Date: 5/8/2020 7:14
0

Customer Reviews for Crosman .22-Cal Steel

Average Customer Review

4.5 (128 reviews)
Crosman .22-Cal Steel
Pre-order

Out of Stock

Create an online review   and share your thoughts with other customers

The most helpful favorable review

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful:

Overall rating:5.0

Value for money:5.0

By Paul from USA on 2017-03-08 19:14:06

Things I liked: Very easy to install and a great upgrade for the 2240! Would advise all to install on there 2240. Makes mounting a red dot or scope easy and very secure.

Things I would have changed: Nothing.

What others should know: Get the upgrade you will not regret the purchase. High quality and will make the accuracy of the gun boom.

The most helpful critical review

0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:

Overall rating:1.0

Value for money:3.0

By Oliver from USA on 2016-03-12 18:37:13

Things I liked: nice and solid steel breech. installs easily

Things I would have changed: 11mm dovetail measures 10.70mm width. Does not allow any of my scope mounts to clamp to it. I'm going to try pop can shimming.

Sort by:
  • 123 ... 67 Next
  • Showitems
  • 3.0 3.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Jerry from USA on 2020-05-08
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Very easy installation. With the addition of a scope I shoot 1 inch groups at 20 yards.

    Things I would have changed: The counter bore where the breech screw goes, is bored too deep. This allows the pellet to drop down just enough to catch the sharp edge and prevent further advance. You can push down on the back of the pellet and then go forward again. So it works, just not nearly as smooth as the plastic one I removed. I got tired of this so I enacted a permanent fix by making a shim to go underneath the head of the screw. When the breech screw is torqued back into place, it raised the head of the screw enough so it works properly. Making the shim is not easy. I used thick fiber gasket material. I made my own hollow punch to get the correct diameter. I have a mini lathe so it was easy for me, but it might be done without, but would be very difficult. Another solution I read here was to use candle wax. I did this, and it did work, but for how long would be the question. I wish they would provide a shim if this is a known problem. But so many positive reviews makes me wonder if mine was od

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Jim from USA on 2020-05-05
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Steel instead of plastic, built in dovetail rail mount, increase in velocity. Includes needed wrenches to make the part swap.

    Things I would have changed: Only 1 little thing.. the instructions are ratty.. but it's easy to figure out and do. Still, for those not so inclined mechanically, they could be more clear.

    What others should know: When you do the swap, go ahead and go with a boss valve, stronger hammer spring and longer barrel! I did this today on my unfired 2240, and wow, what a difference over my buddies 2240. Waiting on my dovetail to picatiny rail to arrive, then the bushy tailed tree rat slaughter will begin!

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By B Price on 2020-04-27
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: I ordered this item so I could put a red dot scope on my Dianna Chaser pistol, works great

    Things I would have changed: Nothing

    What others should know: No

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Russell from USA on 2020-03-15
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Relatively easy to install. Dove tail for red dot or scope. Much improved accuracy and velocity when installed on Crosman 2240.

    Things I would have changed: Nothing.

    What others should know: This upgrade is the single most important part to increase velocity in the Crosman 2240. In my gun, it boosted velocity by 60 FPS. Consider purchasing the 14.6 inch barrel too. Together I achieved a 90 FPS increase in velocity with much improved accuracy. This makes an average gun into a great gun !

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Scott from USA on 2020-02-29
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Kit really makes the 2240 a spectacular firearm. It really solidifies the barrel mounting and gives space for a red dot or other type of optic with dovetail capability. I put an inexpensive Daisy Red dot on the one I mounted for my dad and with his aging eyes he really likes it. 8)

    Things I would have changed: Would be nice if they added a spring powered detent on the handle position. If you tilt the gun, the weight of the handle can open the bolt on you.

    What others should know: Be careful with your gas seal. It's the hardest part of the installation, getting it in square and not hitting the edges of it.

     
  • 4.0 4.0

    4.0 4.0

    By george from USA on 2020-01-26
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: very well made nice dovetail made into bolt action

    Things I would have changed: instuctions were printed to small an blurred an a extra breech screw should have come with kit due to the orginal rounding out upon removing

    What others should know: well made just needs better instructions an extra allen head screw

     
  • 2.0 2.0

    2.0 2.0

    By Anthony from USA on 2020-01-15
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: not a thing

    Things I would have changed: the finish on the one i received was horrible, the screw hole in the bolt area was chamfered too deep causing pellets to nose dive in it creating a jam, the bolt handle broke off trying to seat a pellet, so basically my backpacker is hosed

    What others should know: look it over carefully, i am sure mine was a fluke, but now i have a non working gun

     
  • 4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Richard Chalmers on 2020-01-13
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: Looks good and fits on my pistol nice.

    Things I would have changed: It was pretty dinged up. I took a file to it and cleaned it up.

    What others should know: No.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    3.0 3.0

    By James from USA on 2019-12-08
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Wish I would of know abut these a long time ago .

