Date: 19/9/2017 10:22
0

Benjamin 392 pump air rifle reviews - page 1

Add to Cart

In-stock

Create an online review   and share your thoughts with other customers

The most helpful favorable review

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful:

Overall rating:5.0

Value for money:5.0

Accuracy:5.0

By Stephen from USA on 2014-12-29 22:17:47

Things I liked: Buying the Benjamin 392 is like buying a working piece of history. As I read the posts of others on this site, it is very clear that nostalgia is driving the sales of the 392 and 397. I never had a pellet gun this nice, but enjoyed plinking with my old Daisy lever action BB gun in the late 50s and early 60s. When I opened the box and took out my Benjamin, it was love at first sight, what with the classic design and real wood stock and for-end. After installing and zeroing the Williams 64 sight, the gun proved to be highly accurate, shooting the core out of the bulls eye at 24 feet, and consistently hitting the innermost circle of the target. I had none of the troubles some reviewers had with their peep sights due to insufficient adjustment downward for elevation. I had to raise my peep sight four click marks and a nudge to the right and I was zeroed. Heaven help the rat that passes through my back yard. This gun is so much fun. I would give it seven stars, but five was the limit!

Things I would have changed: The box staples in the gun carton were punched in but not closed. This caused some cosmetic damage to the wood for-end. I cleaned it up with a dark brown furniture stick, and used a favorite polish to add some luster and sheen to the wood stock and for-end. I don't know why Crosman does not engrave the word "Benjamin" on the barrel, or add the words "Made in USA." These are points that were important for me in passing over the German, Turkish, and other foreign manufacturers.

What others should know: I am a left-handed shooter, but the right-handed bolt was no game breaker at all. I pump the gun with both arms, point the muzzle safely to the right, open the bolt with my left hand, insert the pellet near the breech with my right hand, close the bolt with my left hand, adjust the safety with my right hand, and I am ready for business. Also, letting the bolt physically insert the pellet in the breech means much less handling of the lead pellet by you, which can only be a good thing. I had excellent success with the Crosman 14.3 grain Premiere Magnum domed pellets, and they are about three bucks cheaper at Pyramid than similar stuff at my local sporting goods stores!

The most helpful critical review

1 of 2 people found the following review helpful:

Overall rating:1.0

Value for money:1.0

Accuracy:1.0

By mark from USA on 2016-11-22 14:47:15

Things I liked: There was actually nothing I liked about the rifle. I've had several of the "old" benjamins before Crosman took them over and there is no comparison in quality.

Things I would have changed: Well, if I could change it, I would walk through the Crosman plant and shake some pride into the production workers and clean house with the supervision/production managers and quality folks....they need to go!

What others should know: Here's what you need to know: If you purchase a Benjamin 392 or 397, what you will most likely get is a sub-standard product that is far surpassed by the air rifles produced overseas and you know where I mean. The quality issues with the one I received were as follows: 1. The front blade sight was so canted to the left I ran out of windage adjustment to sight in at even 10 yards. Of course these are soldered on so there is no fixing that. 2. The inletting for the action allowed the trigger group to not sit even close to the bottom of the stock...trigger group was about 3/8" from being flush with the bottom of the stock. 3. Inside the compression tube was dirty, greasy gunk from the manufacturing process. Imagine that getting pumped into the valve and allowing the check valve and exhaust valve to not seat properly. So, I called Pyramyd Air and they made it right so this is in no way a review of them, but rather of Crosman. Ended up with a 397 because a decent 392 couldn't be found.

Sort by:
  • 123 ... 78 Next
  • Showitems
  • 3.0 3.0

    2.0 2.0

    By Karl from USA on 2017-07-28
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: It says Benjamin on it and is made of metal and wood.

    Things I would have changed: I would fire the people who finished the wood. There is a thumb sized spot on mine where during finish someone set it down or grabbed it and didn't redo it. I have a finishing department in my cabinetry shop so I know a thing or two. They also don't bother sanding some areas and it shows. The pump arm was sanded so sloppily it is slanted off to one side and fitted so poorly the arm does not line up with the stock. About a 1/4'' to the side and about a 1/4'' too deep. Also they pin the pump arm after they finish it so those two holes on the side of the arm have raw wood with no stain. So many simple things could be done to make these rifles awesome but it takes someone with some passion putting them together.

    What others should know: No pride seems to have been taken in producing this air rifle. The box it comes in says "Up to 800 fps" But the site has it around six hundred and something.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Terry from USA on 2017-07-08
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: I mounted a cheap scope on it and I am amazed how accurate a $170.00 gun shoots.

    Things I would have changed: Nothing.

