Date: 8/8/2020 19:47
0

Customer Reviews for Seneca Aspen PCP

Average Customer Review

4.0 (76 reviews)

Create an online review   and share your thoughts with other customers

The most helpful favorable review

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful:

Overall rating:5.0

Value for money:5.0

Accuracy:5.0

By John from USA on 2019-01-25 21:00:26

Things I liked: The trigger is very nice right out of the box. Side lever is smooth and solid. Pump handle is long and smooth. This is one of the most accurate rifles I have owned. 1/2 hole 10 pellets. 17 yards it's all I got in the basement. I am impressed, it's a keeper. I will stretch it out when it warms up 5 degrees today.

Things I would have changed: Stocks a little bulky. Maybe some rubberized texture for grip. Swap out scope with a veriable power. ( old eyes 4 power is not enough) It is a mill dot though with Adjustable parallax nice touch.

What others should know: If you are on the fence about this gun ,don't be just pull the trigger. :) For a entry level pcp it pretty nice. I bought the 22 cal.

The most helpful critical review

0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:

Overall rating:1.0

Value for money:1.0

Accuracy:1.0

By Don from USA on 2020-05-23 18:01:26

Things I liked: So, nothing, let's start by saying, really wanted to LOVE this rifle, sorry, just can't. First copy failed with the bolt jamming with the armature snapping clean in half. It was reasonably accurate at 20 yds but not past that. Second copy, complete trash. Trigger slopped side to side like a loose tooth in a kids mouth about to fall out. Scope parallax adjustment ring mounted 180 degrees off so focused set at 5 yds at 30 yds. Okay was willing to bite the bullet on those 2 issues but less than 200 rnds through guess what? PUMP FAILURE and had only been pumping to 2600 psi as the chronograph showed 2600 - 2300 was the sweet spot for consistent velocity. Oiled with included silicone oil 8 drops every 300 pumps per MFR instructions. Final thoughts, great concept, execution is CHINESE MADE JUNK. Pyramid has been great in the return process and making things right, great company just a bad product. Wanting a good PCP will be coming back to Pyramid for that purchase.

Things I would have changed: First off, would pay $500 for this rifle if made in USA with solid parts and good quality control/reliability. Supported Pyramid who are an American company by giving them as much business as I could instead of going with Amazon for the same products at lower price points during the Chinese corona virus pandemic. To Josh Ungier the CEO at Pyramid, repatriot your supply chain wherever you can and focus on other more reliable countries than China that produce quality products, America does not want cheap Chinese made unreliable products. We do want reliable quality products and are willing to pay more for them as they will last and serve us better in the long term. These are available from a variety of sources, America, Spain, Turkey, concentrate on quality first, that's a recipe for success and whenever you can support your country in your supply chain and product lines.

What others should know: Josh Ungier, Pyramid, stop selling the Aspen, it is a prime example of a great concept which is poorly executed. If you purchase this rifle you are literally rolling dice, not a gambler? Then stay away.

Sort by:
  • 1234 Next
  • Showitems
  • 2.0 2.0

    2.0 2.0

    2.0 2.0

    By Loren from USA on 2020-06-09
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: It is a cool idea...

    Things I would have changed: The pump is not very efficient.

    What others should know: They say 60 pumps to fill to max but in reality 60 pumps gets you about 800psi. And another 60 pumps to get up to around 1000psi. After that 60 another 60 pumps and you will get close to 2000psi but not quite. Once you get the fill needle into the green it seems to work a little better. But then one ten round mag on low power brings you right to the bottom of the green on the pressure gauge. It is a cool rifle just not as cool as I had hoped. In short I wish I had spent more and just bought a compressor and a different rifle. This one isn't worth it.

     
  • 1.0 1.0

    1.0 1.0

    1.0 1.0

    By Don from USA on 2020-05-23
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: So, nothing, let's start by saying, really wanted to LOVE this rifle, sorry, just can't. First copy failed with the bolt jamming with the armature snapping clean in half. It was reasonably accurate at 20 yds but not past that. Second copy, complete trash. Trigger slopped side to side like a loose tooth in a kids mouth about to fall out. Scope parallax adjustment ring mounted 180 degrees off so focused set at 5 yds at 30 yds. Okay was willing to bite the bullet on those 2 issues but less than 200 rnds through guess what? PUMP FAILURE and had only been pumping to 2600 psi as the chronograph showed 2600 - 2300 was the sweet spot for consistent velocity. Oiled with included silicone oil 8 drops every 300 pumps per MFR instructions. Final thoughts, great concept, execution is CHINESE MADE JUNK. Pyramid has been great in the return process and making things right, great company just a bad product. Wanting a good PCP will be coming back to Pyramid for that purchase.

