Date: 19/6/2019 12:2
0

Seneca Aspen PCP. SEN-00001. Customer Reviews - page 1

Average Customer Review

4.0 (37 reviews)

Create an online review   and share your thoughts with other customers

The most helpful favorable review

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful:

Overall rating:5.0

Value for money:5.0

Accuracy:5.0

By John from USA on 2019-01-25 21:00:26

Things I liked: The trigger is very nice right out of the box. Side lever is smooth and solid. Pump handle is long and smooth. This is one of the most accurate rifles I have owned. 1/2 hole 10 pellets. 17 yards it's all I got in the basement. I am impressed, it's a keeper. I will stretch it out when it warms up 5 degrees today.

Things I would have changed: Stocks a little bulky. Maybe some rubberized texture for grip. Swap out scope with a veriable power. ( old eyes 4 power is not enough) It is a mill dot though with Adjustable parallax nice touch.

What others should know: If you are on the fence about this gun ,don't be just pull the trigger. :) For a entry level pcp it pretty nice. I bought the 22 cal.

The most helpful critical review

0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:

Overall rating:1.0

Value for money:1.0

Accuracy:5.0

By Shaun from USA on 2019-06-08 07:34:07

Things I liked: Power, price

Things I would have changed: Stock is cheaply made

What others should know: Dont buy. Pump arm locked up. Magazine arrived damaged. Gun leaked air even with their 10 for $10 service to inspect for leaks. Gun didn't last 100 shots

Sort by:
  • 12 Next
  • Showitems
  • 1.0 1.0

    1.0 1.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Shaun from USA on 2019-06-08
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Power, price

    Things I would have changed: Stock is cheaply made

    What others should know: Dont buy. Pump arm locked up. Magazine arrived damaged. Gun leaked air even with their 10 for $10 service to inspect for leaks. Gun didn't last 100 shots

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Shawn from USA on 2019-06-05
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: I have wanted a pcp pellet gun for a long time. When I seen this gun I was overjoyed. The onboard pump is the main reason I bought it. The accuracy is great and the number of shots per pumping up is consistent with the video on the pyramid air web site. So far it is very tolerant of different pellets. The rotary magazine gave me some troubles. I got very good support from tech service. The magazine seemed a little to tight in the gun and did not want to rotate consistently. they told me to loosen the center screw a little bit but that did not work. They are sending me a new mag. I am going to order another just for a spare. The scope is average but does a decent job. I might upgrade it later. If I had pyramid air test fire before shipping they might have found the magazine flaw and corrected it before shipping.

    Things I would have changed: Possibly the magazine design

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Ken from USA on 2019-06-02
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: This gun is so fun to shoot. It takes only 70 pumps to hit the 3500 mark. Then after 5 shots I'll pump it 12-15 times and she's back to full power. This is all on low pressure setting. That's the only setting I use. On low she's dishing out 17-19 flbs. depending on the pellet choice. On high power she's putting out 28-29 flbs. It blows all my other guns away on accuracy. I have a hard time putting the Aspen down. It's a blast to shoot.

    Things I would have changed: For the price, I wouldn't change one thing. I'd also pay $700.00 for this gun. It's unbelievable.

     
  • 2.0 2.0

    4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    By jesus from USA on 2019-06-02
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Great looking rifle, very accurate and powerful

    Things I would have changed: Fix the pumps in them i guess, im waiting on the third replacement

    What others should know: I love this rifle my first pcp, but im on the third replacement there is something wrong with their pumps, i want so bad for one to be ok its a nice piece

     
  • 2.0 2.0

    3.0 3.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Kenny from USA on 2019-05-24
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: This gun was definitely accurate. I had 3 rounds touching in a 1" black circle at 30 yds. using H&N Hunter Extreme.22. @ roughly 3000 PSI.

    Things I would have changed: Make the pump handle more narrow so the gun would fit into a soft case with scope mounted.

    What others should know: With a scope mounted the gun will not fit in a standard soft gun case. I think because of the pump handle. I sent it back because the pump had some intermittent problem, would lose resistance while pumping, then mysteriously start working again. Otherwise I would have rated 5 stars.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Tim Wigdor on 2019-05-24
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: Air pressure gauge

    Things I would have changed: Overall very nice

    What others should know: Dont f forget to oil every 50 to 75 shots

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Andrew from USA on 2019-05-23
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Right out of the box it was impressive. Once I sighted in the scope I was even more impressed

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Andrew from USA on 2019-05-19
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: I think it is essential to be able to re-charge while away from home/base camp, so the ability to top-off the pressure by pumping is a great selling point. The scope was easily zeroed and sharp. The trigger is a light, crisp break. All in all a nice package.

    Things I would have changed: I would buy a larger caliber, if I was doing it over again.