    What others should know: Can't go wrong buying this one. It will even build your pec muscles if you shoot it everyday. Fun gun.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Statler from USA on 2017-06-06
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: This gun is super light and very accurate I bought the Williams peep sight put it on and shot an inch group first five shots from 25 yards..I'm consistently hitting Eurasian doves at 40-60 yards with 14.3 crosman premier domed

    Things I would have changed: Change the plastic to metal and a better trigger

    What others should know: Buy the peep sight well worth 30 bucks

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By desmobob from USA on 2017-05-20
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Nice looking, excellent accuracy, surprising power, lightweight, nice balance, and a great value. It's a rifle that has been around for a long time, and for good reason.

    Things I would have changed: I had to use some lacquer thinner and clean out the oversprayed black paint inside the muzzle that was initially affecting accuracy. The trigger is pretty horrible but it doesn't seem to hurt accuracy much.

    What others should know: The Williams 64 peep sight is a wonderful addition to this rifle. It adds aiming precision and also allows older eyes to aim well without needing a scope. I'm a tall guy and I usually add a slip-on rubber recoil pad to my rifles to get another 1"+ of length of pull. A small size Allen recoil pads fits nicely and can be found for less than ten bucks.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Q from USA on 2017-05-08
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: All metal and wood except for trigger guard, accurate, easy to disassemble and modify

    Things I would have changed: The rear sight is mounted in such a way that it puts stress between the barrel and pump tube and is known to cause barrel separation after a while (usually years and years but still could be redesigned easily)

    What others should know: Unscrew the valve and wrap a lot of Teflon tape around the threads and screw it back together but not all the way, if you did it right you should feel the pump cup mate up to the valve when the pump arm is an inch or two from closing completely. I went from shooting CPHP at about 640 fps at 8 pumps to now shooting a little over 700 fps average at 8 pumps with that modification alone. Also look up the double spring mod inside the valve, your first few pumps will be more efficient

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By duane from USA on 2017-04-12
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: I just gave 5 stars to the venturi scope mount this thing is a tack driver. I love the 392!

    Things I would have changed: Nothing!

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Daniel from USA on 2017-03-12
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Classic gun. Accuracy. Beautiful.

    Things I would have changed: Nothing.

    What others should know: This is one of my favorite air guns. This is a quality gun with great accuracy. Pumping it is kind of a drag but it can be pumped for hours at a time while hunting.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Dustin from USA on 2017-02-28
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: This is the best survival rifle ever; it very accurate, light weight, solid, wielding, function great in cold weather, leave it pumped up for weeks on end & ready to fire at a moment's noticed, I luv this gun!

    Things I would have changed: I drilled holes under the butt stock cap for ammunition & water proof matches making it more versatile in the bush, so I wish companies would make hollow butt stocks for ammunition & storage.

    What others should know: Its the best!!

     
  • 4.0 4.0

    4.0 4.0

    4.0 4.0

    By Michael from USA on 2017-02-10
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Lightweight. Short carbine like length. Variable velocity with pumping. I usually pump 5 for 392 and 4 for 397. That amount give good accuracy

    Things I would have changed: Paint overspray in barrel. Somewhat heavy trigger

    What others should know: I replaced rear sight with Williams peep. Easy to install, on target with few adjustments. No filing needed. Rustoleum flat black nearly matches paint if scuffed

     
  • 4.0 4.0

    4.0 4.0

    4.0 4.0

    By Michael from USA on 2017-02-10
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Wood and metal feel. Fairly accurate with Crosman hollow point , and JSB diablo exact dome pellets. True for my 392 and 397

    Things I would have changed: I put a Williams peep on my 392 and 397. Works better for me than the standard rear sight. Aperature of peep seems large to me,but is working ok.(would have prefered smaller) I did have to spend 20 min with a Que tip an acetone to clean paint from the inside of the barrel. For $160 why does crosman get paint inside the barrel?? Trigger is somewhat heavy. Heavier than I remember from my Ben 342 from the 1970's

    What others should know: When tapping off the rear sights(to install Williams peep)my 4 yeay old 397 went ok. My newer 392(had thinker paint on the barrel and receiver ) and was more difficult. I scuffed up the top of the barrel in a few places. Touched up with Rustoleum flat black paint. Not a perfect match but close

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By randy from USA on 2017-01-17
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Like many other reviewers this was similar to the gun I had as a kid, my Dad had the silver streak and I had the blue streak. Some great memories hunting cotton tails and doves, quail and pheasants with these guns. I also currently have several of the break barrel designs by Gamo and Beeman. These 392 Benjamin's seem like a very high quality gun. Even better than my old Sheridan. I still have an old 1974 Sheridan that fell off of a shelf from one of our Calif earthquakes but still operates. This Benjamin is a hard hitting gun & accurate too. I like the extra knock down power of the 22 cal. I now wished I wud have ordered the scope version as my eyesight is lacking. So I will now have to order the scope and special brackets. I didn't need this gun, but I wanted it, and I will enjoy it. I'm not shooting my supper anymore, but plinking targets is fun. I say to buy one, you will luv it.

