Date: 16/1/2019 14:28
0

Umarex Gauntlet PCP. 2252603. Customer Reviews - page 1

Average Customer Review

4.5 (108 reviews)

Create an online review   and share your thoughts with other customers

The most helpful favorable review

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful:

Overall rating:5.0

Value for money:5.0

Accuracy:5.0

By Stephen from USA on 2017-11-05 09:46:01

Things I liked: Everything, great value, 80 shots on target, one air fill!

Things I would have changed: Better fit on the fore end......but I can live with it :)

What others should know: Nice large bolt handle that is not going to snap off. Very accurate and amazing consistency. I shot 8 10 shot crono strings with one tank of air. String #1 was 823.2 FPS, string #7 was 823.0 FPS between those string 2 was the lowest at 821 FPS and #3 was the fastest @835.9 FPS I was using cheap Wal-Mart Crossman pellets, unsorted right out of the can. Better pellets would probably give better results. Oh and all those shots went thru a single hole about 3/8" in diameter.

The most helpful critical review

0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:

Overall rating:1.0

Value for money:1.0

Accuracy:5.0

By Eric from USA on 2017-12-18 21:33:58

Things I liked: I preordered my .22 Gauntlet in July. I got it 2 weeks ago and to my surprise it does not hold air. The bottle was about 3/4 of a turn from tight which made the gauge and Foster fitting not line up with the hand guard. I tightened up the bottle just hand tight and filled the bottle. I took a few shots and was able to sight the gun in 5 shots from 35 yards. It was impressing as it was very accurate. I looked at the gauge and the tank was below 2000k. I refilled the tank and put the gun up for the night. Next morning the tank had barely a farts worth of air. I took off the tank and filled it and it held air. I drained the tank and put it back on the Gauntlet hoping it would still have air in the morning but it was not the case. Contacted PA and they gave me a shipping label to send it back to them. We will see what the next gun looks like. Merry Christmas.

Things I would have changed: Fore end that covers the tank is difficult when putting back on the gun. Thought it would be quieter.

What others should know: Once the bugs get worked out I think we will see a very accurate and high shot count air rifle.

Sort by:
  • 123 ... 56 Next
  • Showitems
  • 2.0 2.0

    3.0 3.0

    4.0 4.0

    By john from USA on 2019-01-15
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: In expensive pcp. I bought it in a .25 cal. Feels nice in your hand.

    Things I would have changed: Forend seems flimsy. And the cover for the port in which you fill the gun with air is cheap and would be easily misplaced.

    What others should know: My gun began to constantly leak air after 20 shots straight out of the box new. Good news is pyramid air is replacing it for me. Hoping no issues with new gun.

     
  • 2.0 2.0

    2.0 2.0

    4.0 4.0

    By steve from USA on 2019-01-15
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Its a accurate pellet rifle, however , this is the second one Ive had ,the first one was so hard to cock that I thought the bolt handle would break! I sent it back for a replacement, and its very hard to cock also! The only choice you have is to tear it down and polish the working parts, also bought a tune up kit(more money) thats the only way to smooth the action!!!!!??

    Things I would have changed: The fit of the stock, and polish the parts before assembly, should have much better quality control...I will never buy another Umarex airgun again! I would recommend anyone wanting to buy one to test it first!

    What others should know: The gauntlet is junk!!!

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Gary from USA on 2019-01-14
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: It shoots great right out of the box, love the accuracy this is my first PCP and so far I love it. The trigger was awesome did not need to adjust it at all. I only shot springers in the past and this was a joy to shoot.

    Things I would have changed: I think that maybe a larger bottle would be great so you could get more shots

    What others should know: I bought a hill hand pump with mine and it works great, but I think I might have to look into a compressor are are something.

     
  • 4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Ean from USA on 2019-01-13
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: I love the ability of how many shots per charge and 1/4 groups at 20 yards.

    Things I would have changed: It is very heavy and long. Cocking could be more smooth.

    What others should know: Well worth the money.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Rony from USA on 2019-01-10
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: The Gauntlet I received in caliber 25 is very well made. Since the very first moment I held it my hand the feeling was of solidness. I believe the effort to pull the bolt back on mine is on the strong side but I have read that this common to break in. The impression I got when I fired off the first shot was that of a weak noise not belonging to anything powerful, boy was I mistaken. This gun in 25 caliber means business. I put a 3-9x32 Centerpoint scope on my Gauntlet and by the fourth shot I was making a 3/8 inch group of 8 plus shots at 20 yards using 28g Benjamin domes. From there and on the same tank fill I went on to shoot 2x2 inch metal targets at 40 yards with super ease and no problems at all of sensitivity while aiming from a rest position. By the impact of the 28grs on the metal targets and beer cans filled with water I estimate around 840 FPS with these pellets. The gun came with a certificate or 10 for 10 that shows my gun shooting 20grs at 939 FPS.

