Date: 19/9/2018 15:40
0

Benjamin 392 pump air rifle reviews - page 1

Average Customer Review

4.5 (179 reviews)
Add to Cart

In-stock

Create an online review   and share your thoughts with other customers

The most helpful favorable review

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful:

Overall rating:5.0

Value for money:5.0

Accuracy:5.0

By Stephen from USA on 2014-12-29 22:17:47

Things I liked: Buying the Benjamin 392 is like buying a working piece of history. As I read the posts of others on this site, it is very clear that nostalgia is driving the sales of the 392 and 397. I never had a pellet gun this nice, but enjoyed plinking with my old Daisy lever action BB gun in the late 50s and early 60s. When I opened the box and took out my Benjamin, it was love at first sight, what with the classic design and real wood stock and for-end. After installing and zeroing the Williams 64 sight, the gun proved to be highly accurate, shooting the core out of the bulls eye at 24 feet, and consistently hitting the innermost circle of the target. I had none of the troubles some reviewers had with their peep sights due to insufficient adjustment downward for elevation. I had to raise my peep sight four click marks and a nudge to the right and I was zeroed. Heaven help the rat that passes through my back yard. This gun is so much fun. I would give it seven stars, but five was the limit!

Things I would have changed: The box staples in the gun carton were punched in but not closed. This caused some cosmetic damage to the wood for-end. I cleaned it up with a dark brown furniture stick, and used a favorite polish to add some luster and sheen to the wood stock and for-end. I don't know why Crosman does not engrave the word "Benjamin" on the barrel, or add the words "Made in USA." These are points that were important for me in passing over the German, Turkish, and other foreign manufacturers.

What others should know: I am a left-handed shooter, but the right-handed bolt was no game breaker at all. I pump the gun with both arms, point the muzzle safely to the right, open the bolt with my left hand, insert the pellet near the breech with my right hand, close the bolt with my left hand, adjust the safety with my right hand, and I am ready for business. Also, letting the bolt physically insert the pellet in the breech means much less handling of the lead pellet by you, which can only be a good thing. I had excellent success with the Crosman 14.3 grain Premiere Magnum domed pellets, and they are about three bucks cheaper at Pyramid than similar stuff at my local sporting goods stores!

The most helpful critical review

1 of 2 people found the following review helpful:

Overall rating:1.0

Value for money:1.0

Accuracy:1.0

By mark from USA on 2016-11-22 14:47:15

Things I liked: There was actually nothing I liked about the rifle. I've had several of the "old" benjamins before Crosman took them over and there is no comparison in quality.

Things I would have changed: Well, if I could change it, I would walk through the Crosman plant and shake some pride into the production workers and clean house with the supervision/production managers and quality folks....they need to go!

What others should know: Here's what you need to know: If you purchase a Benjamin 392 or 397, what you will most likely get is a sub-standard product that is far surpassed by the air rifles produced overseas and you know where I mean. The quality issues with the one I received were as follows: 1. The front blade sight was so canted to the left I ran out of windage adjustment to sight in at even 10 yards. Of course these are soldered on so there is no fixing that. 2. The inletting for the action allowed the trigger group to not sit even close to the bottom of the stock...trigger group was about 3/8" from being flush with the bottom of the stock. 3. Inside the compression tube was dirty, greasy gunk from the manufacturing process. Imagine that getting pumped into the valve and allowing the check valve and exhaust valve to not seat properly. So, I called Pyramyd Air and they made it right so this is in no way a review of them, but rather of Crosman. Ended up with a 397 because a decent 392 couldn't be found.

Sort by:
  • 123 ... 89 Next
  • Showitems
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Terrance from USA on 2018-09-15
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Solid construction. Proven design My 3rd Rifle now. My oldest is over 50 years old and is a Sheridan blue streek. My second was a silver streak in .117 About 15 years old. My latest is in .22. Love it ... I also have the pump up pistol in .22. No CO2. Or precharging. Adjusting the pumps for your specific shot

    Things I would have changed: I would include the scope mount with a rifle purchase

     
  • 4.0 4.0

    4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    By George from USA on 2018-09-11
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Works like old one from 1950's.

