Date: 22/1/2021 4:14
0

Customer Reviews for Springfield Armory M1A

Average Customer Review

4.5 (34 reviews)

Create an online review   and share your thoughts with other customers

The most helpful favorable review

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:

Overall rating:5.0

Value for money:5.0

Accuracy:5.0

By Pineland from USA on 2020-11-03 17:04:58

Things I liked: Good indoor offhand practice for high power rifle matches

Things I would have changed: Make it easier to cock

The most helpful critical review

0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:

Overall rating:1.0

Value for money:1.0

Accuracy:1.0

By ronald from USA on 2020-11-03 17:26:40

Things I liked: nice looking

Things I would have changed: plastic gears in cocking lever broke second time i cocked it, now bear trap device will now release, stuck in down position, can not ship it back for return

What others should know: too much plastic in cocking lever device

Sort by:
  • 12 Next
  • Showitems
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Richard from USA on 2021-01-12
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: I love this rifle! Its weight is just like the Garrand I used to have . The open sights are really well done and the rifle is incredibly accurate.

    Things I would have changed: I doubt highly that they will ever build in a faux magazine so I took mine to my local gunsmith with an old M1a magazine and he did a beautiful job of mounting it to the stock - I've posted 4 images of the rifle and they are under review right now.

    What others should know: This is one hell of a rifle for 200.00. I plan on buying the 177 version and modify it as well.

     
  • 2.0 2.0

    2.0 2.0

    3.0 3.0

    By Rick from USA on 2020-12-27
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    1.01 rating

    Things I liked: Looks great in picture

    Things I would have changed: weight, sights, the plastic workings. power

    What others should know: if you want to punch paper with the lightest pellets offered this is for you, other than that just a wall hanging.as far as pest control more humane if you threw a stone.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Vinnie Austin from on 2020-12-24
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: The weight and feel. Unexpected good accuracy for a $200 pellet gun.

    Things I would have changed: I would add sling mounts. I added a little shine, depth and color to stock by rubbing it down with Kiwi black and brown shoe polish.

    What others should know: Use the cocking lever as intended using the bear trap release. Do not force the lever back in place.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    By dubre from USA on 2020-12-18
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Incredible steal for $200. Love the open sights.

    Things I would have changed: Should have use metal for the breech covering instead of plastic. It works though.

    What others should know: Got the .22 cal, and Im damn sure getting the .177.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    By Charles from USA on 2020-12-13
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: The look and feel of the rifle is just what I remember from shooting an M14 in basic training in 1967. Very accurate and has good power in .22cal. The cocking lever extension makes it much easier to cock the rifle....still takes a pretty good effort.

    Things I would have changed: Peep sight is hard to use with my old eyes. Even with the sight all the way down the rifle still shoots a little high at 20 yards.

    What others should know: I put a 4x32 scope on mine to see the target better.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Lisa from USA on 2020-12-11
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Got this on 12/02/2020 Really like the look and feel ! Shoots great ! My eyes are not what they use to be so I add a scope !

    Things I would have changed: I wish the top piece was steel and not plastic.

    What others should know: Get this little gun and have a ball with it

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Brian from USA on 2020-12-08
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Excellent rifle. Authentic and proper weight. Mine is .22. 18 ft lbs ME. Groups 1/2" at 10m with iron sights which rates it with my USAF Crosman 160, my Benjamin 312 and Sheridan. At 40 yds offhand, I can hit 8"x3", swinging bowling pic consistently. Single stage trigger is light and smooth, like Crosman 160, but no Rekord. Best pellet is JSB Jumbo Exact Dome followed by Superdome and Crosman Premier. Pellet friendly. Manual tells you to hold cocking lever while loading(I learned this the hard way with a Chinese gun 25 yrs ago). Has a lock to hold cocking lever while loading. Zeroed quickly despite plastic sights. Smooth and gentle firing cycle. Great plinker or trainer. Would make good hunter.

    Things I would have changed: Peep sight diopter too small. Easily remedied with 3/16" rattail jeweler file. Elevation adjustment is plastic and very sloppy, but at full bottom is 10m zero. Windage is crisp and quick. Overall length seems too long. Its longer than my real US M1 rifle. Flash suppressor seems too fat. Would like floor plate or fake magazine on bottom. My safety goes on by itself after shot is fired. Direction arrows on sight dials would be nice. Fore end is too fat, but this might be necessary to hide cocking lever. Authentic sling swivels would be nice but front swivel is impossible on underlever springer.

    What others should know: At 10m bench rest best pellet is JSB Exact Jumbo Dome shooting 1/2", 5 shot group. MV is about 750 for 18 ft lbs ME. Superdome and Crosman Premier domes are tied for second place at 3/4". The H&N Field Target Trophy with copper plating fared poorly at 1" and rather inconsistent velocities. Nearly all of my .22's favor the JSB pellet.

  • 3.0 3.0

    3.0 3.0

    By linh from USA on 2020-12-01
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: The wood stock is nice

    Things I would have changed: I like to collect air gun replicas, so was a bit disappointed as it's not a super accurate replica of the M1A. The stock is not the correct shape, and the entire upper part of the gun is plastic, some having visible seam and poor fit. Would be nice to have all metal parts.

    What others should know: This gun is made in China

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Steven from USA on 2020-11-28
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Brings back memories of the sixties when I was on active duty. Same feel of the M-14. This Marines first real rifle!

    Things I would have changed: It would be nice to have a magazine instead of just a single shot.

    What others should know: Excellent for a pump.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Steve from USA on 2020-11-22
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: I get a "Quality feel" when handling this replica Pellet rifle. The back yard friendly noise level is a must where I am.

    Things I would have changed: I'd like a little easier way of loading the pellet.

