Date: 27/9/2020 10:2
0

Customer Reviews for Benjamin Trail NP2

Average Customer Review

3.5 (43 reviews)

Create an online review   and share your thoughts with other customers

The most helpful favorable review

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful:

Overall rating:5.0

Value for money:5.0

Accuracy:4.0

By vin from USA on 2014-06-09 06:50:17

Things I liked: The New NP2 Cocking Effort is extremely smooth and light. the trigger has a well defined second stage with a crisp pull. With out a cleaning and with no break in period(less then 250 pellets) i have seen some solid potential. 20 yard groups are consistently under a US Quarter $0.25 size, Taken on only a slight star shape. I expect this to Greatly improve after cleaning and break in(1000 or so pellets) Using Crosman Premiere Pellets 14.4gr I get 850-875fps. A spread of 15-25 fps Per shot. again this is something that should tighten up and overall speed should settle and increase as breakin is completed. As in the Pervious version of the Gun I plan on using Jsb 18.1 Diabolos Pellets for grouping. The Scope is a less chunky then its predecessor shaving a lot of weight off but still maintain a very reliable scope. the Semi-Mil-DOT STYLE imperfect for this guns range (10-60 Yards) with all the confidence that this gun will stretch out to 100y plus)

Things I would have changed: Its really unfair to Point out Anything I would change with this gun at this Point. It has exceeded expectations on most if not all ground. Some of the Predecessors Metal Parts (trigger guard and a few internal holders and bracers )have been exchanged for composite material or plastic. Im not sure this is bad at all... it very well could aid the Ridgid impact of the Pistion keeping vibration down as well as shaving off weight. Again i think this is a plus

What others should know: With out a Cleaning or Break in this Gun is Delivering 23.7 FPE over and over only to increase after breaking . A very NICE UPGRADE to a Great Gun Line.

The most helpful critical review

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:

Overall rating:1.0

Value for money:1.0

Accuracy:5.0

By brad from USA on 2014-08-11 20:39:16

Things I liked: Accuracy is quite good with this rifle.

Things I would have changed: Everything except accuracy. Pre-ordered this rifle and waited two months, just to receive an air rifle that wouldn't cock after 100 rounds. Pyramyd Air was easy to deal with for the return. Waited just over a month to get another one, and this one has a inconsistent trigger pull ranging from HEAVY to firing on its own when closing the barrel. Adjusting the trigger did not resolve this issue. This was certainly my last one, time to go back to RWS.

Sort by:
  • 123 Next
  • Showitems
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By leslie from USA on 2020-01-30
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: Accuracy the wait of the stock and the look of everything

    Things I would have changed: combined scope

    What others should know: I purchased the Benjamin Trail NP2 in the wood stock. From crosman And got one good deal at fraction of the cost. Although skeptical at first because of the flaws when it was first released I decided to give it a chance. Boy am I glad I gave it a chance at 30 yards I'm getting a dime size pattern and I get about 900 feet per second with the crosman ultra mag Domed 14.3 this gun is a tech driver I put this scope on 3-9x40 mm PLT Riflescope LONG RANGE MODEL Features Precision Lock Turrets with Side Focus Adjustment boy do I like this gun now thanks crosman

     
  • 4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By T.R. from USA on 2017-09-08
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: It's accurate with pellets it likes (for example, it seems to be happy with the .22 Gamo Rockets); the feel of it is nice, especially the thumbhole grip; it's not very loud at all; I like the looks of it (esthetically, a nice-looking rifle); the cocking is a tiny bit rough at first, but smooths out decidedly after 120 rounds or so. Fit and finish were both good.

    Things I would have changed: Plastic barrel shroud no good! No like! Replace with METAL shroud for durability! As for weight--that's not really a drawback anymore, in this day and age of affordable shooting tripods and such; in fact, more mass works out to less wobbling and slopping around when you bench it. Scope mounts--now THERE is a (relatively minor) issue: I don't dig the little wedge-shaped pinchy-type mounts that come with the rifle, because they simply don't seat straight in the grooves at the bottom of the (Picatinny?) rail on the rifle. For that, I take away one star. I will eventually investigate the possibility of using different scope-mounts, so stay tuned for further reports!

    What others should know: This rifle will punk out trash pandas (raccoons) and even opossums (which are VERY tough little monsters) with the right ammo (like Gamo Rockets), so if pest control is your goal, this will do the job on anything from bad birdies to bunnies to opossums to raccoons (listed in order of increasing size.) As for target-shooting: it'll do fine, but since it's not a light rifle, you'll seriously want to consider buying or making your own shooting tripod or shooting stick.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Ricky from USA on 2016-01-07
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: Accuracy Quality Stock Everything!