    Things I would have changed: Open sights suck on the weapon. Neither straight military sights nor "old" just fine sight of 1950's. Highly recommend the peep sight be purchased with it.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    By Vance from USA on 2018-09-08
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: Very good quality...solid all the way around.

    Things I would have changed: Actually, already done...and that was replacing the rear sight with a Williams 5D peep sight. Very much improved sight picture and accuracy.

    What others should know: One thing I haven't done yet, and according to many who have reviewed this air gun, is remove the paint at the muzzle. I've had it about a week and I am still getting used to it. I got it for simple plinking, target shooting, and the occasional rat. I'm confident that if I shot at a rat now, I'd probably hit it, but, I still need to work on my grouping. I'm only shooting at fifteen yards, and as time goes along, I'll extend that out. I've wanted one of these for several years, so I finally scratched that itch. I realize that there might be better choices for a casual plinker, in that pumping the 392 up does take some effort for one shot, but I do have the advantage of variable power. There is a TON of information out there on the World Wide Web on this gun, and that's been very helpful. One of the things guys tend to whine about is the trigger. I gotta tell ya, mine is just fine out of the box! Crisp, clean, and relatively light. I might polish it a bit, but that's it!

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By John C from USA on 2018-08-30
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: Nice feel, the wood is solid. Overall weight for me is just right. Easy to shoot, for my use, at 2 pumps, it takes out wasps nests with out damaging my homes siding.

    Things I would have changed: A better built scope mounting system.

    What others should know: I love to tinker, there are some fun mods can be done if your willing to try. Added a strip of the soft side of Velcro under the barrel. It pads the "clacking" sound as you pump.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Martin from USA on 2018-08-15
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: I purchased my Benjamin 392 in 1988 after my Sheridan Blue Streak developed an internal leak. As a long time avid air-gunner I felt the push to have a multi-pump air rifle on hand. After examining the nany options-which at the time were nowhere near what we gsve available these days- the Benjamin model 392 seemed to fit both my needs and budget. I use the rifle regularly for front and backyard pest control. Everything from gophers to foxes and raccoons are easily handled by the model 392 with its variable power based on the number of pumps I leverage in, the rifle has not given me a moments trouble since purchasing it, actually seemed to improve with use for several years. This purchase was made before the advent of readily available PCP air rifles. At the time I purchased it one of my main criteria was power factor and the 392 was near the top in that regard at the time. Even though I now own quite s few different PCP air rifles my Benjy still remains my favorite go to air rifle.

    Things I would have changed: The stock, though made of high quality wood, is clunky and quite a bit oversized. I wish it had a montecarlo style buttstick and a slimmer foreend. I also wish it was much quieter when actuating the pumping mechanism. A method of easily attaching a telescopic sight to the receiver without possibly damaging the rifle wokld also be nice

    What others should know: I would definitely recommend the purchase the Benjamin model 392 to anyone looking fir a well made, quality air rifle to dispatch the occasional pesky squirrel, rodent or smaller wild dogs. It is very low maintenance, requires nothing extra to keep it going other than a small drop of silicon oil once in a while- no gas cartridges needed,ever. A great choice for inclusion in their SHTF gear.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Justin Hutcheson on 2018-08-15
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: This rifle looks nice. I love the wood stock and pump handle. As far as I can tell the whole rifle is made of metal including the trigger assembly. Brass barrels. It shoots incredibly flat out to 40 yards. Im hitting 2 inch targets at 40 yards just with the sights. It destroys cans. I believe it to be more than capable of taking down small to medium sized game. It's simple construction and it works great. Stock removes very easily.

    Things I would have changed: Nothing. I love it as is.

