Date: 24/8/2019 1:53
0

Walther CP99 Compact. 225-2206. Customer Reviews - page 1

Average Customer Review

4.5 (132 reviews)
Add to Cart

In-stock

Create an online review   and share your thoughts with other customers

The most helpful favorable review

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful:

Overall rating:5.0

Value for money:5.0

Accuracy:5.0

By Victor from USA on 2009-07-29 15:46:56

Things I liked: As I already am a proud owner of a Nickel Walther CP99 pellet pistol, I already know what to expect when it comes to Walther quality. But i must say that I was impressed with this gun. It has a nice hefty weight to it, it"s made of durable metal and a high quality polymer. Blowback with open ejection port is awesome. After the last shot is fired, the slide stayd cocked back like a real firearm.Speaking of the slide, it has a nice matte black finish ! Accuracy up to 30 ft. is pretty good. Each co2 cartridge will give you at least 100 shots as long as you put a drop of Crosman Pellgunoil on the tip of each one before charging it into the pistol..

Things I would have changed: I"ve thpught about it for a few minutes and haven"t been ablr to come up with anything.

What others should know: If you"re into shooting realistic looking, feeling, and performing air pistols, you won"t go wrong with thw Walther CP99 compact... If you wanna have fun with it, get at least 4 extra mags, the Walther laser, lots of Copperhead BBs, co2 powerlets and Pellgunoil to keep the fun going for a long time..

The most helpful critical review

0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:

Overall rating:1.0

Value for money:1.0

By Steve from USA on 2017-03-11 19:00:15

Things I liked: The look and weight

Things I would have changed: The magnet doesn't hold the bbs, the cartridge started leaking CO2 before I could tighten it all the way and I sent an email to the company about these issues and never got a response.

Sort by:
  • 123 ... 67 Next
  • Showitems
  • 4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    By Ricardo from USA on 2019-07-21
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: It has a good weight, feels good in the hand, good precision, picatinny rail. The indication when it is ready to fire.

    Things I would have changed: The trigger has a bump in the way and after is too long. The safe should be easy to use. The field-strip to be normal. If the accuracy would be better, to have white dot sights.

    What others should know: Although it has a decent blowback, the manual action of the slide is lighter. The precision is good, however I installed a laser because the accuracy was a little off. With the laser, resting grip at 24 feet, Black Diamond bbs and rapid fire the average of first 5 sets of 10 shots each got 72% inside a 1.5" bullseye (center-aim), 94% inside the 3" circle and 2% out. The 3rd set of 10 shots had 100% inside the 1.5" bull. After 50 shots the accuracy start going down. Around 90 shots the blowback failed to load bbs.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Jay from USA on 2019-05-26
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: I like the feel of it and it shoots well

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Michael from USA on 2018-12-25
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Functions perfectly. Nice weight. Fits the IWB holster that I have for my Walther P99C in 9mm. So I can use this BB pistol for target practice in my basement, as well as practice drawing from my concealed carry holster.

    Things I would have changed: A bit more explicit directions. I wasted about 1 cylinder of co2 figuring things out, but loading and firing accurately are a piece of cake once you are set up.

    What others should know: I read the horror stories in some other customer reviews and almost didn't buy this gun. I'm glad that I did buy, however. I'm not sure if previous complaints have been addressed by the manufacturer or what, but I experienced -0- issues with my gun. The co2 cartridges pierced without a problem, the BBs loaded just fine (I only loaded my magazines to 15 instead of the listed 18 limit), the safety was easy to use once I figured it out, and the gun fired perfectly once I discovered that I had to rack the slide initially (the blowback handles the cocking thereafter). I get about 100 BB quality firings per co2 cartridge btw. .Accuracy was spot-on at 5 yards.

     
  • 4.0 4.0

    3.0 3.0

    3.0 3.0

    By Victor from USA on 2018-08-15
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: I've had this gun for over ten years. It was my first blowback action BB gun and I have to say it's held up quite well through thousands of rounds. Very useful for staying in practice with minimal cost and more convenience than a trip to the range. Turned into a very useful trainer to help several new shooters adapt to semi-automatic shooting action including obtaining and re-obtaining a sight picture, familiarizing things like shooting stance, slide cycle timing and trigger control. No need to just 'throw them in the deep end to learn to swim' given the low noise, back yard convenience and overall comfort level this gun affords.

    Things I would have changed: I would prefer slightly longer slide travel, more akin to that of the genuine P99 or P99 Compact.

    What others should know: Though not as fast as some other bb guns including blowback, this gun still is fun and effective at close shooting ranges (less than 25'). Older models have the 'ejection port' area sealed completely by the cast slide. Newer models are more realistic in this area and the slide is truer to the real model.

     
  • 3.0 3.0

    3.0 3.0

    3.0 3.0

    By Hsin from USA on 2018-05-05
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: Good weight, reasonable accurate in 5 feet (in 7 feet still ok, but bb drops bit too much), feels solid on hand, real firearm trigger feel.

    Things I would have changed: Needs higher power, rifle barrel, better magazine design.

    What others should know: Magazine broke on third bottle of CO2.

