Date: 16/1/2021 9:46
0

Customer Reviews for Benjamin Bulldog .357

Average Customer Review

4.5 (50 reviews)
2 star
Benjamin Bulldog .357
Pre-order

Out of Stock

Create an online review   and share your thoughts with other customers

The most helpful favorable review

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful:

Overall rating:5.0

Value for money:4.0

Accuracy:5.0

By evelyn from USA on 2017-08-20 13:58:16

Things I liked: Well made. Not too loud, not nearly as loud as a .22 LR, as some had reported, much different sound. Very accurate, I got 2" center to center groups w/ 5 shot strings using the Noslers at 75 yards, several almost in the same hole every string. Since it is a pre-charged pneumatic, pressure will vary with every shot. I shot several groups all touching when I re-charged to 3k psi after every shot. It is always best to eliminate as many variables as possible, keeping the psi consistent is a large one, just like accurately weighing the powder charge in a center fire. I weighed each bullet and made certain to shoot similar weights in each string. Human error is also huge, everyone has a different shooting skill level, trust only the videos you see when the weapon is in a Ransom Rest. Shooting into my angled 3/4" steel bullet trap, it completely flattened the Noslers, quite impressive combination. I would recommend this gun to a friend.

Things I would have changed: The plastic piece covering the charge quick disconnect is flimsy and is not permanently connected. Not sue I will bring it to the field hunting, if bumped it will fall off and be lost. Seems Benjamin could have done a better job recessing this or at least made a cover that more securely snapped into place and remained connected to the gun when opened. I was also a little disappointed with the plastic trigger and safety, seem flimsy with side to side motion. Seems for this money, they could have made the trigger group and safety out of quality steel. The gun is already heavy, to add a little extra weight for a strong adjustable trigger group would have been well worth it. I have had no problems with the trigger or safety, just seem flimsy.

What others should know: I got the manual air pump and also the scuba tank adapter. I filled it from 1000 psi to 3000 psi with the Benjamin manual air pump, took a few minutes and broke a sweat. I weigh 190 lbs , anyone weighing less will have more trouble, as at the end it took all of my weight to push down the pump.

The most helpful critical review

0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:

Overall rating:1.0

Value for money:1.0

Accuracy:1.0

By JOSEPH R BAKO from USA on 2020-08-29 13:24:43

Things I liked: Bought two new benjamin bulldogs .

Things I would have changed: One of the guns will not hold air .

What others should know: Waiting to hear back from pyramid air . when i was in the process of ordering i actually spoke with someone from pyramid air , and i asked if i should i should get the ten for ten test on this gun . They told me it wasnt necessary on the bulldog , because it is so reliable . wish i would have got the ten for ten test .

Sort by:
  • 123 Next
  • Showitems
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Brent from USA on 2020-09-22
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: With the right scope, this baby is very accurate. It was off exactly 3 inches from the sighting in a pyramid (The $20 deal--which is still worth it for the effort and quality assurance). So I zeroed it in myself. It took 6 shots at 50 yards. The first 3 zeroed it in. The last 3 were dead on and within 1/4" of center (at 50 yards). I LOVE this gun.

    Things I would have changed: I can't think of anything.

    What others should know: I used Predator Polymag, .35 Cal, 81.01 Grains, Pointed pellets and the ATN X-Sight-4K, 3-14x Pro Edition Smart Day/Night Hunting Rifle Scope, which I love as well. The scope cost more than the gun and was well worth it. When charged to 2900 PSI, it is much more powerful. At 2900 PSI it blew through and splintered a 2x12. After 5 shots, the pellet would only embed in the front side. If you're hunting anything large, you will want to refill the air after 5 shots.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Brent from USA on 2020-09-22
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: With the right scope, this baby is very accurate. It was off exactly 3 inches from the sighting in a pyramid (The $20 deal--which is still worth it for the effort and quality assurance). So I zeroed it in myself. It took 6 shots at 50 yards. The first 3 zeroed it in. The last 3 were dead on and within 1/4" of center (at 50 yards). I LOVE this gun.