    What others should know: The gun is moderately hard to pump but not too bad. Personally I will probably never put a scope on it. I'm getting great range and accuracy just with the sights. I might get the recommended peep sight, but its not necessary to get great shots. I absolutely love this rifle. Great survival gun. Mine loves the Crosman Premier Hollow Points. This rifle is well made and will stay in my family for generations.

     
  • 4.0 4.0

    4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Ron from USA on 2018-07-13
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: well made gun. they shoot great and lots of fun to shoot!

    Things I would have changed: nothing.

    What others should know: young shooters might have trouble pumping this air rifle . when I was boy of ten years old I had a Benjurman .177 CAL. air rifle , I had to put the butt stock between my legs to hold it while I pumped it until I was older then I could hole the rifle with my hands then pump the gun without using the between the legs thing.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Craig from USA on 2018-04-22
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: Just received my 392PA and Williams peep. It took a couple weeks since I gotta get mine shipped to my friend in a free state and he only comes down once or twice a month. Anyways, after inspection, lube and about a hunderfifty shots, the rifle not only meets my expectations, but my intimate recollection of its classic predecessors. Incredibly accurate with the peep & common crosman hollow points. I've yet to pump it more than 5 times because to me, for all practical purposes, it's a 15 to 20 yard rifle - but what a 15 -20 yd rifle it is. It's my third rifle from Pyramyd and probably my last... Well, maybe one more, but then really I'm done... Don't hold me to that tho. Nothing but pleased with all of them. So much in fact, I like to kid the PA in the 392PA stands for Pyramyd Air.

    Things I would have changed: Don't get me wrong as I've recently been spoiled completely rotten on RWS T06. The 392 trigger's got a nice predictable snap with no long drag or what I'd call "heavy" pull, but still, I can't help thinking if crosman invested a little r&d on the trigger pull (dare I say their triggers in general), in every other aspect this rifle would shoot and feel as virtually indistinguishable from the pristine hermetically sealed 1963 Blue Streak it'll stunt double for as I ever hoped it would.

    What others should know: It wouldn't pierce a tin can but I remember killing rabbit and squirrel at 10 yds with my $11 Daisy 87/70 Safari. So trust, 5 pumps'll hunt easy out to 20 yards. In my recollection, these pumpers lasted forever if ya never stressed them. Virtually everyone I knew who broke the fore end, got barrel separation or blew the seals couldn't resist the irresistible temptation to "hey, let's pump it up to twenty and see what it'll do.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Jeff from USA on 2018-04-17
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Nice old school powerful pump!

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Kenneth from USA on 2018-04-14
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: what I ordered

    Things I would have changed: realistically, nothing.

    What others should know: great place to buy from.

     
  • 2.0 2.0

    2.0 2.0

    2.0 2.0

    By Joseph from USA on 2018-04-13
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Not much. Riffle was never assembled at the factory. Required a trip to the hardware store for parts. Very poor quality control.

    Things I would have changed: Riffle should have been checked before it was shipped.

    What others should know: Pyramid Air continues to go down hill. This would have never happened five years ago.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Rick from USA on 2018-04-06
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Bought this to shoot problem muskrats residing and digging in my lake property. Accurate enough for that purpose right out of the box once I got used to the gun. I'm a big guy and it is kind of hard to pump, but that's OK. Overall good quality.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Ivan from USA on 2018-03-02
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Looks, fun, Well built, spend. It feels so Solid, and shoots so good. It is beautyful.

    Things I would have changed: A little overprice, and the Wood from different sections, have different tones. Do not have a uniform shade. Even so, it is just beautyful. I love ir. Definetely, not a toy or for kids.

    What others should know: If you find a refurbished one, is cheaper. Buy it. This is a little shotgun Type rifle. Buy, it is so fun to use. Just buy it. You will love it. It is very hard to pump.

     
  • 4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Craig from USA on 2018-02-20
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    3.01 rating

    Things I liked: It's classic stubby profile is iconic as the schwinn stingray. What's not to like?