    What others should know: There are two destinct Clicks you must hear when bringing the underlever down to cock the gun. If you don't hear the second click, you'll have difficulty releasing the "Bear trap" without de-cocking the gun. Accuracy for me is 3/4" group at 50 feet w/occasional flyer (w/no scope). (also not pellet-pickey; ..JSB's best...)

     
  • 2.0 2.0

    2.0 2.0

    4.0 4.0

    By Christopher from USA on 2020-11-20
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Once you nestle behind the gun you are shooting an M1A until the pop instead of BOOM. Stock looks and feels great. A little beefier then the real deal but likely necessary for mechanical packaging Very easy to cock Quieter then I was expecting. Accurate although my gun shot WAY LEFT out of the box

    Things I would have changed: Interior mechanism and parts are EXTREMELY cheaply made. This would be an AMAZING gun if outsourced to somebody like Diana or Weihrauch and I would happily pay double or more for it.

    What others should know: This is my first Chinese air gun and my last. I LOVED shooting this thing even with the janky internals for the half a tin or so I ran through it, at which point the plastic cocking mechanism started shedding pieces and the trigger went wonky (probably sheered a pin). The reality is this is a fantastic replica that looks and feels great on the outside but the inside is an incredibly cheap, sea of bargain bin plastics. If this gun had only been reliable I would be tickled pink with it and could have easily overlooked the cringeworthy cocking stroke and mediocre trigger and plastic parts, because the gun is fun and accurate, but alas extremely poorly made. Contract this out to a reputable German airgun manufacturer, ditch the plastic, and charge $450-$500 and you would happily get my money. Until then, no more Chinese Airguns for me.

  • 4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Eugene from USA on 2020-11-20
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Very nice replica, very similar to the M14 that I qualified with back in 1970 during basic training. I've not shot it a lot yet but cocks easily enough that you don't really need the extension if you don't want to use it. The trigger was nothing special but not bad either. The weight was substantial but I doubt that I'd carry it in the field all day anyway. Certainly not disappointed with my purchase.

    Things I would have changed: It would be nice if they had put a faux magazine under the action to complete the realistic look. It was the first thing I, and I'm sure many others, noticed was missing. It would even be an easy fix as an add on if someone wanted to design one. A frame screwed right to the stock with a clip on magazine that could hold pellets etc.

     
  • 4.0 4.0

    3.0 3.0

    5.0 5.0

    By p2sk from USA on 2020-11-17
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Would have been 5 star except for the cheap, poorly made, (Plastic?) sights. Certainly not on par with the real wood stock and the accurate gun, 1st 2 shots grouped 1/2 inch at 10 yds.

    Things I would have changed: SIGHTS!

    What others should know: Pyramid Air takes FOREVER to credit your Bullseye Bucks!

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By leo from USA on 2020-11-07
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: It is a replica so I won't claim this rifle is too heavy, it's meant to be & after handling it for a while I can really appreciate the toughness of the troops that hauled this baby around the battlefields.That being said, I like everything about this rifle so it was worth the wait.Above all else, these are my favorite sights, they just seem to be the quickest & easiest to get on target with period!The loading port is not as generous as described so you will have to figure out the best way to load with your hands not mine. I have fairly small hands & it took me 3 sessions to figure out my most efficient method of loading.For some great shooting enjoyment, I strongly suggest getting yourself the crazy 8's self resetting metal target, you will really like this combination, they go really good together.Have fun, that's what it's all about!!!Oh, this rifle is quiet enough to shoot in my cellar even at night.

    Things I would have changed: Not A Thing!

    What others should know: At this point in time, with all these great replicas being put out, I think it's about time we get the iconic M1 Garand, the granddaddy of battle rifles!!!

  • 4.0 4.0

    4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    By william from USA on 2020-11-06
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    4.01 rating

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: the weight and style pretty much replicates the m1a

    Things I would have changed: the fore end stock is thicker than the original, , takes a little getting used to. the safety is opposite of the original

    What others should know: its a little difficult loading the pellet

  • 5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Chris from USA on 2020-11-06
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Realistic weight, very accurate, moderate cocking force needed. I'm very pleased with it

    Things I would have changed: Nothing material, I would try to move the chamber back where the actual gun chamber is located. Having it forward on the hang guard makes sense from an ascetic perspective but the additional height of the shroud by the chamber makes loading a little more difficult for people with bigger hands (like me) I would like if the plastic fake muzzle break was actually a functional moderator.

    What others should know: This is a great replica and a quality piece. Enough power for pest control in 22

     
  • 4.0 4.0

    4.0 4.0

    4.0 4.0

    By Gary from USA on 2020-11-06
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Fairly accurate, though I had to adjust the rear sight very far to the left, to dial it in. Good power. Design is close to a real M-!A. I have a few questions not covered in the owners manual. Should I contact you, or Springfield?

    Things I would have changed: Pay more attention to the mounting of rear sight, or make front sight adjustable. Make the users manual a little more descriptive as to features.

    What others should know: Weight is comparable to real M1A. Not for the weak.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    4.0 4.0

    By Kevin from USA on 2020-11-06
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: just-like-the-real-one-

    Things I would have changed: add-scope

    What others should know: heavy-like-real-one

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Thomas from USA on 2020-11-04
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Excellent replica. Very good price. Shoots fantastic

    Things I would have changed: Nothing

     
  • 1.0 1.0

    1.0 1.0

    1.0 1.0

    By ronald from USA on 2020-11-03
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: nice looking

    Things I would have changed: plastic gears in cocking lever broke second time i cocked it, now bear trap device will now release, stuck in down position, can not ship it back for return

    What others should know: too much plastic in cocking lever device

     
  • 12 Next
Navigation