Date: 16/8/2018 7:52
0

Benjamin Marauder PCP Air Rifle, Synthetic Stock reviews - page 1

Average Customer Review

4.5 (291 reviews)

Create an online review   and share your thoughts with other customers

The most helpful favorable review

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful:

Overall rating:5.0

Value for money:5.0

Accuracy:5.0

By Doug from USA on 2015-01-07 20:56:04

Things I liked: Everything. This gun is very accurate (.25 2nd Generation Synthetic) I put this gun on my chrony and got 900fps using JSB Diablo 25.39gr (exact king) with a fill of 2700PSI. After shooting to sight in the scope (Hawke Sport Opt. HD IR 2-12 x 50 AO) I then shot a string after refilling to 3000 PSI, of 32 shots with an ending pressure of 1250psi and a chrony reading of 720fps. Accurate at 25yrds to put hole in hole or touching holes. I went ahead and shot rounds 33 thru 37 just to see when the accuracy would fall off and noticed on round 35 a little drop. About 1" drop at round 37 with an ending pressure of 1000psi on the Marauder. I stopped there and just grinned. This is the .25 totally out of the box, no adjustments, and I got 32 good shots? The last shot generating almost 30fpe, I'm impressed. Trigger, now that is just a fine trigger. I'm really picky and I'm happy with no adjustments. The stars must have aligned just right for me on this one. This one is a keeper!

Things I would have changed: not too much, maybe have it come with the single shot tray?

What others should know: Fill em slow from a scuba or scba tank. Goes great with the Hill MK3 hand pump. IT's not really that bad of a workout using the pump. Just go slow on both up and down cycle and enjoy. I'm mid 50's small stature and I really kinda enjoy the pumping. Makes you appreciate each shot! What else? Just have fun with this gun, The accuracy is incredible and it is so adjustable. Have fun!

The most helpful critical review

1 of 4 people found the following review helpful:

Overall rating:1.0

Value for money:1.0

Accuracy:1.0

By Wolfy from USA on 2015-03-01 13:11:07

Things I liked: It's light weight and its very quiet. Those are the only good things about it.

Things I would have changed: Just about everything else with it. It is very poorly built and not worth the money. The accuracy is poor and right out if the box (before tuning) you will be lucky to get 6 inch groups at 10 yards. The gun looks and feels cheap. The barrel and breach extend sideways down the air tube and stock, so getting the scope perfectly level was a nightmare. Then, It shot so far to the left, that I had my scope almost maxed out to the right, past the 4 line. Not good! I tried to turn the mounts around and nothing helped. They where good mounts too and worked perfectly on all my other guns. Well, I got is sighted in and tuned to 32 Fpe and it would get really good chrony numbers but I still had a bad accuracy problem with it. I tried everything and then I realized that the small difference in pellet head and skirt sizes, effected the accuracy up to 12 inches at 40 yards. About one in five pellets would just drop off. The same pellets shoot fine in my other guns, so the issue is this gun.

What others should know: I don't know where all of the hype for this gun is comming from. I went with the .22 cal. The first one I bought leaked air. Thank you pyramyd air for sending me a replacement quickly. However, the replacement had its issues listed above. There are more too, I just ran out of space. If you are thinking about getting into PCP airgunning, I wouldn't recommend this gun. I bought it 3 months ago and I really wanted to make it work, so I kept it, and I regret doing so. I just got a Hatsan AT44-10s QE in .25 cal the other day and what a huge difference! The AT44 is so much better built and it is not pellet fussy like the Synrod. Right out of the box it is super accurate and the power is phenomenal! It was only $30 more that the synrod .22 and so worth it. I think the Marauder feels like a toy compared to the AT44 QE, which feels like a machine. If you aren't sure which one to get, the Marauder, or the Hatsan AT44 QE, I would go with the Hatsan. I wrote a review on that gun as well.

Sort by:
  • 123 ... 1415 Next
  • Showitems
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Noel from USA on 2018-08-15
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: My Marauder is a 25 caliber with a synthetic stock. The rifle is heavy. I wouldn't want to carry it arround the woods for a long time, but the installed swivel studs make it easy to attach a sling. The trigger is very good. It is consistent with no creep and breaks cleanly. Accuracy, I've tested to 55 yards, is very good withe the JSB 25 grain pellet withe the Benjamin close behind. Half inch groups at 55 yards. Not as loud as I expected. The fit and reach are just right for me. The adjustable cheek rest is a nice gesture, and an adjustable butt would be welcome. Reasonable priced. Excellent value for the money.

    Things I would have changed: Adjustable butt.