    Things I would have changed: Combined Scope

    What others should know: I purchased the Benjamin Train NP2 in the wood stock. Although skeptical at first because of the flaws when it was first released I decided to give it a chance. Crosman has overcome those problems, now the NP2 is a solid gun that can stomp any other breakbarrel in its class! If you're weary of buying this gun don't be! You're missing out! The only thing I would have changed is the combined scope, plan on throwing it out and replacing it. It is manageable for plinking, but to get the most out of the gun I recommend mounting a quality scope on it. One more thing, those saying it sounds like a .22 going off do not know what they're talking about (And probably have never heard a .22 rimfire being fired.) This gun is quiet, well built, has good accuracy, and is an all around excellent air rifle! Give it a second chance you won't be sorry! I will be posting updated pictures of my groupings with my Hawke Sidewinder 30.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Rabbi from USA on 2015-07-16
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: Got the .177 and the .22. I have to say, as with any good (I don't have any $1200 break barrels yet), break barrel, you have to wrestle a bit to calm it down...but both these guns are 'Air Rifles' at their finest. They feel right. They carry well in the field. And for me, they hold Zero with a Nikon on the .177 and a Hawke (which I don't usually love, but this one which is a Panorama EV rocks)on the .22. Hunting wise, they do their job. Question is can I do mine? These Benjys make it easier with the right pellets which is a whole other topic.

    Things I would have changed: I would've like there to have been a side or bottom rail for lasers etc.

    What others should know: My .177 sometimes feels like it's cocked when it isn't yet and it did smack me hard across the face one time. Funny on the Three Stooges but not funny here. On the other hand, it forced me to respect every aspect of this sport with greater concentration and concern for everyone's safety. These are lethal weapons. Speaking of which, by .22 shoot Eun Jin round heads beautifully up to 20 yds. Fun! Great guns! as is said.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Art from USA on 2015-07-15
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    4.02 ratings

    Things I liked: I have had this rifle now for several months in .22 caliber and have put over several hundred pellets through it. The weight of the rifle is good,In the effort it takes to cock the barrel is not bad at all. The furthest target I have hit with this rifle was at 75 yards using the 18 grain JSB pellets and I shot 3 out of 5 hitting a 6 inch target. 2 of them touched the bullseye. I think this rifle is perfectly adept at hitting targets at about 30 yards or so away with quarter to nickel sized groups. While I'm pretty confident I could hit a target at farther distances, I wouldnt want to risk wounding vs a clean kill at closer ranges. I think that it is accurate enough for consistently Correct shot placement at 30 to 40 yards or less. I found that JSB 18 grain pellets and the Crossman premier domed and hollow point gave the best accuracy. This is a much nicer and more powerful pellet rifle than my Benjamin pump rifle I owned as a teenager, and I have dispatched Nutria, ground squirrels

    Things I would have changed: It would have been nice to have some checkering on the stock for gripping.

    What others should know: It seems like it took me forever to get the scope zeroed in properly on this rifle. I first changed out the scope to a 4x, but realized the rifle needed more magnification, so I switched to a BSA sweet .22 scope 4-12. This rifle is absolutely backyard friendly and won't disturb neighbors.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    4.0 4.0

    By Gerald from USA on 2014-11-23
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating

    Things I liked: Right out of the box I thought that that the stock was too short but it is a very good fit for my average size. I found the trigger to be smooth and not as heavy as I expected. This allows it to shoot well. The noise dampening on this gun is quite impressive. I can hear the pellet hitting the target.

    Things I would have changed: I would like the option to have open sites also.

    What others should know: My rifle is in .22 caliber and I am yet to find alloy pellets at a store in this caliber.

  • 4.0 4.0

    4.0 4.0

    4.0 4.0

    By Gary from USA on 2014-10-26
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: I bought the .22 cal. and for the price this rifle is a pretty good value. Plenty of power and after break-in, shoots pretty accurate, with the right pellet.

    Things I would have changed: Offer the gun without a scope. I did not even mount the scope that came with it and went to a Hawke Sport HD 3x9x40 and was very pleased with the performance. I feel the trigger travel is a long trip on the first stage and takes some getting used to. It is much longer than most of my other air gun triggers and could use some improvement. The barrel shroud tends to loosen with cocking but can easily be tightened, just afraid of tightening to much and stripping or cracking the plastic parts.