     
  • 2.0 2.0

    2.0 2.0

    1.0 1.0

    By Simon from USA on 2017-05-04
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: Nice feel in hand, good weight. Good looking compact gun.

    Things I would have changed: Under powered. 'Lobs' BBs instead of firing them. Accuracy requires allowing for the drop off on anything beyond 23 ft. Gas loading problematic - easy to get it wrong and lose the whole cylinder. Very heavy on gas use - power dwindles within first mag.

    What others should know: There are MUCH better guns for the money these days.

     
  • 1.0 1.0

    1.0 1.0

    By Steve from USA on 2017-03-11
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: The look and weight

    Things I would have changed: The magnet doesn't hold the bbs, the cartridge started leaking CO2 before I could tighten it all the way and I sent an email to the company about these issues and never got a response.

     
  • 4.0 4.0

    4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Michael from USA on 2017-02-21
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    1.01 rating

    Things I liked: I am addicted to this gun and for the life of me I can't identify why. It's quite a unique piece, it feels great in the hand. I love the crisp blowback and the overall profile.

    Things I would have changed: My ONLY complaint is the CO2 loading mechanism. I HATE it. I truly do. For those who may not know, the CO2 slides in through an opening in the backstrap. Inside the CO2 housing there's a small "elevator" that needs to be tightened to "fit" the CO2 snugly against the seal. Sounds simple enough, but it's not. After using my thumb to tighten it as much as possible I have to use a screw driver and wedge it into the space between the side of the housing and the "elevator", applying pressure I can get several more turns and these are critical if I want to fully puncture my CO2 cartridge. After that, I have to take a pair of pliers to turn the bottom portion (which you see jutting out the bottom of the handle) until it fully seats the CO2. It's quite bothersome and, if I'm honest, annoying. If I don't do the above I'm lucky if the CO2 cartridge pierces at all. This is the most awful system I've ever encountered and I don't see why it exists.

    What others should know: Because of the CO2 piercing system you may notice a large degree of performance variance between shooting sessions. If you find your gun suddenly drops BBs low, or doesn't seem to have the crisp performance you expect chances are you've only partially pierced the CO2 cartridge. OH!!! And VERY IMPORTANT!!! Spend the money for the bespoke CP99 Compact laser sight. It's BEYOND worth it and allows the gun to be nearly tack driver accurate. Plus it just looks ridiculously cool.

  • 3.0 3.0

    4.0 4.0

    2.0 2.0

    By Christian from USA on 2016-11-03
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: I've heard great things about this gun, so I was excited to get it. I also bought the Umarex univeral loader which comes with an adapter for this gun. Great once you figure it out. The weight, feel and look are excellent. Semi-realistic action, as the dropout magazine just holds BBs and the CO2 goes in the handle. It's single action like the real steel, and has an indicator on the back that shows if it's cocked. Nice blowback! Accuracy is not applicable. It's a smooth bore BB pistol. You will struggle to hit a tool shed at 75 feet. That's not why you buy this. It's fun and handles like the real gun.

    Things I would have changed: The first problem I had was loading it with the Universal loader. Put too many BBs in, and it gets stuck on there due to the design. I broke it, luckily my Super-Glue Foo is ace. Next time I made sure to not load it all the way. But here's the issue- the magazine will eject all the BBS at once unless you hold the top when you release the mag spring. It's hard to explain, but unlike most guns the BBs are not held in place. They will freely fall out of the mag unless the spring is released to hold them in place *while the BB port is held*. If you fill it with a bunch of BBs, and just pop the spring release- BBs all over your floor. And the release will pop free pretty easily. So it took me a good 2 hours to pick up all the BBs, repair my loader, and finally get a mag loaded after a few tries.

    What others should know: And then... The CO2 has a twist thing to make it snug before turning the bottom of the grip which actually punctures it. But mine was undertight the first time, and leaked CO2 when I unscrewed it to adjust it. And the second time, it was overtight as the manual does not explain this, and would not turn all the way. And becuase of the shape, it blocks the mag port when not tightened all the way. So in order to load another mag, I had to waste an almost full CO2. Si I wasted two CO2s on one mag. Neat gun,but I do not recommend it unless you're at a hard limit of $100. Spend a few more and get the S&W M&P 40, or my all time favorite the Full-Auto Berretta 92A1. Extra mags are expensive, but the difference in quality and function is very noticeable.

  • 4.0 4.0

    4.0 4.0

    4.0 4.0

    By John from USA on 2016-01-23
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: bought the Walther CP99 compact for a gift , ordered the bundle for value, shipment arrived promptly. My wife was surprised , this bb pistol fits her hand well and operates well. the first co2 cylinder wasn't fully pierced but caused no issues at a standard operating speed.

     
  • 4.0 4.0

    4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    By tony from USA on 2016-01-17
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: Well made, sturdy construction, except the CO2, tightening mechanism seems like it will be problematic over time, .

    Things I would have changed: Safety is very difficult to operate.

    What others should know: The slide has been staying open, after a shot is fired. I don't know if this is a function of low CO2, or a malfunction of the mechanism.

