Date: 11/12/2018 0:51
0

Hatsan Gladius. HG-Glad22. Customer Reviews - page 1

Average Customer Review

4.5 (25 reviews)
3 star

Create an online review   and share your thoughts with other customers

The most helpful favorable review

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful:

Overall rating:5.0

Value for money:5.0

Accuracy:5.0

By Stanley from USA on 2016-03-19 20:37:49

Things I liked: Hatsan finally installed a power adjustment on this bullpup, a welcome addition. I choose the 25 caliber long version.It has many great features , similar to my at 44 QE long in many ways , very accurate . I installed a Hawk tactical 6.5 x 20 scope with a one piece mount, it only took me about 8 rounds to sight in (impressive).Its really hard to beat these scopes if your budget allows you won't be disappointed. I looked at many other bullpups and picked this one because you get so much for your money, couldn't be happier . I personally would have a hard time paying more than a 1000.00 for an airgun , you could buy a real firearm for that .This fits the bill for me.

Things I would have changed: So many others go on about the weight at 10 plus pounds without a scope( it is a handful .) Could it be made lighter ? Yes it could but you couldn't buy it for under a 1000.00 dollars. I have seen some bullpups that cost well over 2500.00 (DAM) for an airgun ? Really ? To make it lighter would take more effort and maybe use different materials thus making it more expensive.Does anyone know of a bullpup for under a thousand dollars that is lighter ? With these features? I doubt it . It is what it is take or leave it . Quit belly aching. Don't like it buy something else . I have two other Hatsans and there not light either. I hunt with mine , it is made to do just that, and i have a bipod on it to. With my scope it probably weighs close to 12 pounds easy. I don't mind the weight.

What others should know: About 7 inches of the total length is devoted to the suppressor / moderator assembly and it works very well . Backyard friendly plus a power adjuster that can be dialed down to save air and get more shots.

The most helpful critical review

0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:

Overall rating:1.0

Value for money:1.0

Accuracy:1.0

By michael from USA on 2016-11-19 20:51:51

Things I liked: Looks great and good balance

Things I would have changed: I have tried everything to get the accuracy others have posted. Thirteen different pellets, my best Hawke scope. cleaned the barrel and removed the baffles to ensure the pellet was not hitting the baffles or the end cap. I am still getting three to five inch groups. Sadly I have had the rifle past the thirty day return period. I could get a tune and a regulator, however that would add an additional $400.00 to the cost. I am stuck with a useless air rifle.

What others should know: Pay for the ten shot test by Pyramid.

Sort by:
  • 12 Next
  • Showitems
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Anh from USA on 2018-02-27
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: like the gun very much am still getting use to it though Pros: shoots great Cons: little heavy

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Bishop from USA on 2017-04-21
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: the most important quality of an airgun is accuracy, this rifle delivers that. Lots of features, like the power adjuster, spare clips, sound suppression.

    Things I would have changed: the weight

    What others should know: don't give up , on finding the right pellet for your rifle. it was hard for me to believe the rws superdomes, were the most accurate out of my rifle. the results, were not even close. several pellets shot ok, good enough for hunting out to 30 yards, but the rws superdomes, have made this a 60 to 70 yard hunter.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By john from USA on 2017-03-25
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: love how accurate this pup is. The adjustability is pretty sweet too.

    Things I would have changed: it would have to be the trigger. don't get me wrong its a good trigger but adjusting it takes a good amount of time finally think I got it right.

    What others should know: if your having trouble with the accuracy or think its the accuracy it possibly could be the hammer spring adjustment. when I first got it I didn't adjust anything and couldn't figure out why at every yardage I shot at the shots were consistent but point of impacted was different. took me awhile to notice why. first clip would hit high and left then would go to zero around mid second clip. once I adjusted the hammer spring POI is same at all yardages shot before with mandatory elevation adjustments. consider the adjustments before you give up on this pup.

     
  • 4.0 4.0

    4.0 4.0

    4.0 4.0

    By Jim from USA on 2017-01-29
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating

    Things I liked: Well balanced and comfortable. Accurate great combo kit

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Christopher from USA on 2016-12-14
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: Excellent quality and craftsmanship. Easy to set up and shoot. Very accurate. Stock and cheek rest can be customized to fit

    Things I would have changed: Nothing

    What others should know: Scope that came with gun was clearly refurbished as paint scuffs had been covered with a black sharpie - came off with alcohol. Will need an adapter for the fill probe if you use quick disconnects.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    By Greg from USA on 2016-12-13
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating

    Things I liked: Lots of extras included, very accurate, great value for the price. Rifle is capable of better accuracy than the shooter is capable of.

