It was like firing with five different guns and using pellets of several different weights all with the same rifle. At first I thought the scope simply wasn't holding zero until I proved it wasn't the scope after mounting two other scopes. In any case, I doubt I'll do anything more to the rifle considering it is what it is in the price range it is. At 40 yards I can easily get 1.5 inch groups consistently. I just don't expect anything more out of it than what it is . . . a very powerful economy rifle.

    What others should know: I've tried at least 15 different pellet weights along with different manufacturers in the Elite. There are many that are just okay, but I'm currently using the JSB Match Diabolo Exact Jumbo Heavy .22 Cal, 18.13 Grains, Domed. However, many of the earlier pellet trials I went though occurred before I completed the modifications and I really need to re-run some of those pellets tests again just to see if there is a better pellet choice than what I'm currently using. Overall, the gun is fairly backyard friendly with noise, about average to cock (not easy nor hard), very powerful, and is heavy enough that a sling is welcomed in the woods. I suppose if I were given the chance to choose again between the Octane Elite or the first generation Octane, I'd probably choose the first generation Octane instead. Better yet, there are better choices in this price range with a little less power but better accuracy right out of the box.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By James from USA on 2017-10-27
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    3.52 ratings

    Things I liked: Love the looks and feel of this rifle. I am relatively new to the air gun hobby but not to weapons having been in the Infantry, Law Enforcement and now Nuclear Security. I was able to zero in this weapon using the scope that came with it relatively easy and was plinking away at targets getting nice groupings. I really enjoy firing this rifle. I was impressed with the accuracy of this airgun.

    Things I would have changed: Well you can always make it less expensive but for the current price I feel it's a real bargain.

    What others should know: It's fun to shoot and makes for a great time on the range or backyard. Safety first of course.

  • 2.0 2.0

    2.0 2.0

    3.0 3.0

    By Donald from USA on 2017-10-19
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    3.764 ratings

    Things I liked: Saw this gun favorably reviewed on American Airgunner. My experience not the same. Biggest problem with this gun was scope 1) defective- came with two left right turrets , one where the left right is supposed to be and one where up/down was supposed to be. 2) dial direction was the opposite of what scope owners manual showed. Despite this went ahead and attempted a sight in. You can only imagine how frustrating that was. Took a long time to get adjusted but ended up with a 1" group at 25 yds 3) very heavy gun 4 ) very firm trigger, no way that was 3.5 lbs. 7-9 more accurate. Returning gun and scope for credit towards a more expensive gun. Pyramid Air great to work with on the return but probably would not buy another Umarex

    Things I would have changed: Better quality control, better trigger

    What others should know: Hope you get a better sample gun than me

  • Previous 123
Navigation