Date: 27/9/2020 10:45
0

Customer Reviews for Benjamin 392 pump

Average Customer Review

4.5 (187 reviews)

Create an online review   and share your thoughts with other customers

The most helpful favorable review

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful:

Overall rating:5.0

Value for money:5.0

Accuracy:5.0

By Stephen from USA on 2014-12-29 22:17:47

Things I liked: Buying the Benjamin 392 is like buying a working piece of history. As I read the posts of others on this site, it is very clear that nostalgia is driving the sales of the 392 and 397. I never had a pellet gun this nice, but enjoyed plinking with my old Daisy lever action BB gun in the late 50s and early 60s. When I opened the box and took out my Benjamin, it was love at first sight, what with the classic design and real wood stock and for-end. After installing and zeroing the Williams 64 sight, the gun proved to be highly accurate, shooting the core out of the bulls eye at 24 feet, and consistently hitting the innermost circle of the target. I had none of the troubles some reviewers had with their peep sights due to insufficient adjustment downward for elevation. I had to raise my peep sight four click marks and a nudge to the right and I was zeroed. Heaven help the rat that passes through my back yard. This gun is so much fun. I would give it seven stars, but five was the limit!

Things I would have changed: The box staples in the gun carton were punched in but not closed. This caused some cosmetic damage to the wood for-end. I cleaned it up with a dark brown furniture stick, and used a favorite polish to add some luster and sheen to the wood stock and for-end. I don't know why Crosman does not engrave the word "Benjamin" on the barrel, or add the words "Made in USA." These are points that were important for me in passing over the German, Turkish, and other foreign manufacturers.

What others should know: I am a left-handed shooter, but the right-handed bolt was no game breaker at all. I pump the gun with both arms, point the muzzle safely to the right, open the bolt with my left hand, insert the pellet near the breech with my right hand, close the bolt with my left hand, adjust the safety with my right hand, and I am ready for business. Also, letting the bolt physically insert the pellet in the breech means much less handling of the lead pellet by you, which can only be a good thing. I had excellent success with the Crosman 14.3 grain Premiere Magnum domed pellets, and they are about three bucks cheaper at Pyramid than similar stuff at my local sporting goods stores!

The most helpful critical review

1 of 2 people found the following review helpful:

Overall rating:1.0

Value for money:1.0

Accuracy:1.0

By Buck from USA on 2018-10-11 12:39:32

Things I liked: solid feel.

Things I would have changed: MAKE THE SEALS LAST LONGER. SUPER DISAPPOINTED!

What others should know: 56 yr old male. I got a Benjamin just like this when I was 8 or 9...that gun ran flawlessly for 40+ years!!!!!! Super accurate and powerful. The seals finally gave out on the old one....I purchased a NEW one and it was pretty nice...a little larger in size than the old one. On the new gun the seals gave out after 11 MONTHS!!!!!! MAJOR DISAPPOINTMENT!!!! WTH? FAIL!!! FAIL!!! FAIL!!!!..

Sort by:
  • 123 ... 910 Next
  • Showitems
  • 4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    By Andrew from USA on 2020-06-12
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: Solid, very accurate, affordable pest controller. I use it to thin the starlings, squirrels, and eurasion collared pigeons that flock to my feeders. If I do my part, it does the job. Reasonable noise, nickel sized groups at 12 yards. I use JSB Heavy Diablos.

    Things I would have changed: The trigger is a bit heavy. It was a bit rough when new, smoothing after a couple hundred shots. Not a serious issue.

    What others should know: When you mount a scope, the scope is very high(almost 3 inches) above the bore, which causes elevation issues as your range changes. I have it sighted in for exactly 12 yards, and five yards on either side I need to adjust the hold

     
  • 3.0 3.0

    4.0 4.0

    2.0 2.0

    By Richard from USA on 2019-09-13
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: Like how light weight it is compared to a nitro piston. Have wanted something with open sights that are not plastic for a while. It is usable for a lefty because it is not shouldered when the bolt is operated. This is intended to be a working rifle and not for plinking for hours. It is easy to drop the .22 pellet into the large chamber.

    Things I would have changed: That Monti Carlo stock is too high for me to line up the sights unless I rotate the stock 45 degrees, nearly horizontal, to get my face low enough. I came close to selling it an hour after I unboxed it. I placed a 1/16" shim above the trigger group which lowered the cheek piece nearly 1/2". Now I can use the iron sights. I don't understand how this design survived so many decades. I can just about rub the finish off the stock by hand and it looks like a piece of sanded pine. After a few hours I can see bare wood in spots. A coat of finish shouldn't be too expensive for Benjamin. Fiber optic sights would be wonderful, for me the black front sight is invisible indoors. I have not been able to take it outdoors during the day yet to see how the iron looks.

    What others should know: Out of the box it is hard to pump it more than twice. It has to be braced to get past three pumps. After 20 shots it is still difficult to get past three and eight pumps are nearly impossible. Pellgun oil has not made a difference. I am hoping that it smooths out. There is definitely paint in the barrel that I will have to take care of once I can shoot it beyond 10 feet to check the sights and accuracy.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Mark from USA on 2019-07-19
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: The pumps determines how far it goes

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Erich from USA on 2019-06-08
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: This gun has a good solid feel. Shoots straight and hits hard at 8 pumps. That said it's great that you can use less pumps to power down for back yard use.