    Things I would have changed: Weight, its kinda heavy but has good balance

    What others should know: If you like to shoot this rifle is perfect. I purchased the long .22 version.

     
  • 1.0 1.0

    1.0 1.0

    1.0 1.0

    By michael from USA on 2016-11-19
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: Looks great and good balance

    Things I would have changed: I have tried everything to get the accuracy others have posted. Thirteen different pellets, my best Hawke scope. cleaned the barrel and removed the baffles to ensure the pellet was not hitting the baffles or the end cap. I am still getting three to five inch groups. Sadly I have had the rifle past the thirty day return period. I could get a tune and a regulator, however that would add an additional $400.00 to the cost. I am stuck with a useless air rifle.

    What others should know: Pay for the ten shot test by Pyramid.

  • 4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    By Charles from USA on 2016-08-26
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating

    Things I liked: The Gladius is a well built bullpup. Very rugged/solid. The accuracy is quite good as I got around 1/2" c-t-c @ 40 yards without trying too hard at all off of the bench. The power adjuster definitely has an impact on the power output that's noticeable with each individual setting. The Gladius is very quiet which makes it back yard friendly. Mine was in .25 caliber. I should also point out that mine had no leaks. Mine also performed as advertised.

    Things I would have changed: The weight... If Hatsan could knock a pound and a half or two pounds out of the Gladius, that would be a nice improvement.

    What others should know: You might have noticed that I referred to mine in the past tense up above? I wound up sending mine back to Pyramyd air. This wasn't because of any defects. The reason I sent it back was because I just couldn't get the bullpup ergonomics to work for me. I like to shoot mostly off-hand and I couldn't shoot as well with the Gladius as I could with my UK Webley Patriot .25 cal springer air rifle. It's not purely a function of the weight either as the Patriot is a heavy gun in its own right... My thinking when I purchased it was that with the weight being more in the rear of the bullpup, I might be able to shoot off-hand longer before my forearm grip started to tire. It didn't work out as I expected... This was my first foray into bullpups and I'm certain it will be my last. If you're a fan of bullpups and can do well with them, the Gladius is good value for the money.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    By Phillip from USA on 2016-08-16
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    2.52 ratings

    Things I liked: Great gun. Very well built and very accurate. I absolutely love the ability to change power levels. I live in the city so level 4 fours most of the time, until I need to hunt on level 6. I have the 25 caliber

    Things I would have changed: Add a depinger or more importantly a regulator.

    What others should know: Not the lightest gun, but nothing to worry about. Well balanced.

     
  • 2.0 2.0

    2.0 2.0

    1.0 1.0

    By Daniel from USA on 2016-08-14
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating

    Things I liked: The idea of a bullpup with lots of features at a bargain price. Balance seemed ok.

    Things I would have changed: Quality control is non-existent. A lot of the internal were rusty on arrival. Trigger is crap, even after adjusting it. The crescent moon shaped rubber butt stock is painful to put to your shoulder. You require either high scope rings or need to remove the cheek rest to be able to view the scope properly. The anti double feed only works half the time, and when it fails, the pellets with break the plastic suppressor baffles. Heavy rifle. The valve on the side to change how fast the rifle fired was unnecessary. Rifle should be regulated.

    What others should know: I wanted this rifle to work with every fiber of my soul. I searched online for any fixes I could do myself. Customer support is spotty at best from hatsan. I was willing to forgive all other issues if it just shot straight. This is where it truly failed. Shots at 20 yards from both prone and sitting were everywhere. The groupings I got with 31 grain pellets started at 8 inches and with practice and adjustment I got them to 3 inches. At 20 yards .25 should be going through the same hole. I don't dare use this for hunting with that mediocre accuracy. While the price is decent, I think I would rather pay a bit more for a more accurate rifle in hindsight. It is with a heavy heart that I'm going to try to return it or sell it. I really hope I received a lemon (defective rifle) because the idea for this rifle was a sound one.

  • 4.0 4.0

    4.0 4.0

    2.0 2.0

    By ronald from USA on 2016-08-13
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: I thought I had a bad one until I realized the Hawke scope with etched reticle was too thin for my old eyes. Changed to a UTG 4-16X44 30MM SCOPE and I am very impressed with the accuracy. Sighted in at 25yds on #4 power 10shot hole in hole,50yd on #5 power 10shot group 3/8 hole to hole,75yd 10shot group #6power 3/8 hole to hole with 1 flyer, I pulled it. Without a doubt accurate to a fault. At my age (75 years young) I need all the help I can get. HATS OFF TO HATSAN!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    Things I would have changed: I think the front sling holder should have been placed behind the lower weaver rail. With a bipod mounted, should you attempt to use the sling the bipod will dig in to your shoulder.

