Date: 23/1/2021 2:5
0

Customer Reviews for Crosman Genesis NP

Average Customer Review

3.5 (6 reviews)
3 star2 star

Create an online review   and share your thoughts with other customers

The most helpful favorable review

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:

Overall rating:5.0

Value for money:5.0

Accuracy:5.0

By Clay from USA on 2015-10-30 04:15:03

Things I liked: The weaver rail, functional suppressor, sling mounts and a classic style stock.

Things I would have changed: I the trigger and the scope, and so I mounted a hawke 2-7 x 32 and installed gtr3 trigger. Now it feels and shoots awesome. Trigger modification will void the factory warranty, so I put plenty of rounds through it to ensure the rifle wasn't a dud before I made the swap.

What others should know: Basically it's a benjamin trail np with a crosman nitro venom stock. If you wat to see video reviews for this look up the tail np for the performance and the wood stock nitro venom for looks. I have the .177 cal and it loves JSB diabolo exact with H&N barracuda power as the next best pellet that I've shot.

The most helpful critical review

0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:

Overall rating:1.0

Value for money:1.0

Accuracy:1.0

By JOHN from USA on 2017-03-05 20:32:33

Things I liked: It was lighter then I expected. My kid could easily handle it.

Things I would have changed: Well it 2nd shot so not much to say. Too small sample size.

What others should know: Fired once and it worked well. 2nd time it jammed or broke internally. Barreled moved but had no resistance. Called pyramid and they told me to send it back and they will check it out and fix or send a new one. Would take 2-3 weeks to get it back to me. It was my daughters bday present. Major bummer. Even worse I was told I had to go online to complete the return. Some irritation later and I am shipping back tomorrow with the return tag they provided. I am going to order a hatsan with the hopes they refund my money when they receive the genesis back.

Sort by:
  • 4.0 4.0

    4.0 4.0

    3.0 3.0

    By Daniel from USA on 2017-07-13
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    4.02 ratings

    Things I liked: Nitro piston. Nice looking gun. Able to use a sling.

    Things I would have changed: A darker finish on the stock would be nice. The scope makes a very nice paper weight.

    What others should know: The break in period for this gun was approximately 600 shots. It was long and irritating. After that the gun is insanely accurate. Nice power too.

     
  • 1.0 1.0

    1.0 1.0

    1.0 1.0

    By JOHN from USA on 2017-03-05
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: It was lighter then I expected. My kid could easily handle it.

    Things I would have changed: Well it 2nd shot so not much to say. Too small sample size.

    What others should know: Fired once and it worked well. 2nd time it jammed or broke internally. Barreled moved but had no resistance. Called pyramid and they told me to send it back and they will check it out and fix or send a new one. Would take 2-3 weeks to get it back to me. It was my daughters bday present. Major bummer. Even worse I was told I had to go online to complete the return. Some irritation later and I am shipping back tomorrow with the return tag they provided. I am going to order a hatsan with the hopes they refund my money when they receive the genesis back.

     
  • 4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    By George from USA on 2016-07-28
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.02 ratings

    Things I liked: I have the .22 cal. Classic stock with sling swivels. Reminded me of an old Marlin .22 I had as a kid. Its not hard wood so it lightens up the total gun weight, its blonde in color, easy to cock. Light at 7.6lbs it exhibits some pleasant kick but a gun you can shoot and carry all day. I added a Benny Premium sling that I had to chamfer the corners of the loop end to get through the loop ring, but adjusts fine thereafter. Bluing is good and the Nitro piston is smooth. I added a Leapers 3-9x40mm Ill. Mil dot scope with the weaver mounts that came with the rifle as the ones with the scope were not Weavers. If you have a 40mm and use these mounts, the front flip cap cover will not fit. Loctite mount screws, forearm screws. After day three it shoots 1" group at 30yds with JSB domed 14.3 and 15.89. Didn't like the JSB 18.13 or the H&N Hunter HP 18.21 much even after cleaning the barrel for heavy dieseling. Next shot after was bulls eye, but they didn't pattern as well. Hated Crossman Premier

    Things I would have changed: It has a Crossman Trigger. The second stage adjustment for travel is ok, and after some tinkering I found a spot where the pull was still too long, but smooth to pull even though still a little hard to pull. It is not terrible and you should find a place that works for you. Crossman should give this otherwise great rifle a better trigger, and maybe upgrade the stock quality a bit, which would add to the classic style and maybe help accuracy a little too. The stock is good as is, its perfect fit and shoulders to the same spot every time and places the cheek correctly, but I would pay for a hard wood finished stock just to make the gun a little better.

