Date: 17/12/2018 10:57
0

Benjamin Bulldog .357. BPBD3S. Customer Reviews - page 1

Average Customer Review

4.5 (35 reviews)
2 star
Add to Cart

In-stock

Create an online review   and share your thoughts with other customers

The most helpful favorable review

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful:

Overall rating:5.0

Value for money:4.0

Accuracy:5.0

By evelyn from USA on 2017-08-20 13:58:16

Things I liked: Well made. Not too loud, not nearly as loud as a .22 LR, as some had reported, much different sound. Very accurate, I got 2" center to center groups w/ 5 shot strings using the Noslers at 75 yards, several almost in the same hole every string. Since it is a pre-charged pneumatic, pressure will vary with every shot. I shot several groups all touching when I re-charged to 3k psi after every shot. It is always best to eliminate as many variables as possible, keeping the psi consistent is a large one, just like accurately weighing the powder charge in a center fire. I weighed each bullet and made certain to shoot similar weights in each string. Human error is also huge, everyone has a different shooting skill level, trust only the videos you see when the weapon is in a Ransom Rest. Shooting into my angled 3/4" steel bullet trap, it completely flattened the Noslers, quite impressive combination. I would recommend this gun to a friend.

Things I would have changed: The plastic piece covering the charge quick disconnect is flimsy and is not permanently connected. Not sue I will bring it to the field hunting, if bumped it will fall off and be lost. Seems Benjamin could have done a better job recessing this or at least made a cover that more securely snapped into place and remained connected to the gun when opened. I was also a little disappointed with the plastic trigger and safety, seem flimsy with side to side motion. Seems for this money, they could have made the trigger group and safety out of quality steel. The gun is already heavy, to add a little extra weight for a strong adjustable trigger group would have been well worth it. I have had no problems with the trigger or safety, just seem flimsy.

What others should know: I got the manual air pump and also the scuba tank adapter. I filled it from 1000 psi to 3000 psi with the Benjamin manual air pump, took a few minutes and broke a sweat. I weigh 190 lbs , anyone weighing less will have more trouble, as at the end it took all of my weight to push down the pump.

The most helpful critical review

0 of 3 people found the following review helpful:

Overall rating:1.0

Value for money:1.0

Accuracy:1.0

By Christopher from USA on 2017-11-26 18:23:44

Things I liked: The trigger was pretty nice but it ends there!

Things I would have changed: The rail system stinks on this gun. It is so far off I cannot get a round into a paper plate size target at 10 yds. The rounds hit so low that even with the scope maxed out on elevation( which I dont like) the impact is still over a foot low WITH the scope shimmed in the mount! It is also way off to the left.

What others should know: I have many airguns that are superb from pyramidair and Benjamin but this gun is NOT one of them. Buyer beware!!!! I dont write reviews but felt I needed to for this gun. I have tried Nosler, JSB, and Polymags and none shoot worth a tinkers damn. Even though the gun is off , the groups should be there....6 inches at 25 yds! It would not be ethical to hunt with this piece of junk!

Sort by:
  • 12 Next
  • Showitems
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By matthew from USA on 2018-12-17
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: Potential for power is very good. Currently have mine shooting .358 sized 150 grain cast bullets at 928 FPS. Very simple to operate and work on. The magazine easily accepts the heavier bullets and is very simple to load.

    Things I would have changed: One major failure point with the platform is that the cocking lever is aluminum and will bend and even break with the hammer spring turned up. Replaced the lever on mine with a hand made steel lever and now it functions flawlessly. The air tube could have been just a few inches longer to allow for more high powered shots. Integrated shroud really does not quiet the report much at all and could easily have been addressed with a few baffles and some wire mesh surrounded by felt. Needs several barrel supports along the barrel that would fit snug into the shroud.