    Things I would have changed: Sights could be better. Maybe fiber optic. Time for at least a little modernizing after all these years.

    What others should know: I have co2 and single cock air guns. The 392 is my favorite for ease of use and being ready to go with just a few pumps. Great to leave in your vehical for impromptu plinking.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Jason from USA on 2019-03-27
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Benjamin! Enough said!

    Things I would have changed: Nothing

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Steve W on 2019-01-01
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: I purchased mine a a backyard pest eradicator. After receiving it, I cleaned the barrel and lubed all the recommended points. Took it to my backyard for sighting in. The factory iron sights are probably OK for younger eyes, however, new I'd need some help on that and included the Williams sight in my purchase and it was installed for first round of tests. I was impressed with the weight and balance, pumping get more strenuous as you increase the the pump count. I tried 3 different .22 pellets. Crossman Premier, Crossman domed - 14.3gr and RWS Superdome 14.5gr. All of them performed very well at 30 yards and more that exceeded my expectations. 8 pumps showed more variation than 4&5 pump range so I stuck with the 4-5 pump groupings Crossmans quarter size 5 shot groups and RWS were nickle size groups. While testing; one of my backyard terrors (grey tree squirrel) wandered into test range. Able to place a shot between left and eye & ear for immediate dispatch. Recommended.

    Things I would have changed: Little loud - OK for my country area though.

    What others should know: Still the best pumper since my childhood to now. Made me feel younger & good upper body exercise.

     
  • 4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    By nick from USA on 2018-12-17
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: nice and light easy to shoot

    Things I would have changed: back sights not very good

    What others should know: get Williams peep with this gun no need for the gym after pumping this gun after 4 pumps

     
  • 1.0 1.0

    1.0 1.0

    1.0 1.0

    By Buck from USA on 2018-10-11
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    3.02 ratings

    Things I liked: solid feel.

    Things I would have changed: MAKE THE SEALS LAST LONGER. SUPER DISAPPOINTED!

    What others should know: 56 yr old male. I got a Benjamin just like this when I was 8 or 9...that gun ran flawlessly for 40+ years!!!!!! Super accurate and powerful. The seals finally gave out on the old one....I purchased a NEW one and it was pretty nice...a little larger in size than the old one. On the new gun the seals gave out after 11 MONTHS!!!!!! MAJOR DISAPPOINTMENT!!!! WTH? FAIL!!! FAIL!!! FAIL!!!!..

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Terrance from USA on 2018-09-15
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: Solid construction. Proven design My 3rd Rifle now. My oldest is over 50 years old and is a Sheridan blue streek. My second was a silver streak in .117 About 15 years old. My latest is in .22. Love it ... I also have the pump up pistol in .22. No CO2. Or precharging. Adjusting the pumps for your specific shot

    Things I would have changed: I would include the scope mount with a rifle purchase

     
  • 4.0 4.0

    4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    By George from USA on 2018-09-11
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: Works like old one from 1950's.

    Things I would have changed: Open sights suck on the weapon. Neither straight military sights nor "old" just fine sight of 1950's. Highly recommend the peep sight be purchased with it.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    By V from USA on 2018-09-08
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: Very good quality...solid all the way around.

    Things I would have changed: Actually, already done...and that was replacing the rear sight with a Williams 5D peep sight. Very much improved sight picture and accuracy.

    What others should know: One thing I haven't done yet, and according to many who have reviewed this air gun, is remove the paint at the muzzle. I've had it about a week and I am still getting used to it. I got it for simple plinking, target shooting, and the occasional rat. I'm confident that if I shot at a rat now, I'd probably hit it, but, I still need to work on my grouping. I'm only shooting at fifteen yards, and as time goes along, I'll extend that out. I've wanted one of these for several years, so I finally scratched that itch. I realize that there might be better choices for a casual plinker, in that pumping the 392 up does take some effort for one shot, but I do have the advantage of variable power. There is a TON of information out there on the World Wide Web on this gun, and that's been very helpful. One of the things guys tend to whine about is the trigger. I gotta tell ya, mine is just fine out of the box! Crisp, clean, and relatively light. I might polish it a bit, but that's it!

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By John C from USA on 2018-08-30
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: Nice feel, the wood is solid. Overall weight for me is just right. Easy to shoot, for my use, at 2 pumps, it takes out wasps nests with out damaging my homes siding.

    Things I would have changed: A better built scope mounting system.

