Date: 21/10/2018 22:25
0

Benjamin Marauder PCP Air Rifle, Synthetic Stock reviews - page 1

Average Customer Review

4.5 (305 reviews)

Create an online review   and share your thoughts with other customers

The most helpful favorable review

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful:

Overall rating:5.0

Value for money:5.0

Accuracy:5.0

By Doug from USA on 2015-01-07 20:56:04

Things I liked: Everything. This gun is very accurate (.25 2nd Generation Synthetic) I put this gun on my chrony and got 900fps using JSB Diablo 25.39gr (exact king) with a fill of 2700PSI. After shooting to sight in the scope (Hawke Sport Opt. HD IR 2-12 x 50 AO) I then shot a string after refilling to 3000 PSI, of 32 shots with an ending pressure of 1250psi and a chrony reading of 720fps. Accurate at 25yrds to put hole in hole or touching holes. I went ahead and shot rounds 33 thru 37 just to see when the accuracy would fall off and noticed on round 35 a little drop. About 1" drop at round 37 with an ending pressure of 1000psi on the Marauder. I stopped there and just grinned. This is the .25 totally out of the box, no adjustments, and I got 32 good shots? The last shot generating almost 30fpe, I'm impressed. Trigger, now that is just a fine trigger. I'm really picky and I'm happy with no adjustments. The stars must have aligned just right for me on this one. This one is a keeper!

Things I would have changed: not too much, maybe have it come with the single shot tray?

What others should know: Fill em slow from a scuba or scba tank. Goes great with the Hill MK3 hand pump. IT's not really that bad of a workout using the pump. Just go slow on both up and down cycle and enjoy. I'm mid 50's small stature and I really kinda enjoy the pumping. Makes you appreciate each shot! What else? Just have fun with this gun, The accuracy is incredible and it is so adjustable. Have fun!

The most helpful critical review

1 of 4 people found the following review helpful:

Overall rating:1.0

Value for money:1.0

Accuracy:1.0

By Wolfy from USA on 2015-03-01 13:11:07

Things I liked: It's light weight and its very quiet. Those are the only good things about it.

Things I would have changed: Just about everything else with it. It is very poorly built and not worth the money. The accuracy is poor and right out if the box (before tuning) you will be lucky to get 6 inch groups at 10 yards. The gun looks and feels cheap. The barrel and breach extend sideways down the air tube and stock, so getting the scope perfectly level was a nightmare. Then, It shot so far to the left, that I had my scope almost maxed out to the right, past the 4 line. Not good! I tried to turn the mounts around and nothing helped. They where good mounts too and worked perfectly on all my other guns. Well, I got is sighted in and tuned to 32 Fpe and it would get really good chrony numbers but I still had a bad accuracy problem with it. I tried everything and then I realized that the small difference in pellet head and skirt sizes, effected the accuracy up to 12 inches at 40 yards. About one in five pellets would just drop off. The same pellets shoot fine in my other guns, so the issue is this gun.

What others should know: I don't know where all of the hype for this gun is comming from. I went with the .22 cal. The first one I bought leaked air. Thank you pyramyd air for sending me a replacement quickly. However, the replacement had its issues listed above. There are more too, I just ran out of space. If you are thinking about getting into PCP airgunning, I wouldn't recommend this gun. I bought it 3 months ago and I really wanted to make it work, so I kept it, and I regret doing so. I just got a Hatsan AT44-10s QE in .25 cal the other day and what a huge difference! The AT44 is so much better built and it is not pellet fussy like the Synrod. Right out of the box it is super accurate and the power is phenomenal! It was only $30 more that the synrod .22 and so worth it. I think the Marauder feels like a toy compared to the AT44 QE, which feels like a machine. If you aren't sure which one to get, the Marauder, or the Hatsan AT44 QE, I would go with the Hatsan. I wrote a review on that gun as well.

Sort by:
  • 123 ... 1516 Next
  • Showitems
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By James from USA on 2018-10-14
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: well balanced, quiet, nice tigger pull, extremely balanced well.

    Things I would have changed: Maybe regulate it to allow more shots per fill.

    What others should know: you won't be disappointed if you purchase this

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Michael from USA on 2018-09-18
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Very accurate. Once centered I can hit a circle the size of a dime at 30 yards 5 out of 5 times. Easy to use. Great for Iguana hunting. If you can see one, its done for.