    What others should know: I have had great success with cast bullets. The Benjamin Noslers were about a 2 inch group at 50 yards and are extremely overpriced. JSB .35 pellets did not perform much better. A cast .358 slug of 125 grains or 150 grains performed the best with a tight 5 shot group of 0.42" at 50 yards. If you plan on getting big power for hunting deer definitely plan on using larger slugs. There are numerous air gun aftermarket dealers that have parts that can boost the power, silence the report, and improve accuracy. I am quite pleased with my bulldog currently at 286.8 FPE.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Scott from USA on 2018-10-03
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: well i did a ton of research on my first pcp rifle i had got a 22 swarm an the hatsan 30 cal most powerful break barrel ,so wanted to move up alot ,i have now gone out 2 times an shot 140 rounds Aprox each time ,this thing is a power house for what you pay for .i meen i did alot of youtube videos ,an reading about the rilfe ,i think even crossman did not relize how powerful; of a rifle they made ,not for dispatching squirrels for me the 22 would be all thats needed ,this is for bigger game like racoons fisher cats white tails hogs,so ok i was just shooting cans an some metal gongs from 50 yards an 88 yards ,someone had a 12 gauge shell duck taped to the wood i took the shot many times an about the last 5 shots ,i will be darned i hit it ,lucky shot i know but made my day ,couse i got some dialing in to do ,got used to de cocking it ,an also that you can re cock on the shoulder ,its kinda like getting used to the hand pump ,its technique,i like everything about the bulldog ,fun an fun

    Things I would have changed: well i guess the way it cocks for faster shots when shooting at a charging hog ,but that cab be mastered with time ,an will be ,other then that i would not change a thing about the bulldog,shoots pellets bullets arrows an who knows about rubber bullets,guess time will tell if it can shoot them ,asked crossman they found it interesting ?? but said they only have used lead ,will let another try it first,goes with ,what air gunner may wont to know ,i think it could be all around multi tasking rifle ,would not change that

    What others should know: i shot many bullets an pellets with no trouble ,i had some 120 grain an 140 grain bullets i got from a seller on ebay that got jammed 3 times out 7 ,they claim to be re sizeing a 38 ,wont buy them again ,otherwise hunters supply from 95 grain to 190 all work great ,power drops after 5 shots depeding on grain weight,but like said 88 yards to the 12 gauge shell was impressive,again i just dont think it for snal game ,there are to many choises for small game this is for 50 pounds on up to 300 pounds an 420 pounds hogzilas ,do your home work then buy the bulldog ,this is a rfile that when your warranty runs out there are upgrades for this ,that makes it well a PB ,so its a bit loud ,but wont leave you deaf ,i did not need hearing protection at all ,it makes crack that will be heard,but not like a 308 ,shot it all day no ring ,its not a bang its twang ,so if someone is in the house they wont hear it hardly at all, i had asked crossman about rubber bullets for SD ,they found it interesting

     
  • 4.0 4.0

    4.0 4.0

    4.0 4.0

    By Roger from USA on 2018-01-10
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    4.343 ratings

    Things I liked: I like a manual safety instead of an auto set safety. I don't want to have to turn the safety off for each shot. Especially when hunting. I like the quick disconnect filler as opposed to a probe so I don't have leaky o rings. I like the pressure gauge where it is easy to see. I like the fact it tells you when you are out of pellets so you don't shoot air at something.

    Things I would have changed: The rail is a little low compared with the stock. Even high scope bases weren't enough, but a spacer fixed the problem. I like a higher mount than many people so it may work for others just fine.

    What others should know: This is more powerful than I thought. Using 71 grain lead bullets meant for the 380 pistol I was using it with great effect on rabbits. A coyote went trotting by and I figured I had the wrong gun, but it was what I had. A guess of how high to hold and lead and the coyote leaped in the air ran a short distance and dropped in the weeds. I measured the distance at 88 yards. The bullet had gone clear thru the chest taking out the lungs. I don't know who was more surprised, me or the coyote but it sure did its job.

  • 1.0 1.0

    1.0 1.0

    1.0 1.0

    By Christopher from USA on 2017-11-26
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    1.343 ratings

    Things I liked: The trigger was pretty nice but it ends there!

    Things I would have changed: The rail system stinks on this gun. It is so far off I cannot get a round into a paper plate size target at 10 yds. The rounds hit so low that even with the scope maxed out on elevation( which I dont like) the impact is still over a foot low WITH the scope shimmed in the mount! It is also way off to the left.

    What others should know: I have many airguns that are superb from pyramidair and Benjamin but this gun is NOT one of them. Buyer beware!!!! I dont write reviews but felt I needed to for this gun. I have tried Nosler, JSB, and Polymags and none shoot worth a tinkers damn. Even though the gun is off , the groups should be there....6 inches at 25 yds! It would not be ethical to hunt with this piece of junk!