    What others should know: For optimum performance a regulator, not available for the 25 is easily installed.

     
  • 3.0 3.0

    3.0 3.0

    1.0 1.0

    By Darren Durr from USA on 2018-08-15
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: I like most everything about this rifle except the accuracy. The 17 or 25 might be okay but the 22s are not accurate. My first one would group about 2" at 30 yards. I made the dealer give me a new one, unfortunately it was worse. I called Crosman and they sent me a new one, same thing. They would shoot fair to start and just get worse. Tried about 15 different pellets. I ended up having an aftermarket barrel put on and it is a tackdriver now. It likes JSB Exact 18.13gr, which was best in the factory barrel also. I know I'm not the only one to have trouble with the 22. Check out the Godfather's blog about it. Otherwise, the gun is very quiet, very good trigger, the adjustable comb is nice. The synthetic stock is a little flimsy in the front but it's a pound lighter than the wood. The quick connect air fill is a better setup than on many rifles costing much more. Basically no complaints other than the accuracy

    Things I would have changed: FIX THE BARRELS!! I've heard good things about the 17 and 25, but I wouldn't buy a 22 until Crosman fixes the problem.

    What others should know: These are a lot cheaper now than when I got mine.

     
  • 4.0 4.0

    4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Joie Coppedge from USA on 2018-08-15
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: Accuracy

    Things I would have changed: Accuracy

    What others should know: Relatively quiet for use in the backyard but could stand to be improved with a better D Pinger

     
  • 4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    By Mark from USA on 2018-08-15
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: Accuracy. I have several springers, and 2 single stroke pneumatic, Since shooting this gun I have no desire for the older ones. Indoor range, 25 yards, 1 hole using JSB Exact Jumbo 15.89gr .22 cal. At 50 yards I have patterns between 0.5" and 1.5". 1" is typical. Its quiet. I just took the Dana 48 out and put a few rounds through it and remembered why I forgot about it. Vibration and kick. There is not kick, with the right lighting you can see the pellet fly down range through your scope, its that smooth, but I suppose that is true with most PCPs. The .22 has killed small game of all kinds up to woodchucks with a single shot.

    Things I would have changed: I have the Gen 1. Its heavy.

    What others should know: I use a hand pump, shoot 20 and pump up. No modifications on this gun. Shooting out of the box. have run at least 20 tins (500ea) through it. No decrease in accuracy. No malfunctions. Leepers 4-16 with side wheel. All purchased at Pyramydair.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Steffan from USA on 2018-08-06
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Everything.

    Things I would have changed: Make the stock less plain looking.

     
  • 4.0 4.0

    3.0 3.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Wesley from USA on 2018-07-28
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Spot on accuracy.

    Things I would have changed: Synthetic stock set screw adjustments back out where they are molded into stock. Would be neat to have push button adjustment.

    What others should know: This rifle came with resivoir totally empty. After having rifle just three weeks found that i was leaking 200-300 psi overnight. Found leak where air full nipple screws into air fill adapter.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Bernd from USA on 2018-07-01
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: This is my first air rifle and I did not know what to expect. I got the 0.22 cal. I used a hand pump and pumped it up to 2900 psi. I added a scope and a bipod, setup some targets at 10 to 25 yards and zeroed the scope. Right out of the box my first shot was only a few inches off. In no time I had the scope zeroed at 25 yards and was shooting groups of 0.25 to 0.5 inches. Incredibly accurate for a newbie with a rifle only steadied by a bipod. The next day I got a squirrel with a clean headshot on first try. Rifle is very quiet.I have no Chronie but I can shoot at least 40 shots and still have accuracy at 25-30 yards. Still need to try longer ranges. PyramydAir did some test shooting for me with RWS Hobby Wadcutter 11.9gr at 3000 psi and got around 920 fps.

    Things I would have changed: Include a spare magazine and a set of spare O-rings. There is no double-load prevention. Twice it happened to me that I cocked the rifle enough for the next pellet to load but the hammer was not cocked. The gun is heavy with bipod and scope mounted. The synthetic stock has some flex in the forearm when you support the rifle with a bipod. Wood stock would probably be more rigid but also heavier.

    What others should know: I got the Leapers UTG 3-12x44 scope. I think it is a nice scope, clear picture, easy to adjust. You can use medium height rings and still get 3 mm clearance to the magazine and barrel. So far I tried Benjamin Premier Hollow Points 14.3gr and JSB Match Diabolo Exact Jumbo Heavy 18.13gr. Both pellets get me similar group sizes at 25 yards. And those heavy pellets rip through 3/4 inch plywood like butter at 25 yard distance. I use the Taousa hand pump and it takes me about 60 pumps to go from 2000 to 2900 psi. I weigh less than 150 lbs and it is doable without too much effort. Line up the pump with your body axis, support the pump with your heels instead of front of feet and use your body weight.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Philajoy from USA on 2018-05-25
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Lightweight and accuracy

    Things I would have changed: None

    What others should know: None

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Stanley from USA on 2018-05-21
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Good build quality

    Things I would have changed: nothing, they thought of everything.