    Things I would have changed: I can't think of anything.

    What others should know: I used Predator Polymag, .35 Cal, 81.01 Grains, Pointed pellets and the ATN X-Sight-4K, 3-14x Pro Edition Smart Day/Night Hunting Rifle Scope, which I love as well. The scope cost more than the gun and was well worth it.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By JOSEPH R BAKO from USA on 2020-09-10
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: bought two of these . one of them wouldnt hold air , but the great folks at pyramid air are replacing it . love everything about this gun . hits so hard . i got much more gun than i expected . magazine loads with ammo smooth and easy , inserts into gun easy and clean . cocking lever smooth and easy . gun is easy to charge with air . i put a red dot with one inch riser on it . love this gun .

    Things I would have changed: better quality trigger . works perfect , but feels like it could be made out of better materials .

    What others should know: large reputable company . you will always be able to have this gun serviced . defects are not common with this gun , but if there is a problem ( like i had ) pyramid air will take care of it . this should be your first air gun if you are getting into pcp's .

     
  • 1.0 1.0

    1.0 1.0

    1.0 1.0

    By JOSEPH R BAKO from USA on 2020-08-29
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Bought two new benjamin bulldogs .

    Things I would have changed: One of the guns will not hold air .

    What others should know: Waiting to hear back from pyramid air . when i was in the process of ordering i actually spoke with someone from pyramid air , and i asked if i should i should get the ten for ten test on this gun . They told me it wasnt necessary on the bulldog , because it is so reliable . wish i would have got the ten for ten test .

     
  • 3.0 3.0

    3.0 3.0

    3.0 3.0

    By Jim from USA on 2020-08-24
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Feel, optionability. The magazine is well designed.

    Things I would have changed: Fix the leaks on a brand new gun. Make a better fill port guard.

    What others should know: Just here to confirm, in summer 2020, they are still shipping these things out BRAND NEW with the bad leak from the bleed valve screw. Thankfully previous reviewers from MANY YEARS AGO have instructed to use teflon tape on the screw which worked for me. I was losing 200 psi/day. How can they continue to churn out this slop? Take some pride, Crosman. Brand new, at this price, made in the USA. It is embarrassing, honestly. It's too much hassle to return, but if that teflon tape hadn't worked I would have. If you buy this gun, prepare to have to make repairs before even shooting it once.

     
  • 4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Greg from USA on 2020-05-09
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: So far pretty much everything has been good, shoots well, especially with the Nosler slugs, or some Griffin boat tail slugs I tried.

    Things I would have changed: Fill port cover and put in a depinger.

    What others should know: Regular AR type handle and front sight works pretty well so far. Same goes for a red/green dot type sight. I was surprised that the AR sights would adjust enough for the not so flat trajectory of an air gun. Only had 30 yards so far, might have a different experience with longer ranges and run out of adjustment.

     
  • 3.0 3.0

    3.0 3.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Bruce from USA on 2020-04-29
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating

    Things I liked: This is a powerful gun. Shooting JSB 81 gr pellets gives a max of 160 fpe, and Nosler 145 gr push up to 198 pfe. It easily dropped a 300 pound wild hog. Accuracy is great, and the price is a bargain compared to other big bore air rifles. It also has nice balance and is very comfortable to shoulder. The rotary magazine works well and is convenient for hunting, though I bought a single shot tray from Pitbull for target shooting. Overall, after shooting thousands of rounds over the span of 2 years, this has been a lot of fun to shoot.

    Things I would have changed: I am disappointed by poor durability. I have owned the gun for 2 years, and after about 18 months it developed a slow leak that has gotten steadily worse over time. Currently, from 3000 psi it sheds about 100 psi per day. It is still okay for a day of shooting, but it bugs me that I can't store it for a month without needing to fully recharge. I have 4 other pcp guns (Airforce, Hatsan), none of which have ever leaked. Normally the leak would be covered by the manufacturer warranty, but Benjamin voids the warranty if you make ANY modifications (such as adding an additional sound moderator). The stock gun is pretty loud compared to other shrouded guns, so many Bulldog owners may be tempted to get an additional moderator. If it weren't for the leak, I would have given 5 stars.