  • 1.0 1.0

    1.0 1.0

    1.0 1.0

    By Mark from USA on 2017-11-06
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    2.65 ratings

    Things I liked: Nothing

    Things I would have changed: Everything

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Stuball56 from USA on 2017-10-24
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    4.663 ratings

    Things I liked: The accuracy, because accuracy is king. The power, this rifle is extremely powerful, I had to build a large dirt back stop in order to fire this thing comfortably with no worries of where The bullet/pellet could end up. 2 inch groups at 50 yards, shooting off a rest, using either Polymags or JB kings.

    Things I would have changed: Nothing at this time

    What others should know: I have taken some very large groundhogs, and other than targets thats the only thing I shoot. Like I said, this thing is amazingly powerful, and the same care you would use with a firearm you must use with this rifle as well. Mine shoots the most accurately with Polymags or JB Kings. I tried airventuri 95 grain hollowpoints, but they produce flyers often.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    4.0 4.0

    By Al from USA on 2017-09-20
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    4.52 ratings

    Things I liked: Compact design, not heavy, 5 round capacity ,ACCURATE! Ready for accessories as it comes to you. A blast to shoot!

    Things I would have changed: Haven't had it long enough to find anything that Inwould change

    What others should know: Try different loads, I have found that it loves some rounds, and others. Not so much. I had planned to use a red dot with no magnification because I figured I would not being shooting long range. Buy a scope..

     
  • 4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    By addertooth from USA on 2017-08-22
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    4.663 ratings

    Things I liked: The Bullpup configuration makes it a bit more friendly for tromping through the woods without getting hung up on branches. The 5 shot rotary Magazine is a plus; so many Big Bore air rifles are single shot. This makes a follow-on shot more practical. With lead slugs, it hits with real authority; my backstop is a double row of bricks with wood behind it; it has shattered some of the bricks with a single shot with the 145 grain Nosler rounds. Mine was purchased as the black "Sportsmans Pack" which included the Bipod and the Scope. With the bipod and 50mm scope, it has some heft to it. I really like the way it looks, but I had to warm up to it first. It really came down to beauty is, what beauty does. This is a purchase I would likely repeat. This is not a rifle for the shy to take to the range, as it garners a lot of attention. Almost everyone at the range wanted to take a few shots through it. Almost none of them were aware airguns had evolved to this much power.

    Things I would have changed: aberrationsThe straight grip does not index well without looking. I added as rubber slip on Hogue grip, now my finger indexes to the trigger without looking. There are two components to the loud sound of this rifle, the barrel bark and the air tube ping. I purchased a Moderator and it did a great job with the barrel bark, but this only made me notice the ping more (as the barrel bark goes down, you notice the ping more). I wish this came in a regulated version, which would completely tame the ping. I realize a depinger could be installed, but an effective one would also reduce air tube volume as well. The scope which comes with the Sportsman pack is "Meh" with chromatic aberrations in the image at distance. These are less noticeable when you are not looking at a black and white target. Better coating on the CenterPoint's glass would combat this. The bipod gets the job done, but it is not top of the line in any imagination. But, quite frankly at the bargain price, its okay.

    What others should know: The gun is a good shooter, once adjusted the trigger has a good feel to it. I do not set it as light as I do on my smaller caliber air rifles (I take this one with a bit more caution). On a windless day, my highly modified Marauder will outshoot it at 50 yards, but there are about $300 in mods added to the Marauder. On a day with a bit of wind, the heavier .357 rounds require much less windage correction when shooting. For those that have trouble guessing windspeed and windage adjustments, this is a real plus. When hunting, you may not be able to easily see the swirling winds downrange. For most people, finding the right round for this gun is one of the most important things to gaining the most accuracy. Big bore rifles (all) tend to be air hogs; this is true of the Bulldog as well. I broke down and got a medium sized air tank to avoid a lot of pumping at the range. The tank has been a great purchase, and I recommend it to others who are considering this rifle.

  • 5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    By evelyn from USA on 2017-08-20
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    4.663 ratings

    Things I liked: Well made. Not too loud, not nearly as loud as a .22 LR, as some had reported, much different sound. Very accurate, I got 2" center to center groups w/ 5 shot strings using the Noslers at 75 yards, several almost in the same hole every string. Since it is a pre-charged pneumatic, pressure will vary with every shot. I shot several groups all touching when I re-charged to 3k psi after every shot. It is always best to eliminate as many variables as possible, keeping the psi consistent is a large one, just like accurately weighing the powder charge in a center fire. I weighed each bullet and made certain to shoot similar weights in each string. Human error is also huge, everyone has a different shooting skill level, trust only the videos you see when the weapon is in a Ransom Rest. Shooting into my angled 3/4" steel bullet trap, it completely flattened the Noslers, quite impressive combination. I would recommend this gun to a friend.