     
  • 4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    3.0 3.0

    By chris from USA on 2015-11-15
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: I like that this has about the same feel and the real thing so it's great to keep your skills up when it;s cold and blowing outside, the slide operating and the slight recoil make this feel like the real thing

    Things I would have changed: I don't like the little hole on the top of the slide, for some reason the screw or what was there fell out and the slide would not operate, i found a short screw and a small washer and glued that in and it has sealed fine for over a year. the slide catch that would hold the slide back on the last bb just sucks, it wore away fairly fast, this does not effect the main function but takes away from the realism, the metal wears away fairly fast so keep a general track on how many rounds you fire and reload before the last one, i need to file mine back to being flat I have had a lot of tanks in mine to be fair but getting it to seal on a new tank with out allways lubderacting the tank can be a pain, pellgunoil from crosman works well for this

    What others should know: the seal on the CO2 could be better and dont fire till the clip is empty all the time, this will allow the slide lock back feature to work longer. accuracy is average for a smooth bore bb pistol

     
  • 4.0 4.0

    4.0 4.0

    4.0 4.0

    By david from USA on 2015-11-02
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    2.01 rating

    Things I liked: Like the pistol overall ... Works great with ease of handling .

    Things I would have changed: Nothing... I like it the way it is.

    What others should know: Great place for all varieties of air guns.. Look through their catalog... 50 cal rifles!! And even a 50 cal Airgun that shoots as a shotgun for single 50 cal round... Amazing!

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    By Tom from USA on 2015-08-21
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    3.03 ratings

    Things I liked: Great training gun. Fairly accurate, and stingy with gas. I got about 8 mags per cartridges. Exact size and shape as the real thing.

    Things I would have changed: More accuracy, if possible.

    What others should know: only use Umarex cartridges with this or any Umarex gun!!! Can cause damage!!

  • 5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    4.0 4.0

    By Too from USA on 2015-08-19
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating

    Things I liked: Excellent gun, very very well made, save for the slide catch, it has the potential to wear down from use. I had to strip mine down and file the slide edge to make it square again. Now I just count out sixteen shots, leaving the last bb in the mag, shooting that way prevents the slide catch from locking out and wearing down. The gun is very close to the actual firearm, the weight, controls, feel, almost identical. It's an excellent replica. I have read a few reviews on here where the gun is referred to as a "toy". I don't think it's a good idea to use the word "toy" in reference to modern air guns, it gives the wrong impression and could lead to complacency. These things are capable of causing serious injury if mishandled, just a thought. The power is impressive for a co2 pistol, especially with a fresh charge. Mine is very loud though, very loud, not "real" gun loud, but for an air pistol it makes a bit of a racket. The blow back is impressive, nice feature.

    Things I would have changed: Make the slide catch more durable.

    What others should know: Get lots of Co2 and a few extra mags, you will need them. The plastic sleeve on the barrel will get marked by the slide, not much you can do about this, a little drop of chamber oil rubbed onto the surface makes the marks disappear though. This gun is ridiculously good value for the price, it looks, feels and functions like one that cost three times the price. It's a fantastic piece of kit, just order one, you won't regret it.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    By Keith from USA on 2015-07-01
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    3.01 rating

    Things I liked: Very nice weight and balance. Aims naturally. Very comfortable to hold and shoot. Trigger is good. Short, crisp and predictable break second stage. Seems to be tight and well made. Warning labels are engraved rather than painted and do not stand out. Accuracy is better than expected. Good CO2 efficiency. It is inexpensive. An absolute pleasure to shoot!

    Things I would have changed: Not much. First stage of trigger loads BB so there is a little grittiness, but the pull is so light and the second stage so distinct it does not matter. May go away with use or lubrication. Safety is too awkward, to use it properly. It takes me two hands to engage or disengage it. It also releases the hammer, so you have to recock the slide before you can fire the gun again.

    What others should know: I could not recommend a better all around gun. With exception of the safety - this gun does everything it is supposed to do very well, and better than most other guns in its class. The safety might be an issue for younger or inexperienced shooters.

     
  • 4.0 4.0

    4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    By William from USA on 2015-05-31
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    1.02 ratings

    Things I liked: Nice blowback. Shoots 4.5mm bbs. Is made well.

    Things I would have changed: The ejection port should show the magwell better.

    What others should know: I sold mine after a year because I was bored of it.

     
  • 4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Jerry from USA on 2015-05-03
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: Realistic operation. Robust solid feel/construction . Accurate with correct sight picture.

    Things I would have changed: Safety lever is cumbersome. Sights could use white dots.

    What others should know: A great value.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Stephen from USA on 2015-01-31
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    4.01 rating

    Things I liked: I'm a retired NYS gunsmith with twenty years experience. This is one of fourteen assorted replica firearms I've purchased from Pyramyd Air and like all the others the quality, the price, the realism, and the attention to detail is exceptional.

    Things I would have changed: Nothing

    What others should know: This replica is the next best thing to the original firearm.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Danny from USA on 2015-01-22
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: Look, weight, feel, accuracy, blowback feature.

    Things I would have changed: Nothing

    What others should know: Extremely accurate. nice piece for a collection.

     
  • 123 ... 67 Next
Navigation