    What others should know: This rifle is like a good whiskey, that gets better with time and a broken in barrel.I found the gun pretty rough to shoot to start buth the locking mechanism at the closing latch and should have been machined smoother. It took 200 to 300 pellets to get things settled down, but it gets better and better going forward. You just have to put pellets through this gun to get it broken in, and once you have done your due diligence, it rewards you with consistent accuracy.Over-all I like the gun more and more as I use it, and this is a good value and will be a good hunter. Just get remember to get a better scope. Oh and If I did it again I would get the synthetic stock, just a personal preference.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By joe from USA on 2014-10-23
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: this gun is great once you get a scope that will work on it. i am using a hawke varmint 2-10x40 or somethin. i got 10 shots in a about 10 shots or so in a once inch bull at 30 yards with baracuda greens .22

    Things I would have changed: i cant think of anything i would change. oh better quality wood.

    What others should know: i think the wood is cheap not real wood. when i got it i never bothered to tighten the nuts in the stock to the receiver. once i did that everything came together. im using the hawke varmint 2-10 now im not expecting this scope to last long on this gun because the gun has so much recoil i suggest this scope type so far to get you started 149 bucks and save up to get alot nicer of a scope. leupold vx-3 with twin bias springs or a leupold mark 4 with twin bias springs i highly recommend these 2 scopes but they run about 7 to 8 hundred dollars. go with the hawke first like i said i dont know if this scope will last if it does i will stay with it if not im getting a Leupold Mark 4 Precision Rifle Long Range Rifle Scope 30mm Tube 4.5-14x 40mm Side Focus Matte i wont have any problems with this scope they use it on a 50bmg it will hold under the np2.

  • 5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    4.0 4.0

    By Joe from USA on 2014-09-07
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: The accuracy is what I expect from a break barrel. At 25 yards I am able to get 0.5-0.6" with the right pellet (CPHs, and Baracudas did good for me, I have a .22). Trigger is a definite improvement over NP1s.

    Things I would have changed: Thumbhole is a bit ackward for my hand, but not too bad.

    What others should know: Looks like Crosman fixed all the issues reported originally...

     
  • 1.0 1.0

    1.0 1.0

    5.0 5.0

    By brad from USA on 2014-08-11
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    3.01 rating

    Things I liked: Accuracy is quite good with this rifle.

    Things I would have changed: Everything except accuracy. Pre-ordered this rifle and waited two months, just to receive an air rifle that wouldn't cock after 100 rounds. Pyramyd Air was easy to deal with for the return. Waited just over a month to get another one, and this one has a inconsistent trigger pull ranging from HEAVY to firing on its own when closing the barrel. Adjusting the trigger did not resolve this issue. This was certainly my last one, time to go back to RWS.

     
  • 2.0 2.0

    2.0 2.0

    2.0 2.0

    By Edward from USA on 2014-08-11
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    4.01 rating

    Things I liked: The trigger is a an improvement.

    Things I would have changed: The stock, the scope. Quality control, all the stock screws were loose and the mussel shrowd was loose.

    What others should know: Not as advertised. Very heavy. The stock looks and feels like you are holding a 2x4 rather than a quality rifle. It is very generic, no name, emblem or checkering of any kind. At 68 I was looking for an easy to cock rifle this one was no easier to cock than my NP nor was it any quieter. The scope is a down grade from the NP scope it has no AO adjustment. I can not comment on the accuracy, I believe you should put at least a tin of pellets through a rifle before giving any judgement and I returned this rifle after 10 or 15 shots, the mechanics and grouping may be very good.

     
  • 2.0 2.0

    2.0 2.0

    3.0 3.0

    By Bill from USA on 2014-08-10
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: I like that it takes less effort to cock the rifle. It's a big improvement especially over the NP 1100 XL.

    Things I would have changed: Quality control needs to be improved concerning the appearance of the rifles leaving the factory. MY NP2 had a chip out of the top of the barrel right at the breech. Secondly the picatinny rail was roughed up on top as if someone had tried to mount a scope but did not know what they were doing. It looked like a used rifle. I sent it to Crosman for replacement.