    Things I would have changed: First off, would pay $500 for this rifle if made in USA with solid parts and good quality control/reliability. Supported Pyramid who are an American company by giving them as much business as I could instead of going with Amazon for the same products at lower price points during the Chinese corona virus pandemic. To Josh Ungier the CEO at Pyramid, repatriot your supply chain wherever you can and focus on other more reliable countries than China that produce quality products, America does not want cheap Chinese made unreliable products. We do want reliable quality products and are willing to pay more for them as they will last and serve us better in the long term. These are available from a variety of sources, America, Spain, Turkey, concentrate on quality first, that's a recipe for success and whenever you can support your country in your supply chain and product lines.

    What others should know: Josh Ungier, Pyramid, stop selling the Aspen, it is a prime example of a great concept which is poorly executed. If you purchase this rifle you are literally rolling dice, not a gambler? Then stay away.

     
  • 4.0 4.0

    4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Shabar from USA on 2020-05-17
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Love it in 25 cal! Accurate... Still functions dispite leak... Plenty of power though slower than competitors... Low power is plenty for backyard pesting... PCP pump built-in!

    Things I would have changed: Fix leaky pump and offer solution to current owners... Bigger air cylinder... More power, maybe 950 fps (.25)... Offer in 30 cal... Block double feed...

    What others should know: Started leaking while pumping but stops and holds pressure. The gun still seems to function well. I emailed PA while still within 30 days of purchase to possibly return but got no response.

     
  • 4.0 4.0

    4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Torrell from USA on 2020-04-27
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Its great. I dialed my scope in perfectly. Everything i expected

    Things I would have changed: Not pumping so many times

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Brian from USA on 2020-04-23
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Gun is extremely accurate. The built in pump function works smoothly & is fairly easy to pump. Gun feels good when shouldering it to fire.

     
  • 2.0 2.0

    1.0 1.0

    By Mike626 from USA on 2020-04-20
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: The gun felt really good in hand with nice weight distribution. The trigger felt crisp for the price.

    Things I would have changed: The gun never held a charge of air more then 24 hours so I hope there is some form of change for the air system in the future where it keeps air without leaking.

    What others should know: I would say buy it and try it. There are lots of good reviews out there. This review is for the specific serial number gun I had which I returned. I really wish it didnt leak I really liked the idea.

     
  • 1.0 1.0

    1.0 1.0

    4.0 4.0

    By Brian from USA on 2020-03-30
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.02 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Accuracy was good while the gun held up.

    Things I would have changed: The pump locked up after about 100 shots. Wasn't reading air pressure correctly and was beginning to leak literally after one day. Just not a good product from a quality standpoint. It will not hold up over time, so I would advise looking elsewhere. I went with a Benjamin maximus and just invested in a hand pump and it is a night and day difference in durability while not sacrificing any accuracy or power as far as I can tell.

    What others should know: Don't buy this gun. Poor design and quality. Cool idea, but it won't hold up.

     
  • 4.0 4.0

    3.0 3.0

    4.0 4.0

    By Jim from USA on 2020-03-16
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: This is a great concept, a PCP with a built in pump. I don't have the budget for the higher-end stuff plus pump/tank go-withs. Accuracy is very good. Sub 1/2" at 15 yards is no problem with my .22 cal. .375" is an avg at that distance with JSB 18.13. Backyard friendly report on high power. Haven't shot paper at distance yet but looks like 2-3" shooting 60 yards down to the creek, better if I bench it I'm sure. I shoot it like a pumper, giving it a top up between shots so it is "Regulated" by the shooter.

    Things I would have changed: The package scope is junk, upgrade or dump it. Reliability seems to be an issue. I have not had any pump issues but the seal opposite the high/low selector has blown out twice in less than 1400 shots. So build quality is a little suspect. I give the stock an ok for the price point, some rubber in the contact points would be welcome. Barrel was filthy black when new and took a lot to clean up.