    Things I would have changed: I have had this gun for a couple of days , time will tell. Good things I can say is that my Gauntlet compared to my magnum spring guns is a lightweight. Barrel on mine straight as an arrow in relation to the stock . Stock is plastic but solid and the forearm before the tank cover is slender and ergonomic. The sling swivels I have to get used to , seem kind of big and bulky. The Power wise I can tell you a large iguana at 30 yards hit the dirt with a single shot close or around the head. This gun will easily take down a large rooster or similar small game with a body shot.

    What others should know: The magazine that comes with the rifle works on mine just fine, I ordered an extra one with the gun. The single shot tray is a blast and in mine once I load the pellet I just release the bolt that springs foward and automatically seats the pellet. I think that with the single shot tray I am getting more shots per tank fill. With the magazine I got 24 good shots the first time I shot my Gauntlet. The gun jammed on me using the single shot tray the first time I believe I did not pull the bolt far back enough and the safety was midway engaged. Got it working again by bumping the stock with my hand? The way they packaged this gun is impressive. This rifle is made in China but Umarex has hit the ball out of the park on quality. Cant go without saying that the barrel band on the 25 caliber is home run also. I was in doubt about buying the Gauntlet because in 22 and 177 their were issues with barrel movements- no such thing in the 25 caliber I received.

  • 2.0 2.0

    5.0 5.0

    1.0 1.0

    By Michael from USA on 2019-01-08
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: I love that this is such a great REGULATED pcp for 300 bucks but i believe i honestly got a lemon no fault to pyramid i just wish who ever umarex outsourced there parts from had better QC

    Things I would have changed: 1 the fact that there is no forend picitanny rail 2 the fact that the bottle has to be loose fitting to properly align with the bottle gaurd slots 3 if you know the airstrippers are weak hmm i sont know make a new one like hajimotos btw huge upgrade little rough but works great and what do you know isn't broken when you get it 4 the dimensions of the o ring on the airstripper is tiny it does no good at all being their swapp it out for a #10 from ace i cant remember exact dimensions of the replacement but get one that keeps your barrel centered in the shroud so it should fill the space between the shroud and airstipper 5 msg to umarex if your consumers are telling you that specific parts of your gun keep failing it would be a good idea to remedy those specific issues like putting a rotational lock ring on the regulator so it can be snugged up for a proper fit or is hpa not that much of a big deal the air stripper simple make hajimoto a deal and ask for his opinion of possible fixes

    What others should know: When you get yours immediately check your air stripper then check for any leaks after filling and i truly believe i just got a lemon don't base your purchase off my bad experience with the .25 cal i also have the .22 cal and simply love it really 0 complaints about the .22cal version which is why im exchanging my .25 cal for another .25 cal hopefully ill be recieving my new one in about a week pyramid is doing an excellent job of taking care of this problem.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By greg from USA on 2019-01-04
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Accuracy is good,no problems with POI/barrel shift. Mags work great. Well worth the money.

    Things I would have changed: Plastic on barrel cover not that great had to heat and reform the ends. Undersized O ring on the air stripper

    What others should know: My air stripper wasn't cracked but O ring needed replaced. The trigger is nice and crisp after cleaning,adding some lithium grease and adjusting. My gun will not chamber predator GTO's. Out of the box JSB 25.39 were 874-881, I tested the reg it was 1750 psi. Added shims to 2050psi, haven't tested yet. Can't go wrong with this gun.

     
  • 4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    By Obed from USA on 2019-01-02
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Accurate right out of the box. Great Value

    Things I would have changed: The bolt action is less than optimal. It is just not smooth and clean; it seems that I fight with it more than I expected. The forearm shroud is a little wonky.

    What others should know: The JSB Diabolo Exact Jumbo Express .22 Cal, 14.3 Grains, domed worked best at 10 and 20 yds. At 40 yds, the H&N Baracuda Match Domed, .22 Caliber, 21.14 Grains worked better as there was a little wind. I polished the trigger (sear engagement points), replaced the spring, and adjusted the travel and reset. Made a big difference to me

     
  • 4.0 4.0

    4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Jeff from USA on 2018-12-31
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Consistent Power ,Light Weight easy to fill

    Things I would have changed: Bigger Fill Bottle

    What others should know: Great Gun for the Money Plenty of Power for small Game

     
  • 2.0 2.0

    2.0 2.0

    2.0 2.0

    By Brian from USA on 2018-12-22
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: Lots of shots on a charge

    Things I would have changed: Needs a better trigger, needs a barrel band.