    Things I would have changed: Gun is too heavy. I bought a monopod to use in the field.

     
  • 4.0 4.0

    4.0 4.0

    4.0 4.0

    By darrell from USA on 2018-09-02
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: Very quiet

    Things I would have changed: Make lighter,more shots per fill.

    What others should know: If you turn down the pressure below one turn,you will lose accuracy.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Robert from USA on 2018-08-29
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: This PCP rifle is not only very accurate but is very quite, it can be shot without bothering anyone from in your home if your are shooting in your basement to even outdoors. I have never fired this rifle beyond 25 yards and the accuracy is exceptional, but what I like the most is the quietness of the air rifle. My wife use to complain about the neighbors but now she does not even shooting in the base with my grandchildren.

    Things I would have changed: Nothing a great rifle

    What others should know: Pyramyd Air is a great company to do business with, especially if you have a problem with anything you purchase from them as long as you do not abuse the product. I would strongly recommend Pyramyd Air to any air rifle or hand air gunner. There support team is excellent and I cannot say enough about both.

     
  • 4.0 4.0

    4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Steven from USA on 2018-08-27
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: I like the power, accuracy, and that one gets at least 30 consistent shots on a charge. It zero'd right in with the scope that came with the packaged deal. It is very quiet. The loudest noise is the pellet hitting the backstop behind the target. The trigger is smooth and consistent.

    Things I would have changed: The bolt action is a bit stiff and has two stages of pull. The first, easy part puts a pellet in the chamber. The second, much harder part enables the trigger to release the compressed air charge. Initially, it was difficult to know if I had pulled the bolt back far enough. So when I went to fire, nothing happened. After pulling the bolt back a second time, it fired two pellets. I am getting used to this, but would it not be better to have the hard part of the pull at the beginning of the stroke? Also, I think that I would prefer the option of open sights. I do not think that I am ever going to be shooting squirrels at 100 yds.

    What others should know: This is my first PCP airgun. I was curious if it would live up to expectations - it does. I would not buy a normal .22 rifle again.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Jim from USA on 2018-08-20
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Took it to the local range and sighted 8t at 25 yards to start. Running JSB diablos through it I was getting tight groups with my elbow on the shooting bench. If I were sitting this thing would he a tack driver. Plenty of power out 3 magazines through her with no noticable drop and oh so quiet. The pellet hitting the target is louder the the discharge. Very well made and cant wait to get a chrony to tune it! It's a little heavy when scoped but not as bad as carrying my Walther talon magnum.

    Things I would have changed: 11mm dovetails are meh. Would watherbsee this come with weaver or picatny rails. Perhaps supply an adapter. The edges on the cheek rest are sharp. Need to run some sand paper to take the burs off. Otherwise wouldn't change anything.

    What others should know: Wont be disappointed with the Marrauder. I'm glad I went for this over the "entry level" rifle I was looking at.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Stan from USA on 2018-08-18
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Havent been able to shoot it much so far, but for what I have done I love it, One ragged hole groups at 25yards and blowing through 3/4inch plywood seems great so far

    Things I would have changed: Make the forend a little stiffer, Lengthen the Jose on the pump so I dont have to lay my gun on the ground to charge

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Amy from USA on 2018-08-17
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: The accuracy, adjustable trigger,the stock and the easy maintenance. The magazines are nice to and very reliable their also cheap so if you want to buy spares you don't have to spend a lot of money.

    Things I would have changed: Nothing other than Crosmans packaging. When I got my gun it had dust and quite a few minor scratches on it.

    What others should know: Right at first the bolt might seem to stick a little bit but the more you use it pretty soon it is as smooth as butter. Also with age the gun seems to get more and more accurate. I am able to get half inch groups at fifty yards using JSB 18.13 grain 22cal pellets,I even split a playing card with it at thirty yards. Also the gun looks heavier than it actually is it doesn't weigh as much as you think a gun of this size would.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Robert from USA on 2018-08-17
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    4.01 rating

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: I am a 78 year old handicapped person. Hand pumping is hard, but doable. Accuracy is very good and is quite comfortable to shoot. Noise level is low enough to not bother neighbors. With small varmints if you put the hole where you should, they are quickly dispatched.

    Things I would have changed: Would like a single stage trigger.