    What others should know: No pump issues for me, but it gets oiled frequently. If the hi/lo valve seal fails again, I'm gunna have to part with it I think... OR Pyramyd is going to cover the repairs for a lot long than the 12 month warranty. This gun has so much potential, just build it better! A lot of gun for $400, power and features only found on pricier guns. I like pumpers and want the power and accuracy of PCP's in an adult airgun. Most pumpers are cheap and geared for youth shooters, this can be the one that makes an excellent compromise.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Matt from USA on 2020-03-16
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: You don't need a pump or compressor to fill with air. It's real easy to pump up.

    Things I would have changed: Nothing

    What others should know: You can shoot slugs out of it. I use NSA 26.8 hp slugs and shoot out to 80 yards and hit bullseye with a 20 yrs sight in.

     
  • 3.0 3.0

    3.0 3.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Scott from USA on 2020-03-09
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: the accuracy is amazing.....there is no way to overstate this. absolutely a tack driver. it took 6 shots to sight it in and never missed the mark after. i was shocked for it to be so accurate at this price point.

    Things I would have changed: okay...so hear it is. a little on the heavy side but with the accuracy this is not a problem...however i am one of the unlucky ones that had a pump failure and when i returned it i elected to get the gauntlet instead of trying again. Air Venturi was so close on this one, but just didnt work out for me.

    What others should know: if you can get this item and the pump holds up then you got yourself a deal. i am convinced that the avenger that Air Venturi showed us at shot show is the rifle to get. to me it is the aspen without the pump....i have mine in 25 on preorder.

     
  • 1.0 1.0

    2.0 2.0

    3.0 3.0

    By Kris from USA on 2020-03-07
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: SEEMED PRETTY ACCURATE, ALTHOUGH I WAS ONLY ABLE TO PASS ABOUT 60 PELLETS THROUGH IT BEFORE IT STARTED LEAKING AIR

    Things I would have changed: BETTER QUALITY CONTROL

    What others should know: I DID READ REVIEWS ON THIS BEFORE I PURCHASED, AND I GUESS I WAS HOPING THEY WOULD HAVE FIXED THE PROBLEMS, AS MOST OF THE COMPLAINTS WERE OLDER. SO I FIGURED FOR FAIRLY CHEAP MONEY I WOULD GIVE IT A TRY SEEING THIS WOULD BE MY FIRST PCP. NEEDLESS TO SAY I WAS PRETTY DISAPOINTED WHEN AFTER ONLY AROUND 60 SHOTS I COULD HEAR AIR LEAKING OUT BY THE MUZZLE END OF THE BARREL. SENT IT BACK AND AM WAITING ON A REPLACEMENT. IF I CONTINUE TO HAVE ANY PROBLEMS WITH THE SECOND ONE I WILL ASK FOR A REFUND. I WILL NOT TRY A THIRD. SO FAR PYRAMYD AIR HAS BEEN HELPFUL WITH ALL MY QUESTIONS AND HAS BEEN GREAT TO WORK WITH..

     
  • 4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Dayna from USA on 2020-02-23
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Pumping is easier than expected! In .22 caliber, each shot is around 3-4 pumps. I keep mine in between 2500-2000 psi, shooting 5 shots before pumping 18 times. Half inch groups at 25 yards, no problem with magazines or single shot tray. The shroud does a good job of keeping this gun backyard friendly. As for pump reliability issues, I have about 1000 rounds through mine, no issues. Keep it well oiled.

    Things I would have changed: Build quality was not the best, but overall this airgun is a steal at this price. The screw that holds the shroud in place was loose on my gun and would not hold it in place. I had to glue it into its hole. No issues after that.

    What others should know: This is a great airgun and is definitely worth the money. I have had no issues with reliability, but recommend liberally oiling the pump. I put in 10 drops when I first got the gun and put in 1 drop after each shooting session. All this silicone oil eventually gets shot out the barrel. Be ready to have to clean it a lot. The pump PCP concept is great in my opinion and I would absolutely love to see a pump PCP in .357 or .45, although the shots per fill would definitely be very low.