    What others should know: Have to sight it in every time I shoot it. It doesn't group very good at all Very disappointed, I was expecting a much better gun.

     
  • 3.0 3.0

    5.0 5.0

    By David from USA on 2018-12-16
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Has a regulated power system.

    Things I would have changed: I'm not sure how Umerix could fix or change this so here goes. To me the gun had a cheap feel to it. "Any" pressure on the barrel will cause it to move. The forend is large that protects the air bottle up front. Forword sling swivel is in a odd location because the forend seems to week to support it. Better quality control...my gun was shipped from factory with a piece of the forend broken off.

    What others should know: I contacted Pyramid Air with regard to the problem with the rifle. They were fantastic. I was issued a return slip and I returned it. I opted to get a Benjamin Marauder and I'm much more happier with it. PA has definitely earned my respect as a top notch company to do business with.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    By STEVE from USA on 2018-11-18
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    1.02 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: ACCURACY --- VERY ACCURATE

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Orlando from USA on 2018-11-11
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    1.52 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: I like how quiet it shot.

    Things I would have changed: Nothing

    What others should know: Buy one.

  • 1.0 1.0

    3.0 3.0

    4.0 4.0

    By Carleton from USA on 2018-11-05
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    2.25 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Accurate for the price. Trigger is good. Noise level is low.

    Things I would have changed: This rifle is like Frankenstein's monster. It is an ugly hodgepodge of random parts cobbled together to create a crude, heavy, unbalanced, awkward to carry gun. Placement of the ridiculously long sling studs makes carrying with a sling unbalanced. The forearm piece is poorly designed and bulky. Overall quality and workmanship is poor. Umarex should recall these guns and add a barrel band free of charge. Because there is no barrel band, the point of impact shifts if the barrel is bumped even lightly. This is a major design flaw.

    What others should know: I would not recommend this gun. Despite its accuracy and price, the feel and handling of the gun is terrible.

     
  • 3.0 3.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Michael from USA on 2018-10-26
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    4.01 rating

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Love the price and that it is not too picky with what pellet it will shoot accurately. I have had good luck with Crosman premiers in hollow points and Domed Ultra Magnums and of course JSB 15.89.

    Things I would have changed: I would change two things, make the bolt easier to use (it's hard to cock) and put a barrel band on it !

    What others should know: Your going to have to get an aftermarket barrel band or you will be sighting the gun in every time you bump the barrel .

     
  • 4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Joseph from USA on 2018-10-16
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: The gauntlet has the ability to group very well, 3/4 IN @ 75 yds. With trigger adj. and careful attention not to knock the free floating barrel around. The shot count and consistency is impressive. This gun easily shoots hole touching hole consistency at 25-30 yds. The bolt is rather hard to cycle but can be worked in and dry sylicone spray added to improve.

    Things I would have changed: The weight of the gun is a little heavy for hunting. I would also not recommend this free floating barrel for hunting in the bush.

    What others should know: The shot count and regulated consistency is impressive given the price point. The advertised pellet speed was not acheived with my gun. My gun was regulated to a pressure of 1100. psi. however the receiver states it is capable of 1250 psi. Im sure for increased shot count. Great adjustability and my gauntlet seems to like jsb exacts jumbo heavy 18.13. I tend to shoot longer distances 60-75 yds 2-10 mph wind.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By jody from USA on 2018-10-15
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: price of course, for the money this gun will shoot with $1000 guns, my Guantlet is shooting dime groups at 40 yards.

    Things I would have changed: Barell band would be nice for this gun, the barell is very sensitive to be bumped and poi changing.

    What others should know: for the money you can not go wrong with this gun, a little heavy but that does not bother me

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    By William from USA on 2018-10-06
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: heavy and just cool looking

    Things I would have changed: have a storage in the stock for mags

    What others should know: just a all around nice air gun\

     
  • 4.0 4.0

    4.0 4.0

    4.0 4.0

    By James from USA on 2018-09-29
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Love the rifle! Very accurate!

    Things I would have changed: Smoother bolt.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By William from USA on 2018-09-28
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: This air rifle is the best bargain, I have come across since getting in to air rifles. accuracy is in credible and I adjusted my own trigger with your instructions, and the let off is one of the reasons it shoots so good. You can't go wrong with this purchase.

    Things I would have changed: in my situation nothing

    What others should know: buy it ,! try it, like it

     
  • 123 ... 56 Next
Navigation