    What others should know: This rifle is indeed heavy after mounting of scope but it is well balanced and when shouldered you don't notice the weight. I have the 22 long and with the power adjustment and accuracy you can't complain unless you intend to hike several miles in the woods.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Steve from USA on 2016-06-15
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating

    Things I liked: I have the Gladius .22 long. It has the look of a real firearm. The accuracy is outstanding. Hitting dead center at 50 and 100 yards easily. The adjustable stock and cheek rest is pretty nice. I've had some other more expensive bull pups and this one has an ability to fit just about anyone unlike those more expensive bull pups. The power adjustment dial is a nice touch. Reminds me of my Condor. Comes with four pellet rotary clips. Don't have to buy more of them as they seem to be very well built. The weight is a bit more than other bull pups but the balance of this gun is good. It pulls up to a shooting position naturally and feels natural when aiming thanks to the adjustable stock. I've run several different pellets through this gun and so far this gun does not seem to be pellet fussy. The Crossman Premier .22 Hollow points shoot pretty good out of this gun. Great chipmunk killing pellet. The two most accurate are JSB Jumbo Exact 18.13 and JSB Match 13.73 . Hole in hole at 50yds

    Things I would have changed: As everyone knows.......Hatsan rifles are built like a tank. They are kind of heavy. You do get used to it. It would be nice to cut back about a pound or two on this gun. The ping is annoying. Typical Hatsan. I understand that adding a de-pinger or a regulator stops the ping.The ping is the loudest part of shooting this gun.

    What others should know: I recommend getting a fairly powerful quality scope. I have on this gun a Hawke Airmax 8x 32 x 50 SF AMX IR 13340. It is an excellent scope for this rifle as it can take advantage of the long range ability of this gun. My friends Cricket is lighter but costs $400 more and it is not any more accurate than the Gladius. I will be adding a de-pinger as that ping is kind of annoying. Right now, I feel that adding a regulator is not really necessary. Regulators are problematic and eventually wear out or break. I like the simplicity of the Gladius. Right now I am using a Hill Mark 4 pump to fill this gun. The Gladius comes with the fitting to fill it with a Hill pump. It is a work out but I like it! I would recommend a pump if you want to get into shape. I do plan on getting a small 4500 PSI carbon fiber tank for the times when carrying a pump around is not do able. 200 bar (3000 psi) is the limit on the air fill and that is easy with a Hill pump. So far I love this gun!

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Constantino from USA on 2016-06-05
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: Everything

    Things I would have changed: Could be alittle lighter.

    What others should know: Great bullpup, if you want a bullpup I highly recommend it.

     
  • 2.0 2.0

    3.0 3.0

    2.0 2.0

    By William from USA on 2016-06-04
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    1.01 rating

    Things I liked: Nice Tactical appearance and Power wheel. Lots of adjustability.

    Things I would have changed: Lighten the pup a couple pounds. Lighten the trigger pull down to 6 to 8 ounces. Didn't like the finger safety.

    What others should know: Our of the box the side lever action was very stiff and almost every magazine failed to index at least 2 shots out of 10. I did not find this particular pup very accurate at 20 yards. I usually can hold 3/8 size groups with many of my airguns at 20 yards but I struggled to keep the pellets in a 1" spot at 20 yards. Even after a good barrel cleaning with pull thru patches it still didn't help. I sent the Gladius back to Pyramyd and they graciously refunded my money.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Jeffrey from USA on 2016-06-04
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: My top priority for an air gun was accuracy and this gun fits the bill, it is a nail driver. Sighting it in at 35 yards, it was throwing 3/8" 5 shot groupings out of the box using JSB Diablo Match Exact Jumbo Heavy pellets using just the bipod (no stand). With a little dialing in of the trigger travel and pull, I was cutting pencil lead size weeds in half at 30 yards. Couldn't be happier with the accuracy. The built in silencer also makes this a relatively quiet gun.

    Things I would have changed: No real complaints. This is a heavy gun, it would be nice if it could be lightened a little without affecting the accuracy or features included with this gun. The only thing missing from the features is a regulator. One of the early online reviews indicated that a drop in regulator was in the works, can't wait for that.