    What others should know: Accuracy is the best of my other Crosman PCP's.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By addertooth from USA on 2018-03-26
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating

    Things I liked: This review is from a guy who has had this 25 caliber air rifle for about a year. This is not a review from someone who just bought it and is frothing at the mouth out of excitement over his new purchase. This gun is quiet, very quiet. Perfect for the backyard shooter who wants to keep harmony with the neighbors. Not as quiet as its little brother the Maximus with a TKO added, but you will be impressed. It hits with solid power, 40 foot pounds (or more) of force is very achievable. I felt the gun was pretty easy to tune, but then I was using a chrony to help me out. The 25 caliber barrel has proven to be very accurate for me. At 50 yards, you will own the bullseye with this air rifle. Mine really liked the JSB Exact King rounds in 25.39 grain. I will be re-tuning it for the heavier version of the pellet soon.

    Things I would have changed: This is where this review will diverge from most... from things I would change, to things I DID change. First of all, out of the box this is a very good shooter. This is the very reason it was modified. Never waste the time or money to modify a so-so gun; chances are, you will never be truly happy with it. But start with a good platform which has excellent accuracy, and you can't go wrong. Mine ended up regulated, flyweight hammer, dual adjustable hammer spring, upgraded valve, ported and polished airways and the bolt recontoured for better air flow. Even with the lighter JSB pellets, it had no trouble reaching more than 40 shots at 40 FPE with only 1.8 percent in pellet velocity with unsorted pellets. There are plenty of how-to articles on the various airgun forums on how to do this, but be aware, it voids your warranty. Even if you make the choice to leave yours stock, you should be quite happy with it.

    What others should know: An very good air rifle which can be turned into an excellent air rifle. This is the most accurate air rifle in my collection at 50 yards. The plastic stock makes me less concerned about getting scuffs from tromping through the woods with it. Once tuned or modified, very frugal on air use. The trigger is very nice, and is both crisp and light (once adjusted). Other guys at the range cannot believe what a tack driver the Marauder is. At 50 yards they were placing the shot exactly where they wanted, something which was outside their previous experience with air rifles. This air rifle has really raised the bar for my expectation of other air rifles; and that is a mixed blessing. It is easier to feel disappointed when I shoot other air rifles.

     
  • 4.0 4.0

    3.0 3.0

    4.0 4.0

    By Sierra from USA on 2018-02-17
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: The looks and way it fits in ur shoulders feel really nice , 1 inch groups at 60 yards you cant complain about the accuracy in this gun thats for sure. Best pellets to use which many of you would assume are the jsb exact pellets .

    Things I would have changed: 2 of my favorite pellets to use didnt fit in the shot magazine, and always jam up on me ... and had to start singly loading everything in . Wish you could get more shots at 3000 fill. Was getting only 14 good shots from 3000 psi down to 2100 .

    What others should know: Pretty heavy compared to most , would recommend a bipod or some sort. Put I do recommend this for first time air gunners , good for small and medium game. Drops anything with head shots

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By NEAL from USA on 2018-01-21
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    4.01 rating

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Most accurate and quitest rifle ever >.5 @ 50 yds. 68db @2 ft. light weight for hunting and enough fpe to take down raccoons. This is my second one i`ve bought!

    Things I would have changed: Larger air tank for more shots b4 filling. picatinna rail for mounts

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Jack from USA on 2018-01-17
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: I like it!

    Things I would have changed: nothing

    What others should know: Very nice trigger, no need for adjustment.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Russell from USA on 2018-01-06
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: Great starter experience. Bundled items all you need to start shooting. Good to know when it's your first buy. Very quiet. Recoil inconsequential.

    Things I would have changed: Not a thing

    What others should know: Fun gun to shoot, like eating potato chips, hard to stop. On my second gun from Pyramyd Air I had them mount the scope and sight it, and it was well worth the few bucks - and if you're buying as a gift, MUST DO, makes it instantly usable out of box experience, after loading it of course. DON'T FORGET THE TRIGGER LOCK, it's just not worth the risk not to use them! If you're thinking of using this on vermin, figure squirrel sized tops unless you're a real pro, and while hunting with an air gun requires you to know more than your avg trigger puller, great satisfaction perfecting skills. Remember, it was Louis and Clarke's CLEVER USE of it's air gun that was critical to their success, it wasn't just trigger pulling.