    Things I would have changed: The plastic piece covering the charge quick disconnect is flimsy and is not permanently connected. Not sue I will bring it to the field hunting, if bumped it will fall off and be lost. Seems Benjamin could have done a better job recessing this or at least made a cover that more securely snapped into place and remained connected to the gun when opened. I was also a little disappointed with the plastic trigger and safety, seem flimsy with side to side motion. Seems for this money, they could have made the trigger group and safety out of quality steel. The gun is already heavy, to add a little extra weight for a strong adjustable trigger group would have been well worth it. I have had no problems with the trigger or safety, just seem flimsy.

    What others should know: I got the manual air pump and also the scuba tank adapter. I filled it from 1000 psi to 3000 psi with the Benjamin manual air pump, took a few minutes and broke a sweat. I weigh 190 lbs , anyone weighing less will have more trouble, as at the end it took all of my weight to push down the pump.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Kevin from USA on 2017-04-17
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    2.52 ratings

    Things I liked: This is just a fantastic gun. Extremely accurate and POWERFUL. It's as accurate as any fine German made rifle and Made in the USA. Yes, it's a little on the loud side, but what do you expect for 900 fps .357? I can shoot this in my basement without alerting the neighbors. Your results may vary.

    Things I would have changed: The first one I bought had a significant air leak. Pyramid replaced it without question. Despite, the hassle, I would do it all over again to own this solid airgun.

    What others should know: The Air Ventura .357 127 grain pellets are very accurate in this gun.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Kevin from USA on 2017-04-14
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    1.01 rating

    Things I liked: This gun is powerful and INCREDIBLY accurate. I was so surprised that such a large caliber air gun could be so accurate. It's a bit loud, but what does one expect when hurdling a .357 projectile at 900 fps? I own several high precision German made air rifles, and this is made in America and my favorite air gun of the lot. My advice? Buy it.

    Things I would have changed: As other reviewers noted, my first one leaked air like a sieve. Pyramid replaced it, no questions asked. Even know I went through the hassle of returning the first order, I would do it all over again. The rifle is that good.

    What others should know: I use the Air Ventura 127 grain pellet. They are relatively cheap and accurate in this gun. And at 127 grains, one heck of a lot of knock down power.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    By John from USA on 2017-04-02
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: Everything the looks had to grow on ya.the first time i pulled the trigger I was hooked unbelievable power.i believe this gun could take down deer hogs you name it good hunting weapon

    Things I would have changed: Nothing maybe price not the gun

    What others should know: Be ready to enjoy an incredible gun for hunting or pleasure

     
  • 4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By john from USA on 2017-04-02
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: It preforms. I am mostly an FT shooter and this was ONLY purchased for the Misses. I actually do like it though. I do not care for the bullpup craze nor the black rifle thing and was not too thrilled to order this. But. It does feel good shouldering. You do NEED TALL mounts then you can shoulder it eyes closed, open them and your right on target. Trigger - on "my" airguns I like 4oz 2 stage- thought I would hate this trigger, but again, nope, really an excellent clean break hunting trigger, didn't even need any break in just a very clean break! With Nosler ammo very quite , much more than what I would think from reading reviews, JSB pellets are much louder. Looking for all shots touching at 50 yards - stock- I consider it a 4 shot rifle, those 4 will all be touching with either ammo at 50. Will post about it more after chrony & use.

    Things I would have changed: Please, throw the "dust cover" for the fill nipple away, don't include it, replace it with anything or even nothing, junk. That's all.

    What others should know: This airgun should never be used anywhere you couldn't use a 30-06.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Scott from USA on 2017-02-26
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: Very good accuracy with a variety of lead. Has a very good feel. Full lenth rails.

    Things I would have changed: I really dont have any complaints.

    What others should know: Shoots well in all positions. Very powerful rifle with good accuracy and a wide range of ammo works well on this gun. The noslers have superior performance in this gun.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Big Shady from USA on 2016-10-09
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: Power! 10 shots well over 700fps Light Weight Starting at 7.7lbs few if any other gun weighs in at less Plastic Light Weight Lower Price Bulldog can be kicked around a bit more than a wood stock (I cover the gun with Camo REM WRAPS) Too protect finish works well for wrapping the barrel deadens sound.