    What others should know: I first purchased a Hatsan 125 Camo Vortex that developed a mechanical problem about 125 shots in. The power of the 125 is substantial, its accurate, and its heavy. I found I had to reach for the trigger some though, and it takes some effort to cock it at 50lbs, but its not over bearing. Unfortunate to have the problem but can happen with all things mechanical. PA's customer service promptly issued the return shipping and I ordered the Genesis which came the next day. If you didn't buy from PA you already made a mistake. Because of their customer service and Tech team, I am not afraid to buy any gun from them, and buy all of my air guns from PA. Period. Overall this is a great low cost, mid-weight, nitro piston, wood stock, steel barrel rifle that will put the grocery's in the cart if you need to. Give this rifle a chance, it won't disappoint you.

  • 4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    By Hoosier Daddy from USA on 2016-07-16
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.02 ratings

    Things I liked: Nice air gun for the price! METAL construction, no plastic Sling mounts.

    Things I would have changed: Color of the wood stock, Classic Crosman long trigger pull.

    What others should know: I purchased this Crosman Genesis NP after much research and not finding out a whole lot of info. Even the Crosman website is sparse. When it arrived I was pleasantly surprised at what a nice unit it is. Fits me well. 6' with 35" sleeve length. It is't a top of the line gun, but at the price it's worth every penny then some. I have shot about 500 pellets of various makes. It performs well with the Crosman Premier Ultra Magnums and JSP Exact Jumbo Heavy's While I consider this a great gun for the money out of the box, the "Things I would change" has already been done. Stripped the blonde wood and stained it darker then refinished with Tru-oil and the stock is BEAUTIFUL now. Trigger mods are available online to easily make it 100% better than the long pull Crosman factory piece. All in all, I consider this a wood stock version of the Benjamin Trail NP. THANKS!

  • 4.0 4.0

    4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    By frangable from USA on 2016-02-29
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    4.52 ratings

    Things I liked: I purchased a Crosman Genesis in .177 cal. for a general target shooting and plinking rifle and to see if it is as quiet as advertised. I fully intended on scrapping the 4X scope mine came supplied with, so there was no hard feelings there. I did use the supplied rings to mount a BSA 3-9X40 scope I have had good service from on a number of my hard-recoiling break barrel rifles. They advertised this rifle as being a softer shooting rifle because of it's gas piston, and it does live up to this claim. The safety is not an automatic-setting type, which I Iike. I'm a big boy and can engage my safety when I see fit, and do not have to have it engaged for me. The trigger is not terrible and I have not yet tried any adjustments to it. I do not have more than 200 rounds through the barrel yet, and I am seeing groups of about 1 1/2" inches at 25 yards using shooting sticks, so I consider the accuracy good and improving.

    Things I would have changed: The rifle could be more attractive if a little more work was done to the stock. I have already had a few small chips of wood disappear from the pressed "checkering" around the pistol grip. The metalwork is very good and the barrel is easy to cock and catches smoothly. I find the balance to be very good.

    What others should know: I found my best accuracy was achieved using Crosman Premier Ultra Magnums @ 10.5 gr. If someone is looking for an all purpose .177, this might suit your needs. It has plenty of power, is accurate, and very quiet.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Clay from USA on 2015-10-30
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    4.01 rating

    Things I liked: The weaver rail, functional suppressor, sling mounts and a classic style stock.

    Things I would have changed: I the trigger and the scope, and so I mounted a hawke 2-7 x 32 and installed gtr3 trigger. Now it feels and shoots awesome. Trigger modification will void the factory warranty, so I put plenty of rounds through it to ensure the rifle wasn't a dud before I made the swap.

    What others should know: Basically it's a benjamin trail np with a crosman nitro venom stock. If you wat to see video reviews for this look up the tail np for the performance and the wood stock nitro venom for looks. I have the .177 cal and it loves JSB diabolo exact with H&N barracuda power as the next best pellet that I've shot.

Navigation