    What others should know: As soon as the gun arrived, I added a moderator from Pitbull Airguns, which works well to reduce the sound level. But to add the moderator, it is necessary to remove the crown from the barrel, which voids the warranty from Benjamin. Adding a moderator clearly did not cause the gun to start leaking after 18 months later. I don't know if this is a common problem with Bulldogs, or maybe I just got a lemon. In either case I am really annoyed that I need to deal with a major defect that I have not seen in my other PCPs.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Michael on 2020-04-22
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: Very accurate fun to shoot super nice gun!

    Things I would have changed: Its loud I would change the noise level.

    What others should know: I shouldve gotten the pyramid air- tuneup to give it a little bit more power

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    By Rich from USA on 2020-02-18
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: This rifle is a beast!!! The trigger is much better than I expected from some of the reviews.. it breaks crisp..If you do your part, and keep your shot distance reasonable, it will do a number on any critter in this country...

    Things I would have changed: Trash the fill valve cover.. mine broke before I was half way through a tin of ammo,

    What others should know: Over all Im very satisfied with everything iv gotten from Pyramid Air ...Greg hooked me up fat!! Air Venturi compressor an all the trimmings

  • 5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Chris from USA on 2020-01-04
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: Very impressed its a hard hitter going to be doing some modifications soon to make it quiet , with a Danny FL moderator, Stronger hammer spring different cocking lever and De-pinger, overall very pleased with the performance and thrust output

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By micky from USA on 2019-12-26
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Very lite and powerful.Shoots JSB pellets very well.with a 3000 psi fill the first mag is not as accurate as the second and third mag.So at a 2500 psi fill at 50 yards all three mags send JSB pellets in one large ragged hole.Velocity peaks at 933 fps for 156 foot lbs. With the Neilson Speciality Ammo 110 grain slugs I get sub 1/2" groups at 55 yards.The Air Venturi 127 grain round nose and flat are about 2" at 50 yards.The Rick Morill 97 grain pellets are an excellent cheaper choice and shoot about 2" groups at 50 yards.Its a powerhouse shooting pellets.The gun is lite and shoulders well.The charge handle in the rear is strange to me but it cycles very well.I thinknthe magazine design is genius.Plenty of room in the mag for long ammo.Its about as loud as a .22 long rimfire but without the super sonic crack.I think most of the noise you hear is the ping inside the airtube.I hunted rabbits with it 50 yards away from each other.Shot the first one and did not even spook the second one.

    Things I would have changed: A factory Depinger and a baffle system for the hollow shroud. .30 caliber bolt,magazine and barrel option would be awesome.The power the gun puts out could really push a smaller caliber like a .257-.308.

    What others should know: Experiment with alot of ammo and fill pressures.Dont think because it can be filled to 3000 psi that it needs to be.zthe gun operates at 3000 but mine is more accurate with the JSB ammo at lower pressures.If you have this gun you need to look at Neilson Speciality Ammo's 110 and 142 grain slugs.Neilson designed these slugs for the Bulldogs barrel. Excellent quality slugs.Have a strong backstop.This isn't your grandfather's BB gun.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Don from USA on 2019-12-24
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: This is a 67 year old life long hunter and shooter's first trip into pcp shooting. I have used break barrel pellet guns and have the 30 caliber break barrel - no comparison - I purchased them ( i bought two - his and hers) for hog hunting here in south texas and will report back after my hunts.

    Things I would have changed: Dont know enough to criticise anything. Yet.

    What others should know: If you have any questions , chat with the air gun experts at pyramid air - they were extremely helpful in gun choice, which i bought from them and in my usage of compressors and tanks.