    Things I would have changed: I gotta wonder in this day of 1200fps, if instead of yet another redundant addition to the already brimming cornucopia of mile long break barrels, they'd revamp the chamber under barrel design of ol' lil stubby with a nitro piston under barrel, it wouldn't remain a classic for another 5 gens. Imagine, a 19" barrel on a 36" 1200fps rifle... A sling happy little hunter... I know I'd def buy one.

     
  • 4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    By RT from USA on 2018-02-11
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: overall finish was nice, trigger feels crisp, easy TO PUMP

    Things I would have changed: sights a little further toward bolt

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Dave from USA on 2018-01-26
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: I bought one of these from another dealer a couple years ago and it arrived with the front sight bent to the left and it leaked air after two or three pumps. I decided to try it again and I'm happy to report that this one is perfect. Fit and finish is good and it's very accurate.

    Things I would have changed: Needs a taller front sight so it works better with a peep sight. How about some dovetails so mounting a scope is not so hard.

    What others should know: These are great guns if you get a good one.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Todd from USA on 2018-01-25
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Quality built product, the fit and finish are stellar, and if your looking for a pump air rifle this Benjamin 392 is a good place to start. Its very accurate and a great platform for the first time shooter.

    Things I would have changed: Nothing

     
  • 4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    By dana from USA on 2018-01-18
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: The gun is good looking and has a good feel and fit. The gun is easy to shoot and is accurate but only with the peep site. Fortunately the peep site is cheap and easy to install.

    Things I would have changed: definitely need the peep site. the metal sights are useless and cannot be sighted in.

    What others should know: Benjamin single barrel pumps seem to have the same power and are a lot less work. The scopes on these make them a lot more accurate and fun to shoot. However if you are into a survival gun the 392 is the best.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Bob from USA on 2017-12-15
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: Accurate! Easy to handle, pump and aim. Trigger isn't too bad.

    Things I would have changed: Make it able to pump 10-12 pumps. 3-8 is good, but more power is always better.

    What others should know: Pulled it out of the box, pumped it up, put in a pellet and hit the 10 ring at 12 yards on the very first shot. Nuff said!

     
  • 4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By lance from USA on 2017-10-26
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: Although I am now a springer enthusiast, this is the gun of my youth. I decided to purchase a 392 fifty-five years after I learned to shoot on its forebear, a Benjamin Comp on my late uncle's farm during summers working there as a mere lad. The familiar "clack" of the pump handle takes me back more than five decades, but the report brings me back to reality that this is the same solid pumper of yore; light, simple, consistent, recoil-free, and a great work out for the upper body.

    Things I would have changed: The fit of the pump handle could be better executed. The aft end of the handle is more than an eighth inch lower than the rest of the stock's bottom line. No big deal, but the line of the rifle is ruined by this inattention to detail. More of a rebound stop than the little synthetic button in the wooden handle is needed. The "clack," from walnut on metal, while nostalgic, would alert vermin to their potential demise after the first round. Otherwise, why change perfection; it is what it is and has been!

    What others should know: I mounted the Williams Peep that is made for the Benjamin/Sheridan rifles. It improves the sight picture and accuracy over the simplistic Crosman rear notch. The peep ring is a bit large,and I may try other rings that I have in its place or buy a Merit Disc. I have sighted the 392 in at my 10 M basement range at 6 pumps. Shooting 10 M Rifle roundels, at 4 pumps, it is one-half of the black target circle LOW and at 8 pumps, it is one-half of the circle HIGH! It was purely coincidence, but works out very nicely - one adjusts the sight picture accordingly; raise the POA to the top of the black bull on 4 pumps, lower to the bottom on 8 and place dead center on 6! Windage is so centered that adjusting it from the center position can be more of a chase of one's head and eye alignment than the sight itself as it seems it is off, if at all (really), by the width of the front blade. In other words, it is dead on not I.

  • 123 ... 89 Next
Navigation