    What others should know: Spend the money you will not regret.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Todd from USA on 2018-08-17
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: I needed a .22 quiet enough to shoot off my deck without letting the neighbors know. I like the power and consistency. It's not as quiet as I thought so I did some simple modifications. Other than that I really like the gun, it's definitely well made, has plenty of power and should it last a lifetime.

    Things I would have changed: It's not quiet enough out of the box for my needs. I live in a Suburban neighborhood with at least a half-dozen houses close enough to hear the crack of an airgun so I added some modifications to it. I installed a Hill de-pinger and a Hill8 LDC Suppressor and I purchased a shorter Shroud, a from Hill Airguns, so the rifle wasn't as long with the suppressor on it. Now it's perfect. I stand a few feet inside the door and shoot at a little metal pellet trap about 50 yards back into the woods. The only thing anyone can hear is the ding of the pellet hitting the metal! So, in the end, I got exactly what I needed. I would recommend this to anyone looking for a quiet airgun that has lots of power. With a little extra money and some simple modifications, you can make this quiet as can be.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Way from USA on 2018-08-16
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating

    Things I liked: Super quiet! Boringly accurate! Flip 'em over backwards powerful!

    Things I would have changed: Nothing! It's absolutely perfect!

    What others should know: One in a MILLION? Purchased my Synrod .25 from Pyramyd Air well over a year ago and I'm still amazed! Using my Pro Chrono, I obtained the following data. All data based on a fresh 3,000 psi fill using JSB Exact Kings 25.39 grain. At the muzzle: High (fps/fpe): 842/39.98; Low: 830/38.84; Ave: 838/39.60; ES: 12; SD: 4 Measured at 10 yds target (my indoor range) High: 815/37.45; Low: 801/36.18; Ave: 810/36.99; ES: 14; SD: 4 Measured at 28 yds target (my outdoor range) High: 779/34.22; Low: 765/33.00; Ave: 774/33.78; ES: 14; SD: 4 I've watched hours of video reviews of much higher priced guns and my ES/SD numbers are freakishly great! Did PA sneak an after market regulator into my gun before shipping? Probably not. In fact, I've seen videos of guns with after market regulators installed and they don't get THESE kinds of numbers. It's so quiet! It's hole-in-hole at 10 yds; 3/8" at 28 yds all day! Boringly accurate! I love this gun!

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By John from USA on 2018-08-15
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Got m Rod in 22 cal. My first PCP. Had Pyramyd test fire and sent crony report. using JSB jumbo heavy exact diabolo 18 grain ammo, with UTG true hunter scope. Dialed in at 30 yards within 6 rounds.one ragged hole. Been hitting pop cans at 95 yards. I'm 66 years young been shooting airguns since I was 7 and this rifle is simply amazing. Crazy quiet too. Thanks Pyramyd Air for your assistance.

    Things I would have changed: nothing

    What others should know: If you haven't tried it PCP is a whole new world.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Noel from USA on 2018-08-15
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: My Marauder is a 25 caliber with a synthetic stock. The rifle is heavy. I wouldn't want to carry it arround the woods for a long time, but the installed swivel studs make it easy to attach a sling. The trigger is very good. It is consistent with no creep and breaks cleanly. Accuracy, I've tested to 55 yards, is very good withe the JSB 25 grain pellet withe the Benjamin close behind. Half inch groups at 55 yards. Not as loud as I expected. The fit and reach are just right for me. The adjustable cheek rest is a nice gesture, and an adjustable butt would be welcome. Reasonable priced. Excellent value for the money.

    Things I would have changed: Adjustable butt.

    What others should know: For optimum performance a regulator, not available for the 25 is easily installed.

     
  • 3.0 3.0

    3.0 3.0

    1.0 1.0

    By Darren Durr from USA on 2018-08-15
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: I like most everything about this rifle except the accuracy. The 17 or 25 might be okay but the 22s are not accurate. My first one would group about 2" at 30 yards. I made the dealer give me a new one, unfortunately it was worse. I called Crosman and they sent me a new one, same thing. They would shoot fair to start and just get worse. Tried about 15 different pellets. I ended up having an aftermarket barrel put on and it is a tackdriver now. It likes JSB Exact 18.13gr, which was best in the factory barrel also. I know I'm not the only one to have trouble with the 22. Check out the Godfather's blog about it. Otherwise, the gun is very quiet, very good trigger, the adjustable comb is nice. The synthetic stock is a little flimsy in the front but it's a pound lighter than the wood. The quick connect air fill is a better setup than on many rifles costing much more. Basically no complaints other than the accuracy

    Things I would have changed: FIX THE BARRELS!! I've heard good things about the 17 and 25, but I wouldn't buy a 22 until Crosman fixes the problem.