    Things I would have changed: I prefer Sling Mounts to be on top & Picatinny Weaver The shroud could do a better job knocking the report down Grip is by far as plastic as it gets (Hogue Rubber Sleeve fits nicely $8-10) Butt is like big as a Whales Tale.

    What others should know: Bulldog is a great hard shooting gun, I see why its called the Bulldog (its really too long to be considered a BullPup at 36"x12" with scope mounted) Its full Rifle with Great Bullpup Design Attributes. Its Long 28" Barrel gives the Bulldog the Power & Accuracy advantage over a shorter gun. This is a BullDog it is Big Loud Powerful, Not A Thing Puppyish About This Gun Its Style Grows On A Person. More to come after some shooting fun

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    3.0 3.0

    4.0 4.0

    By Jared from USA on 2016-08-22
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: Great Gun Seems Accurate enough. I shot at distance up to 75 yards. Ability to hit most squirrels at 50 to 60 yards. At 50 Yards with JSB 81 grain you can keep a solid .5 to 1 inch group. I get 10 solid shots with up to 20 shots accurate up to 35 yards. This allows for less refilling yet the accuracy drops off after 10 shot mostly pellet drop. So if you want to shoot more with less power you can extend the gun to 20 shots with JSB pellets out to about 40 yards with little compensation to pellet drop. After 40 yards the pellet drops like a rock. Nice Trigger, well made, accurate light. compact..... I would recommend this for bigger game or even smaller game if you can stand the noise.

    Things I would have changed: This rifle is loud as hell. It is louder than my 22 or just about that loud. I would love for an air stripper or silencer on this thing. There is loud rattle tang noise when the gun shoots. Other than that is is a great gun.

    What others should know: The gun is loud other than that it is great so far.

     
  • 4.0 4.0

    4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Austin from USA on 2016-06-12
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    1.01 rating

    Things I liked: Insane amount of knockdown power. Ergonomically a nice gun. Very accurate. I get sub 1 inch groupings with jsb and nosler pellets.

    Things I would have changed: At 2200 psi very quiet and still plenty of power...at 3000 psi it's loud. Not much quieter than a powder rifle. Much louder than I expected it to be.

    What others should know: Great rifle for hunting....well my second one is. The first had a leak, which I read is notorious on these. You either get a good one or bad one. However, Pyramid's customer service is awesome. They even rushed me a brand new replacement. I received it less than a week after sending out the bad one.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    By unrepentantsinner from USA on 2016-04-26
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: I bought mine here a couple weeks ago and I am impressed! Crosman/Benjamin hit it out of the big bore park, something I doubted would happen after the Rogue fiasco. It points well, has a great trigger for the hunting air gun crowd and more than enough accuracy for that task. The ability to use AR 15 sighing equipment is a stroke of genius.

    Things I would have changed: Stiffen up that stock, line or fill the voids with foam to lessen the rattle of plastic vrs the outside world.

    What others should know: This bullpup is a air gun modders dream. It can be taken to 250 FPE easily. I fully expect to see a cottage after market parts industry to pop up like it did with the MROD. It is loud, and fixing that will not be easy. This bears no resemblance to the Rogue and if you like big bores you will love this one.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By James from USA on 2016-04-05
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: Ease of loading. Great look,

    Things I would have changed: Not a very quiet gun. Not as load as a rifle.

    What others should know: Zeroed gun at 40 yards. 5 shots within 2 inches. 20 inch scope adjustment for 100 yards. 4 of 5 shots hitting a skoal can at 100 yards.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By alan from USA on 2016-03-12
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: I bought the Bulldog from Pyramid air because of thier reputation. The "other" main competetor has a horrible customer service record. Even if Pyramid wasnt the cheapest I still would purchase from them. The gun is awesome and extremely accurate. I found the Nozzler bullets to be the most accurate so far but the 95 grains are very good from Air venturi. The gun is light, powerful and you can accessorize it to no end. This gun is made in Bloomfield NY by Americans who care. I have custom built Crosman products from the Bloomfield custom shop and the quality is top notch. Now that I'm hooked on the power of a big bore I'll be buying more from Pyramid Air.

    Things I would have changed: Nothing, but an AR style carry handle open sight set up would be cool.

    What others should know: The gun is loud, not fire arm loud but with the long nozzlers it makes a loud TWANG sound. If you want to shoot in your back yard and have close neighbors you might want to talk to them and explain its an air gun!

  • 12 Next
Navigation