    What others should know: Be aware that after a long wait I now have a replacement for the NP2 mentioned above and it arrived in great shape with no obvious manufacturing defects. It looks great. I have put about 150 pellets through it and the accuracy is coming along nicely. I replaced the Centerpoint scope with a nice Leapers 3-12x44 SWAT compact scope (from PA) and it is doing a much better job of not shaking loose. I would love to review my NP2 again after I break it in and check out the accuracy at 30 and 40 yards at the range.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By gary from USA on 2014-08-10
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: this is my replacement rifle and just like the first one its a great rifle.The scope mts seem to be a lot better and aft almost 1000 shots everything seem to be as adv.the accuracy is great using diaoblo 18;13 grs

    Things I would have changed: better scope

    What others should know: the wood stock rifle is on the heavy side but this maybe the reason its so accurate.Regardless ,its worth every penny gt

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By zinger from USA on 2014-08-10
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: The Benjamin np2is a very good gun, I waited for months to get mine mounted the scope sited it in ,now hitting bullets at 30-40 yards all day long, the right size for me

    Things I would have changed: Make the stain a little darker include a shoulder strape

    What others should know: Not one thing I injoy the two np2 I ordered have fun and enjoy your new np2 and have fun you air gunners

     
  • 4.0 4.0

    4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Richard from USA on 2014-08-10
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    1.01 rating

    Things I liked: fairly light, accurate after 50 rounds and some shim.

    Things I would have changed: Trigger pull was crisp, like the Crossman bone collector trigger is better.

  • 4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    By Brady from USA on 2014-08-05
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: Its nice and heavy.

    Things I would have changed: Better scope. and quiter

    What others should know: the scope sucks the one i got didnt even adjust at all and i cant even hit a 4 in. target at 15 yards with the scope it comes with

     
  • 3.0 3.0

    2.0 2.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Philip from USA on 2014-07-30
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: I like the overall appearance of the rifle. Accurate with a variety of pellets. Seems solid and locks up tight.

    Things I would have changed: The trigger is o.k. I adjusted the stage until I had the least amount of travel to release, still too much and pull a little too crisp. Took a bit of practice to get used to it.

    What others should know: This gun was hyped up for a year, late to production, hard to come by for a while, and a bit over rated. I almost passed it by, and probably should have. Although this rifle was designed, engineered, and assembled in U.S.A., I am sure it's parts were made in China. Gonna keep it because it hits hard and on target.

     
  • 3.0 3.0

    3.0 3.0

    4.0 4.0

    By Leon from USA on 2014-07-26
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: Cool appearance & quiet.

    Things I would have changed: Where do I start? The main gripe I have is the plastic muzzle brake: Combined with the ridiculous cocking effort (nowhere near 28 lbs) this thing is going to snap in half soon and I will be replacing it with something from Muzzle Mack (if I am lucky). The stock really should have been stippled or checkered. I would have preferred paying more for both, this rifle should be the 'Crosman' version (the Chevy) with a better build wearing the Benjamin moniker for $400 (the Caddy). They may have had a good gun on paper but went too cheap in the end possibly due to some arbitrary price point they were holding and subsequent cost overruns. Scope shipped with it also appeared to be undersized and generally inadequate for this rifle (I suggest shipping it with a better muzzle brake and letting the customer pick out their own scope).

    What others should know: This is obviously not the same rifle Tom Gaylord reviewed in January at the air gun show, read his June review before buying this rifle. I am disappointed with this rifle but like the performance enough to hold on to it considering all of its short comings. I think Crosman missed their mark here because they had an opportunity to hit this one out of the park but hit a pop fly to the center fielder instead. Maybe next time.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By chris from USA on 2014-07-11
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: This gun is the best break barrel rifle I have ever shot. I have been shooting break barrels since I was 14. I am now 39 and use air rifles for practice and hunting. The action in the piston is smooth. The grouping is excellent. I am currently shooting this gun at targets in the 75 yard range. I practically cut an aerosol can in half with four shots using H & N field target trophy 14.66 gr pellets. I also up fitted the rifle with a UTG adjustable parallax scope. It really seems to like the H & N pellets. The Barracuda pellets hit low and left repeatedly, so if hunting with these, you will need to adjust you scope. The trigger is also A+. My first one was one of the recall models and the scope rail fell off, but crossman replaced it with no problem.

    Things I would have changed: Nothing

    What others should know: Getting accurate with this gun is much easier than a high power spring gun. experiment with pellets to find your most accurate for your shooting style.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By zinger from USA on 2014-06-30
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: The looks and feel, the weight, the pull on the trigger, the length of the gun accuracy is there I am shooting at 30 to 40 yard's and I am hitting quarter size spot on target it takes practice and time and patience

    Things I would have changed: It needs a better scope, how about a 3/9/40 scope and a shoulder strap and a darker stain

    What others should know: It's a big gun happy shooting air gunner's from zinger z from H KANSAS

  • 123 Next
Navigation