    What others should know: These are a lot cheaper now than when I got mine.

     
  • 4.0 4.0

    4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Joie Coppedge from USA on 2018-08-15
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: Accuracy

    Things I would have changed: Accuracy

    What others should know: Relatively quiet for use in the backyard but could stand to be improved with a better D Pinger

     
  • 4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    By Mark from USA on 2018-08-15
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: Accuracy. I have several springers, and 2 single stroke pneumatic, Since shooting this gun I have no desire for the older ones. Indoor range, 25 yards, 1 hole using JSB Exact Jumbo 15.89gr .22 cal. At 50 yards I have patterns between 0.5" and 1.5". 1" is typical. Its quiet. I just took the Dana 48 out and put a few rounds through it and remembered why I forgot about it. Vibration and kick. There is not kick, with the right lighting you can see the pellet fly down range through your scope, its that smooth, but I suppose that is true with most PCPs. The .22 has killed small game of all kinds up to woodchucks with a single shot.

    Things I would have changed: I have the Gen 1. Its heavy.

    What others should know: I use a hand pump, shoot 20 and pump up. No modifications on this gun. Shooting out of the box. have run at least 20 tins (500ea) through it. No decrease in accuracy. No malfunctions. Leepers 4-16 with side wheel. All purchased at Pyramydair.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Steffan from USA on 2018-08-06
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Everything.

    Things I would have changed: Make the stock less plain looking.

     
  • 4.0 4.0

    3.0 3.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Wesley from USA on 2018-07-28
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Spot on accuracy.

    Things I would have changed: Synthetic stock set screw adjustments back out where they are molded into stock. Would be neat to have push button adjustment.

    What others should know: This rifle came with resivoir totally empty. After having rifle just three weeks found that i was leaking 200-300 psi overnight. Found leak where air full nipple screws into air fill adapter.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Bernd from USA on 2018-07-01
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: This is my first air rifle and I did not know what to expect. I got the 0.22 cal. I used a hand pump and pumped it up to 2900 psi. I added a scope and a bipod, setup some targets at 10 to 25 yards and zeroed the scope. Right out of the box my first shot was only a few inches off. In no time I had the scope zeroed at 25 yards and was shooting groups of 0.25 to 0.5 inches. Incredibly accurate for a newbie with a rifle only steadied by a bipod. The next day I got a squirrel with a clean headshot on first try. Rifle is very quiet.I have no Chronie but I can shoot at least 40 shots and still have accuracy at 25-30 yards. Still need to try longer ranges. PyramydAir did some test shooting for me with RWS Hobby Wadcutter 11.9gr at 3000 psi and got around 920 fps.

    Things I would have changed: Include a spare magazine and a set of spare O-rings. There is no double-load prevention. Twice it happened to me that I cocked the rifle enough for the next pellet to load but the hammer was not cocked. The gun is heavy with bipod and scope mounted. The synthetic stock has some flex in the forearm when you support the rifle with a bipod. Wood stock would probably be more rigid but also heavier.

    What others should know: I got the Leapers UTG 3-12x44 scope. I think it is a nice scope, clear picture, easy to adjust. You can use medium height rings and still get 3 mm clearance to the magazine and barrel. So far I tried Benjamin Premier Hollow Points 14.3gr and JSB Match Diabolo Exact Jumbo Heavy 18.13gr. Both pellets get me similar group sizes at 25 yards. And those heavy pellets rip through 3/4 inch plywood like butter at 25 yard distance. I use the Taousa hand pump and it takes me about 60 pumps to go from 2000 to 2900 psi. I weigh less than 150 lbs and it is doable without too much effort. Line up the pump with your body axis, support the pump with your heels instead of front of feet and use your body weight.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Philajoy from USA on 2018-05-25
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Lightweight and accuracy

    Things I would have changed: None

    What others should know: None

     
  • 123 ... 1516 Next
Navigation