     
  • 4.0 4.0

    4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Mark from USA on 2017-12-29
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: I read a lot of the reviews for the .25 and thought twice about some of the accuracy claims. But I will say this, anywhere from 50 yards and shorter (I'm using the JSB exact King Heavy Diabolo 33.95 grain) one can pretty much annihilate the bullseye, this gun is dead-nuts on. I bought the combo deal, with, sling, scope,ammo, extra magazine, 20 for $20 and the gun case. A few adjustments on the scope for 50 yards and I'm happier then a tick on a fat dog. We live in the country and I bought the .25 in case I needed this for some of the larger critters (and being quiet about it) we have. Now I'm thinking what it would be like shooting the .177 and how far that would reach for some of my feathered pest that ruin my fruit on the trees?? But with the .25, I'm 3 for 3 and the old break-barrel I had is now collecting dust.

    Things I would have changed: I'd give this gun 5 stars but for a few minor things. 1) If you remove the magazine and De-cock the gun, you may not remember that you still have a pellet in the breech, so it's wiser to remove the mag. shoot the pellet out, De-cock and put your gun away. 2) I wish somehow when you load a pellet the safety would come on. 3) The bundle package, they won't let you change any of the bundle, like upgrading the scope and paying the difference. It's pretty minor stuff, but I can't give the rating a 4.9 here and if you think something should be changed....but I'm pleased as can be with this rifle.

    What others should know: This is my first PCP Air rifle, if it's yours, read the reviews, good and bad. If you think you know which one you want, read the manual. A lot of people complain about not knowing how this works or that works. I read a lot and have not had one problem with this gun. If I had known just how accurate this gun is, I would of bought this years ago. As for pumping the gun by hand. I'm 61, 4 damaged disc in my lower back, arthritis, in back and hands after decades of using jackhammers and pipe wrenches. After 16 shots, I use the pump 50 to 60 strokes, and no problem, use your upper body like in the video and you'll be fine.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Don from USA on 2017-12-12
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: Gun is very accurate, very quiet

    Things I would have changed: Nothing

    What others should know: Bought this as the ultimate combo unit, came with centerpoint 4-16 scope, gun is great, scope is sub par

     
  • 4.0 4.0

    4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Dean from USA on 2017-11-30
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating

    Things I liked: Everything except for the synthetic stock-- this rifel has amazing accuracy -- i can stack pellets at 30 yards - also hits MUCH harder then my break barrel benjamin XL NP 725-- at 15 yards the mauradr will be going all the way thru 3/4 inch plywood --love that its light - its very quiet so the power can be deciving -- i highly recommend this gun-- i can easily see why its so popular.

    Things I would have changed: Make the synthetic stock a higher grade -- feels a bit to plastic.

    What others should know: Shoots a carnicopia of pellets .. pick your fav & sight it in . If using a hand pump,i found 50 pumps equal 16 shots ... spend the money & just get a tank .. more so if your pushing 50 -wink-

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By David from USA on 2017-11-29
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating

    Things I liked: 1st and foremost, the service from PA. This was an early Xmas present on Black Friday. Paid for the 20 for 20 service - they installed and zero'd the scope purchased, chrono'd the gun (got the 0.22 cal) and stuck it in a case.

    Things I would have changed: Nada.

    What others should know: Pulled it out of the case, loaded up a mag, hand-pumped it up to 2500 psi (it came right at 2000 psi) and fired at 10m just for grins to see what I got for $20 extra. Literally didn't do anything else. It shot about 1 inch high, but the CTC for 10 shots was 0.38" using Crossman Premier HP (14.3gr). Those were the 1st ten pellets I pulled the trigger on after a single test fire I had hand-loaded into the breech (to set a point of aim on a piece of scrap composite board). I'll load the picture of the group.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Duke from USA on 2017-11-18
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating

    Things I liked: Everything. If you want 1/2" groups and consistently this is the best gun for the money. Skip the break barrel and take the plunge you will save money in the long run.

    Things I would have changed: Nothing

    What others should know: Fill pressure is crucial. Filling to 2600 does yield the most consistent shot group for 30 rounds.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Jesse from USA on 2017-11-15
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: Absolutely amazing rifle. Extremely accurate.

    Things I would have changed: It needs a depinger and regulator.

    What others should know: Gen2 rifles do come with a factory installed depinger. But it doesn't help much. It will need to be removed and a good aftermarket depinger installed.

     
  • 123 ... 1415 Next
Navigation