    Things I would have changed: The hardwood stock is beautiful, but kind of heavy and I'm worried about scratches and such. I wonder how a plastic stock wud do? I'm going to have to buy a case to protect the wood finish.

    What others should know: I luv how there is absolutely no recoil. I was shocked when I first shot a break barrel. Loud as all get out and some recoil. I also have several Co2 powered airguns. At some point I may jump to a pre filled tank set up and a larger bore. I have several firearms that are much less expensive, but I somehow enjoy the old school technology of using compressed air to fire a projectile.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    By Paul from USA on 2017-01-03
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: The stock is more comfortable than the original Sheridan style. Modern version of a classic air rifle. In a common caliber, you can get pellets anywhere. Good quality of materials, better than most air rifles being made today. Light weight. Decent power.

    Things I would have changed: Mounting a scope would be nice but with this design it won't work for me. I will just enjoy it for what it is. Maybe I will add a peep sight in the future..

    What others should know: Accuracy with iron sights is as good as I can do with any other air rifle using only iron sights .Accuracy is better than many air rifles than I shoot with iron sights.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Mark from USA on 2016-12-19
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Been wanting this gun for years. Finally got one! I am totally satisfied with it. I know it will last, because it is a quality product. Accurate, fun to shoot, easy to pump, reliable.

    Things I would have changed: I installed a Williams peep sight, now i can hit whatever I see in range!

    What others should know: Keep it lubricated and it will last a lifetime.

     
  • 4.0 4.0

    4.0 4.0

    4.0 4.0

    By thomas from USA on 2016-12-03
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: A well made american classic, over the years some manufacturers drifted away from quality, but not benjamin, Good power and decent accuracy.

    Things I would have changed: Only manufacturer that uses brass barrel, not sure why, would steel be better?

    What others should know: A little difficult to pump compared to crossman guns,

     
  • 1.0 1.0

    1.0 1.0

    1.0 1.0

    By mark from USA on 2016-11-22
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    3.02 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: There was actually nothing I liked about the rifle. I've had several of the "old" benjamins before Crosman took them over and there is no comparison in quality.

    Things I would have changed: Well, if I could change it, I would walk through the Crosman plant and shake some pride into the production workers and clean house with the supervision/production managers and quality folks....they need to go!

    What others should know: Here's what you need to know: If you purchase a Benjamin 392 or 397, what you will most likely get is a sub-standard product that is far surpassed by the air rifles produced overseas and you know where I mean. The quality issues with the one I received were as follows: 1. The front blade sight was so canted to the left I ran out of windage adjustment to sight in at even 10 yards. Of course these are soldered on so there is no fixing that. 2. The inletting for the action allowed the trigger group to not sit even close to the bottom of the stock...trigger group was about 3/8" from being flush with the bottom of the stock. 3. Inside the compression tube was dirty, greasy gunk from the manufacturing process. Imagine that getting pumped into the valve and allowing the check valve and exhaust valve to not seat properly. So, I called Pyramyd Air and they made it right so this is in no way a review of them, but rather of Crosman. Ended up with a 397 because a decent 392 couldn't be found.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Paul from USA on 2016-10-04
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.03 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Very accurate, solid sturdy construction, well balanced

    Things I would have changed: Make it easier to pump...I know it's possible, the Daisy 880 & 901 are both relatively easy to pump and don't get more difficult for each pump

    What others should know: The 10 for 10 deal offered by Pyramyd Air is well worth the extra $10, I knew I was not receiving a lemon or a new gun with any defects. I had purchased the same gun from another online store a few weeks prior and it was defective, the POI (point of impact) at 5 meters was over 1 1/2" to the right of center. With the 10 for 10 tests, that defective gun never would've passed inspection.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Joseph from USA on 2016-09-26
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    3.03 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Great product!

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Cliff from USA on 2016-09-08
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    3.02 ratings

    Things I liked: This gun is a classic it's very nice

    Things I would have changed: The rear sight is hard to adjust for windage

    What others should know: If you don't have one you might want to consider one I choose the 392 Benjamin over my marader for plinking because the marader is heavy and don't have open sights

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By john from USA on 2016-06-24
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    2.01 rating

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: good old pump up air rifle accuracy and I got the raccoon in my house

    Things I would have changed: not a thing

     
  • 3.0 3.0

    4.0 4.0

    2.0 2.0

    By Michael from USA on 2016-06-17
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: I was impressed by the wood stock and the overall fit and finish.

    Things I would have changed: The trigger and plastic trigger guard.

    What others should know: I really like the quality of the wood stock and the overall look and feel of the gun. I'm still working on getting the gun sighted in and finding the best pellets to shoot.

     
  • 123 ... 78 Next
Navigation