  • 4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Daniel from USA on 2019-12-20
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: I bought this gun about 2 years ago and bought quite a few since then - but i keep going back to shoot this again and again because i just love it. Velocity using 81 grain ammo is just about what's stated in the specs with drop off at about 7th shot. 145 grain slugs are devastating in the Bulldog. I It feels balanced when shouldered and easy to manipulate; it isn't heavy, just different. I haven't shot targets at long range with this gun but have no problem grouping 2 magazines in 3/4 inch hole at about This is definitely my "go to" airgun.

    Things I would have changed: I agree with some other reviews that state the cocking mechanism is a bit fragile. Mine still holds up but i can see a situation where it may break - not a showstopper.

    What others should know: it is a real good repeater and great at destroying all kinds of things. I i could only have 2 or 3 airguns the Bulldog would be one of them.

     
  • 3.0 3.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By josh from USA on 2019-03-26
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Its light, 100psi per shot. Smooth awesome upgrades

    Things I would have changed: Not make it so top heavy and make it easy to grip

    What others should know: I got one a few weeks ago, it leaked but Pyramyd air fix the problem and help me upgrade to the camo!! Great fast customer service

     
  • 4.0 4.0

    4.0 4.0

    3.0 3.0

    By John D. on 2019-01-04
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: I liked the accuracy the most, good posture when it comes to the platform. I didn't think I would like the style considering I normally shoot a more traditional air rifle. The ergonomic cocking handle was very nice but more on that in next section

    Things I would have changed: I read some other comments, not all, but am I the only one that gets slapped when you fire the bulldog? If feels like you're getting one right to the cheek every time you pull the trigger! I would definitely use a cushioned rubber matting over the butt stock or modify in a way to decrease or eliminate this.The cocking handle should definitely be steel. Aluminum bends or breaks.

    What others should know: Accuracy on this platform is based on how much time you spend with it. If you take your time, work with it, know your distances, scope windage, elevation and a little bit of math you should have an excellent big bore for anything you do with an air rifle.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By matthew from USA on 2018-12-17
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating

    Things I liked: Potential for power is very good. Currently have mine shooting .358 sized 150 grain cast bullets at 928 FPS. Very simple to operate and work on. The magazine easily accepts the heavier bullets and is very simple to load.

    Things I would have changed: One major failure point with the platform is that the cocking lever is aluminum and will bend and even break with the hammer spring turned up. Replaced the lever on mine with a hand made steel lever and now it functions flawlessly. The air tube could have been just a few inches longer to allow for more high powered shots. Integrated shroud really does not quiet the report much at all and could easily have been addressed with a few baffles and some wire mesh surrounded by felt. Needs several barrel supports along the barrel that would fit snug into the shroud.

    What others should know: I have had great success with cast bullets. The Benjamin Noslers were about a 2 inch group at 50 yards and are extremely overpriced. JSB .35 pellets did not perform much better. A cast .358 slug of 125 grains or 150 grains performed the best with a tight 5 shot group of 0.42" at 50 yards. If you plan on getting big power for hunting deer definitely plan on using larger slugs. There are numerous air gun aftermarket dealers that have parts that can boost the power, silence the report, and improve accuracy. I am quite pleased with my bulldog currently at 286.8 FPE.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Scott from USA on 2018-10-03
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: well i did a ton of research on my first pcp rifle i had got a 22 swarm an the hatsan 30 cal most powerful break barrel ,so wanted to move up alot ,i have now gone out 2 times an shot 140 rounds Aprox each time ,this thing is a power house for what you pay for .i meen i did alot of youtube videos ,an reading about the rilfe ,i think even crossman did not relize how powerful; of a rifle they made ,not for dispatching squirrels for me the 22 would be all thats needed ,this is for bigger game like racoons fisher cats white tails hogs,so ok i was just shooting cans an some metal gongs from 50 yards an 88 yards ,someone had a 12 gauge shell duck taped to the wood i took the shot many times an about the last 5 shots ,i will be darned i hit it ,lucky shot i know but made my day ,couse i got some dialing in to do ,got used to de cocking it ,an also that you can re cock on the shoulder ,its kinda like getting used to the hand pump ,its technique,i like everything about the bulldog ,fun an fun