    What others should know: Haven't tried any other pellets in the gun other than the JSB's. I don't know if I just got lucky or if it shoots other pellets this accurately.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Michael from USA on 2016-05-16
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: Ordered in .25 short. This thing is super quiet and very accurate. I have shot several 3/8" 5 shot groups at 50 yards with this gun using JSB 25.39 gr pellets. The gun is well balanced and feel great in your hands.

    Things I would have changed: The cheek piece has a little play when raised.

    What others should know: When I adjusted my trigger for less pull weight the sear didn't engage and I accidentally pulled too hard on the cocking lever and put a small bend in it. Everything still works fine just sticks out a little more than it use to.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Walter from USA on 2016-05-13
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: I have the 25 cal. long version. It is deadly accurate with JSB Exact Kings, and does well enough with Eun Jin 35's, which do fit the ammo clips. It looks massively destructive and would make a good prop for a near-future action movie. The action is smooth and sure out of the box, and I had only one failure to feed out of 500 initial shots. That was caused by a Benjamin pellet that became unseated in the clip because of the graphite lubricant on the pellet. It's as quiet as reviewers claim, and the ping isn't objectionable. While the trigger doesn't quite match that of the Marauder, it is still very good. Very easy to hit with in offhand position if you can take the weight. Fit and finish are very good. Everything worked as it was supposed to with no surprises.

    Things I would have changed: A lighter version would be nice, but we all know that Hatsan PCP's are on the heavy side. I knew what I was getting, so no complaints.

    What others should know: It will cause a stir whenever you open the case. Expect attention.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By allen from USA on 2016-05-07
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: This is my first pcp air gun and I am absolutely thrilled with the quality and accuracy of it. I am hitting one inch targets at 90 feet consistently. The body of the gun is very solid with no slop or plastic feel. There is all sorts of open rail to install accessories. The scope and mount is very solid and the view is crisp. Cocking the gun is very easy and you don't have to take the gun off of your shoulder between shots. I made 3 spinning targets 2 with 1/8 " steel and one with 1/16" steel. I am warping the 1/16" steel. This gun gets a five star rating from me.

    Things I would have changed: The case is flimsy at the latches once you have your scope on the gun and I thing having the bipod on the gun would make it worse yet. A little bit lighter on weight would have been nice.

    What others should know: You will be a bit shakey after you fill your gun with the handpump and will have to wait for a few minutes for your body to relax before shooting again. I would suggest getting an air tank. I've seen one video on you tube where this complaints about the safety having to be disengaged between each shot. I found it wasn't a big deal.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By aaron from USA on 2016-04-13
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating

    Things I liked: This rifle is very accurate. At 40 yards this thing will stack pellets. With a decent bi-pod shooting this rifle is a breeze.

    Things I would have changed: Its heavy. Mine set up with a bi-pod and scope is almost 13 pounds. Get a sling.

    What others should know: The weaver rail on top is not standard, use the 11mm.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Stanley from USA on 2016-03-19
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    4.52 ratings

    Things I liked: Hatsan finally installed a power adjustment on this bullpup, a welcome addition. I choose the 25 caliber long version.It has many great features , similar to my at 44 QE long in many ways , very accurate . I installed a Hawk tactical 6.5 x 20 scope with a one piece mount, it only took me about 8 rounds to sight in (impressive).Its really hard to beat these scopes if your budget allows you won't be disappointed. I looked at many other bullpups and picked this one because you get so much for your money, couldn't be happier . I personally would have a hard time paying more than a 1000.00 for an airgun , you could buy a real firearm for that .This fits the bill for me.

    Things I would have changed: So many others go on about the weight at 10 plus pounds without a scope( it is a handful .) Could it be made lighter ? Yes it could but you couldn't buy it for under a 1000.00 dollars. I have seen some bullpups that cost well over 2500.00 (DAM) for an airgun ? Really ? To make it lighter would take more effort and maybe use different materials thus making it more expensive.Does anyone know of a bullpup for under a thousand dollars that is lighter ? With these features? I doubt it . It is what it is take or leave it . Quit belly aching. Don't like it buy something else . I have two other Hatsans and there not light either. I hunt with mine , it is made to do just that, and i have a bipod on it to. With my scope it probably weighs close to 12 pounds easy. I don't mind the weight.

    What others should know: About 7 inches of the total length is devoted to the suppressor / moderator assembly and it works very well . Backyard friendly plus a power adjuster that can be dialed down to save air and get more shots.

  • 12 Next
Navigation