    What others should know: I love to tinker, there are some fun mods can be done if your willing to try. Added a strip of the soft side of Velcro under the barrel. It pads the "clacking" sound as you pump.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Martin from USA on 2018-08-15
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: I purchased my Benjamin 392 in 1988 after my Sheridan Blue Streak developed an internal leak. As a long time avid air-gunner I felt the push to have a multi-pump air rifle on hand. After examining the nany options-which at the time were nowhere near what we gsve available these days- the Benjamin model 392 seemed to fit both my needs and budget. I use the rifle regularly for front and backyard pest control. Everything from gophers to foxes and raccoons are easily handled by the model 392 with its variable power based on the number of pumps I leverage in, the rifle has not given me a moments trouble since purchasing it, actually seemed to improve with use for several years. This purchase was made before the advent of readily available PCP air rifles. At the time I purchased it one of my main criteria was power factor and the 392 was near the top in that regard at the time. Even though I now own quite s few different PCP air rifles my Benjy still remains my favorite go to air rifle.

    Things I would have changed: The stock, though made of high quality wood, is clunky and quite a bit oversized. I wish it had a montecarlo style buttstick and a slimmer foreend. I also wish it was much quieter when actuating the pumping mechanism. A method of easily attaching a telescopic sight to the receiver without possibly damaging the rifle wokld also be nice

    What others should know: I would definitely recommend the purchase the Benjamin model 392 to anyone looking fir a well made, quality air rifle to dispatch the occasional pesky squirrel, rodent or smaller wild dogs. It is very low maintenance, requires nothing extra to keep it going other than a small drop of silicon oil once in a while- no gas cartridges needed,ever. A great choice for inclusion in their SHTF gear.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Justin Hutcheson on 2018-08-15
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: This rifle looks nice. I love the wood stock and pump handle. As far as I can tell the whole rifle is made of metal including the trigger assembly. Brass barrels. It shoots incredibly flat out to 40 yards. Im hitting 2 inch targets at 40 yards just with the sights. It destroys cans. I believe it to be more than capable of taking down small to medium sized game. It's simple construction and it works great. Stock removes very easily.

    Things I would have changed: Nothing. I love it as is.

    What others should know: The gun is moderately hard to pump but not too bad. Personally I will probably never put a scope on it. I'm getting great range and accuracy just with the sights. I might get the recommended peep sight, but its not necessary to get great shots. I absolutely love this rifle. Great survival gun. Mine loves the Crosman Premier Hollow Points. This rifle is well made and will stay in my family for generations.

     
  • 4.0 4.0

    4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Ron from USA on 2018-07-13
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: well made gun. they shoot great and lots of fun to shoot!

    Things I would have changed: nothing.

    What others should know: young shooters might have trouble pumping this air rifle . when I was boy of ten years old I had a Benjurman .177 CAL. air rifle , I had to put the butt stock between my legs to hold it while I pumped it until I was older then I could hole the rifle with my hands then pump the gun without using the between the legs thing.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Craig from USA on 2018-04-22
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: Just received my 392PA and Williams peep. It took a couple weeks since I gotta get mine shipped to my friend in a free state and he only comes down once or twice a month. Anyways, after inspection, lube and about a hunderfifty shots, the rifle not only meets my expectations, but my intimate recollection of its classic predecessors. Incredibly accurate with the peep & common crosman hollow points. I've yet to pump it more than 5 times because to me, for all practical purposes, it's a 15 to 20 yard rifle - but what a 15 -20 yd rifle it is. It's my third rifle from Pyramyd and probably my last... Well, maybe one more, but then really I'm done... Don't hold me to that tho. Nothing but pleased with all of them. So much in fact, I like to kid the PA in the 392PA stands for Pyramyd Air.

    Things I would have changed: Don't get me wrong as I've recently been spoiled completely rotten on RWS T06. The 392 trigger's got a nice predictable snap with no long drag or what I'd call "heavy" pull, but still, I can't help thinking if crosman invested a little r&d on the trigger pull (dare I say their triggers in general), in every other aspect this rifle would shoot and feel as virtually indistinguishable from the pristine hermetically sealed 1963 Blue Streak it'll stunt double for as I ever hoped it would.

    What others should know: It wouldn't pierce a tin can but I remember killing rabbit and squirrel at 10 yds with my $11 Daisy 87/70 Safari. So trust, 5 pumps'll hunt easy out to 20 yards. In my recollection, these pumpers lasted forever if ya never stressed them. Virtually everyone I knew who broke the fore end, got barrel separation or blew the seals couldn't resist the irresistible temptation to "hey, let's pump it up to twenty and see what it'll do.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Jeff from USA on 2018-04-17
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: Nice old school powerful pump!

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Kenneth from USA on 2018-04-14
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating

    Things I liked: what I ordered

    Things I would have changed: realistically, nothing.

    What others should know: great place to buy from.

     
  • 2.0 2.0

    2.0 2.0

    2.0 2.0

    By Joseph from USA on 2018-04-13
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: Not much. Riffle was never assembled at the factory. Required a trip to the hardware store for parts. Very poor quality control.

    Things I would have changed: Riffle should have been checked before it was shipped.

    What others should know: Pyramid Air continues to go down hill. This would have never happened five years ago.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Rick from USA on 2018-04-06
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: Bought this to shoot problem muskrats residing and digging in my lake property. Accurate enough for that purpose right out of the box once I got used to the gun. I'm a big guy and it is kind of hard to pump, but that's OK. Overall good quality.

     
  • 123 ... 910 Next
Navigation