    Things I would have changed: well i guess the way it cocks for faster shots when shooting at a charging hog ,but that cab be mastered with time ,an will be ,other then that i would not change a thing about the bulldog,shoots pellets bullets arrows an who knows about rubber bullets,guess time will tell if it can shoot them ,asked crossman they found it interesting ?? but said they only have used lead ,will let another try it first,goes with ,what air gunner may wont to know ,i think it could be all around multi tasking rifle ,would not change that

    What others should know: i shot many bullets an pellets with no trouble ,i had some 120 grain an 140 grain bullets i got from a seller on ebay that got jammed 3 times out 7 ,they claim to be re sizeing a 38 ,wont buy them again ,otherwise hunters supply from 95 grain to 190 all work great ,power drops after 5 shots depeding on grain weight,but like said 88 yards to the 12 gauge shell was impressive,again i just dont think it for snal game ,there are to many choises for small game this is for 50 pounds on up to 300 pounds an 420 pounds hogzilas ,do your home work then buy the bulldog ,this is a rfile that when your warranty runs out there are upgrades for this ,that makes it well a PB ,so its a bit loud ,but wont leave you deaf ,i did not need hearing protection at all ,it makes crack that will be heard,but not like a 308 ,shot it all day no ring ,its not a bang its twang ,so if someone is in the house they wont hear it hardly at all, i had asked crossman about rubber bullets for SD ,they found it interesting

     
  • 4.0 4.0

    4.0 4.0

    4.0 4.0

    By Roger from USA on 2018-01-10
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    4.343 ratings

    Things I liked: I like a manual safety instead of an auto set safety. I don't want to have to turn the safety off for each shot. Especially when hunting. I like the quick disconnect filler as opposed to a probe so I don't have leaky o rings. I like the pressure gauge where it is easy to see. I like the fact it tells you when you are out of pellets so you don't shoot air at something.

    Things I would have changed: The rail is a little low compared with the stock. Even high scope bases weren't enough, but a spacer fixed the problem. I like a higher mount than many people so it may work for others just fine.

    What others should know: This is more powerful than I thought. Using 71 grain lead bullets meant for the 380 pistol I was using it with great effect on rabbits. A coyote went trotting by and I figured I had the wrong gun, but it was what I had. A guess of how high to hold and lead and the coyote leaped in the air ran a short distance and dropped in the weeds. I measured the distance at 88 yards. The bullet had gone clear thru the chest taking out the lungs. I don't know who was more surprised, me or the coyote but it sure did its job.

  • 1.0 1.0

    1.0 1.0

    1.0 1.0

    By Christopher from USA on 2017-11-26
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    1.846 ratings

    Things I liked: The trigger was pretty nice but it ends there!

    Things I would have changed: The rail system stinks on this gun. It is so far off I cannot get a round into a paper plate size target at 10 yds. The rounds hit so low that even with the scope maxed out on elevation( which I dont like) the impact is still over a foot low WITH the scope shimmed in the mount! It is also way off to the left.

    What others should know: I have many airguns that are superb from pyramidair and Benjamin but this gun is NOT one of them. Buyer beware!!!! I dont write reviews but felt I needed to for this gun. I have tried Nosler, JSB, and Polymags and none shoot worth a tinkers damn. Even though the gun is off , the groups should be there....6 inches at 25 yds! It would not be ethical to hunt with this piece of junk!

  • 1.0 1.0

    1.0 1.0

    1.0 1.0

    By Mark from USA on 2017-11-06
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    2.08 ratings

    Things I liked: Nothing

    Things I would have changed: Everything

  • 123 Next
Navigation