     
  • 4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    By Rick from USA on 2020-01-28
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Great to have the pump on your rifle. I can keep the pressure where it needs to be for best accuracy. Remember the price and don't expect top quality. I get .25 inch groups at 35 yards.

    Things I would have changed: Very sloppy trigger. Pump handle lock lets go so don't carry your rifle by the handle.

    What others should know: I would have paid $800 for better quality. Great concept.

     
  • 2.0 2.0

    1.0 1.0

    By Schnauzershine from USA on 2020-01-07
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: This review is for the .25 cal Aspen. The concept is great. The packaging was well thought out. I also liked the heft and balance of the gun. The trigger was crisp. PA's customer service was top-notch.

    Things I would have changed: I actually had two of these before I gave up on the Aspen. They were both .25 cal. I read and reread and carefully followed the instructions prior to and during my attempts to get to know this gun (yes, I am one of those people who read directions). The first gun would not hold air. There was an audible air leak whether you used the on board pump or an external air source, and all the air drained out within 5 minutes. Also, the entire trigger assembly was very loose, rattling leftward and rightward. PA promptly responded to my email query about these problems, and indicated that this was not something I would be able to fix on my own. I sent the gun back for a replacement, and this time purchased a 10 for 10 along with the gun. The 2nd gun also had an air leak, although it was much slower. The trigger was just fine on this one. I ended up sending this gun back, too.

    What others should know: I'm giving it 2 stars because I like the concept so much; it's the execution that is troublesome. I may see if the .22 or .177 do better, after I finish my mourning period for the .25 rifle. PA has a customer for life in me because of their prompt, courteous and responsive customer service.

  • 3.0 3.0

    2.0 2.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Charles from USA on 2019-12-13
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: It's very accurate. However the pump started freezing up after two hundred shots. buy shot 400 it help no pressure it would not pump.

    Things I would have changed: But different seals in the pump so it would last longer than 1/10 of pellets.

    What others should know: Be prepared to send it back because of pump problems.

     
  • 3.0 3.0

    2.0 2.0

    2.0 2.0

    By Yesterday Sam from USA on 2019-12-09
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: There is nothing I like until pyramid makes my purchase complete

    Things I would have changed: The package when recieved was opened and the gun was incomplete.. There was no scope mounts and the single shot add on was missing..also the Seneca 45 also missing scope mounts..it was very disappointed..

    What others should know: I notified pyramid of the incomplete packages..the have yet to send the missing parts..

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Arthur from USA on 2019-12-07
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Self contained , accurate, powerful 38-40fpe, great trigger and love the side lever!

    Things I would have changed: Trigger rattles around , Make the but of the gun storage for magazines

    What others should know: This is a purpose specific air rifle it can be used for target shooting but more suitable for hunting. Very easy to fill with the on board pump .

  • 3.0 3.0

    2.0 2.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Blake from USA on 2019-11-05
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: To start off I loved the "concept " of the rifle the accuracy was more than I had hoped.

    Things I would have changed: Now for the downside.... I have only been able to send through approximately a total of 200 shots due to multiple mechanical issues in regards to the pump system there's not to say though that air venturi has not been diligent About supplying replacement parts but I feel that after multiple replacements and fixes to the gun that it definitely was not worth the overall cost in the end I would have expected higher grade materials being used which was not the case Or else the gun itself would not have been in need of repair as often The gun is currently sitting in pieces within my Room

    What others should know: This is not a gun that I would recommend buying as I believe in the end it is flawed but that is not to say that the other Air venturi rifles are less quality just wish I had set aside more money to buy a higher grade rifle for my first birthday as it is my first PCP style air rifle

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    4.0 4.0

    By Matthew from USA on 2019-10-31
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Price cannot be beat. You never run out of air. Not real heavy. Very smooth firing and loading. Great gun overall.

    Things I would have changed: If I had to pick one and again, If I had to...The plastic stock could be better. It feels hollow. I think they picked it for the light weight.

     
  • 1.0 1.0

    2.0 2.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Michael from USA on 2019-10-29
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: A PCP with an on board pump is a great concept. Gun very accurate.

    Things I would have changed: Make the pump out of better materials. Had 2 aspens and pump failed on both within 300 shots.

    What others should know: This gun will not stand up to use the way it is advertised. The gun may work fine if you use an alternate air source, but then why buy it.

     
  • 1234 Next
Navigation