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By robert from USA on 2019-11-22
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Great quality at a good price

    Things I would have changed: Nothing

    What others should know: Works as well as breeches costing twice as much.

     
  • 4.0 4.0

    4.0 4.0

    By Randall from USA on 2019-10-23
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.02 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Everything from the lady I spoke to at Pyramid Air to the prompt shipment of this steel breach I find very professional. The product its self is very good and is doing just as advertised.

    Things I would have changed: Installation instructions were for me, a little hard to follow. Also not as detailed as I needed to do the job. The tiny breach seal screw would do better if it was to be in the form of a Philips screw. Respectfully....

    What others should know: Installation of the steel breach requires you to take your time. DO NOT torque down on the tiny breach seal screw or it will strip. Also take care to line up the hole in the bottom of the barrel with the air port on the top of the breach. These are errors made by me causing unnecessary grieve that was not the fault of the product.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Marcelo from USA on 2019-08-23
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: The breech kit came with everything necessary including the required sizes of hex keys. Fit and finish was flawless. Delivery was on time.

    Things I would have changed: I don't like that the screw in the breech that takes the tiny hex key is now recessed, and the head of the pellet drops in it unless you are careful that it not. I understand this is a know issue, and I was advised I might want to drop a bit of melted candle wax in there and sculpt it so it fills the gap. I might try it.

    What others should know: You air gunners know that PA is the best.

     
  • 4.0 4.0

    4.0 4.0

    By Lou from USA on 2019-08-05
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Makes the gun more accurate and robust. A must for those mounting quality sights/optics.

    Things I would have changed: Offer this in stainless steel.

     
  • 4.0 4.0

    4.0 4.0

    By Treborjm87 from USA on 2019-07-28
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: I really like the metal breech. I really feel like the steel provides a better foundation for accuracy.

    What others should know: The plug on the end will not go in to the breech without some modification.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    By Neil from USA on 2019-07-16
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Durable, easy to install. Gives the end user the option of a scope or dot sight for GREATLY increased accuracy. Also allows a few extra pumps when needed.

    Things I would have changed: Crosman, just throw away the plastic breech! The small open style sight is useless for anything over 8yds. Make this a part of the gun from the start. And make the brass bolt a part of the steel breech.

    What others should know: Youtube has COUNTLESS videos on installing this breech, use them. BSA's dot sight works great on my 1377 and 1322 and my Backpacker. At 15 yds I can get most pellets to shoot one hole groups.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Charles from USA on 2019-07-09
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Great quality breach kit. This is a significant improvement over the breach that comes with the gun, and the MIM sight is a good match

    Things I would have changed: Some step-by-step instructions could have helped, but I was able to get the instructions from others on Youtube. Also, I wish Pyramid would sell a match sear, as the trigger pull is about 4.25 lbs on my Lyman gauge.

    What others should know: If you want consistency and decent quality, buy this to go with your Crosman 2240 or 2260. I bought one for my 2240, and waited to see the results before obtaining one for my 2260, which I intend to do right after I post this. There is something nice about a CO2 gun that is akin to the consistency of a single stroke airgun. I would advise new shooters of airguns to avoid the multi-pump type. Either go CO2 or single pump and you won't be sorry.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By cody from USA on 2019-06-04
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.02 ratings

    Things I liked: Improves accuracy. A needed upgrade over plastic breech.

    Things I would have changed: Nothing

    What others should know: Improves accuracy of crosman 1322. Makes the gun feel more solid. Worth the extra money for the upgrade. don't waste money paying to have it installed it's very easy to install do it yourself it even comes with the proper Allen wrenches.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Michael from USA on 2019-05-31
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.02 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: I am extremely satisfied! I don't normally buy after market parts but I don't like plastic parts so I ordered this breech kit just for the heck of it. When it arrived I was impressed with the materials, finish and workmanship. The kit installed fast and easily and now my new pistol feels like it will work well for a ling time. (It also looks cooler!)

    Things I would have changed: I would include a small amount of thread lock for the bolt handle.

    What others should know: The directions included were a little hard to read because they are about 100th generation of a copy of a copy of a dot matrix pint out. I went to the "U Tube University" and found installation videos that made it more clear.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    By James from USA on 2019-05-07
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.02 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Probably the most beneficial upgrade you can make to the basic 2240. You'll need this if you want to mount better sights, including scopes and red dot sights.

    Things I would have changed: Nothing.

    What others should know: I paid $25 to have this breech installed at Pyramid Air. Now that I've disassembled and reassembled 2240s a few times I wouldn't pay for the installation. It's really not that hard and there are a couple of good videos on the internet to guide you in the process.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By bill from USA on 2019-05-05
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: This brings new life to my old pellet gun, so much better then the plastic that comes stock on it. Perfect for but thats to be expected being that it is a oem part.

    Things I would have changed: Nothing

    What others should know: If you have the plastic breech just upgrade with the steel breech you will not be disappointed and it is easy to install.

     
  • 123 ... 67 Next
Navigation