    What others should know: If you regularly use the pressure port, it is in a rather inconvenient location. This is good for protecting it, but makes it a chore to re-charge with a hose.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Ritchy from USA on 2019-05-18
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: This is my first PCP air rifle and it's been a great experience. I wanted to get into PCP air rifles but I did not initially want to spend all the money in getting a tank or compressor just to experience the PCP culture. I purchased a Leapers UTG 4-16x44 scope and zeroed it in. Once I repositioned my scope and rezeroed again, it has been super accurate. I came from using a Benjamin Vaporizer break barrel so this Aspen is like a dream! I have played with the PSI and found that starting at 3200 PSI, I can get a full 10 accurate rounds then pump for 35-40 times to get me back to 3200 PSI. The pellets I was recommended by Pyramyd Air was the H&N Baracuda Match domed .22 21.14gr. This is the pellet I used to zero in my scope. Love the pellet! Great for hunting/pest control. A little on the expensive side for plinking metal or paper targets.

    Things I would have changed: Lower the price and not include the scope.

    What others should know: Experiment with the high and low. At first, I thought everything should be on high. I actually like the low setting for plinking and still great for up to 50 yards for small pests. When I need to change it to the high setting, I just use one mildot above the mildot I used for low setting. Make sure if you upgrade your scope and the scope mounts are picatinny, get the UTG dovetail to picatinny snap in adapters. For plinking, I use the Crosman Premier domed .22 14.3gr. and just sight in using the 2nd mildot up on the crosshair (since I zeroed in using the heavier Baracuda Match). I use small spinning steel targets (quarter size) at 35 yards... very happy with the accuracy. !00% accuracy for the 10 shots.

  • 3.0 3.0

    3.0 3.0

    4.0 4.0

    By David from USA on 2019-05-17
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: All in one product - quiet. Pumping isn't too hard - a bit easier than using my hand pump and way more convenient. Seems to be very accurate.

    Things I would have changed: Include better scope or price the gun without a scope added.

    What others should know: Gun is a bit heavier than expected and is quieter than expected - love the bolt action - but it takes (way) more pumping than previously reported - took me at least 130 pumps to initially get from 1500psi to 3300psi - think mine has a slow air leak (lost 500 psi in 10 days), need to have it checked out. I tend to shoot 3-5 shots, then pump 20 times or more to get back to 3300psi - try to keep 2600-3300psi shooting range. Scope is ok at best.

     
  • 4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By George from USA on 2019-05-15
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: I've had my Seneca for a few weeks now and it is the best air rifle I have ever owned. It is accurate enough that I have managed to score dime sized groups at 25 yards. The self contained pump allows me to keep the air pressure in the "sweet spot" for accuracy. The included scope is sufficiently accurate for close-range plinking and seems to hold zero very well, although I may be in the market for something with a little more magnification when squirrel season rolls around.

    Things I would have changed: The only shortfall I can find with the design of this rifle is the pump handle. When I go to lock it in, there is a little side to side slack in the handle which allows the handle to move around and release the handle causing it to pop out and if you are carrying the rifle by the handle, the stock could hit the ground. I fixed mine by attaching one of those silicone "bumpers" that you put on kitchen cabinet doors to the inside of the stock just below the lock button. This has completely solved that problem. It is for this design oversight that I gave the Seneca Aspen 4 stars instead of 5.

    What others should know: I think this rifle is an excellent first introduction into PCP air-gunning and my experience with Pyramid Air assures that I will be a repeat customer.

     
  • 4.0 4.0

    4.0 4.0

    4.0 4.0

    By John from USA on 2019-05-14
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Trigger is great. It is rare that I don't need to do anything to improve one. Hefty gun, doesn't feel flimsy or cheap.

    Things I would have changed: Magazine is quirky, can't be topped off. I contacted Pyramid and got no help with it. You should have a spare.

    What others should know: Pumping effort is significant, but with a little practice is very manageable. I'm 66 with recent shoulder repair, never had great upper body strength, and it's no problem.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    By Airborne Doc from USA on 2019-05-13
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: why didn't they think of this earlier? It's awesome, accurate, and a ton of fun. mine is in 22 but I'm going to order one for my daughter in 25. accuracy really surprised me. JSB extras in one hole at 25 yds.

    Things I would have changed: use a male quick attachment for filling the probe sucks.

    What others should know: Great for introducing new shooters to PCP. Handy for those prepper people. order an extra magazine with it you'll need it.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Samuel from USA on 2019-05-13
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: This is my first experience with a pcp air rifle and i can say switching from break barrels to pcp is the best upgrade i could have made when it comes to performance and accuracy. This rifle is great because it has a built in pump. That is the reason i decided to make the jump because i didn't have the money to buy a good pcp and a tank and the thought of the hassle to carry it around was a turn off. I found that jsb rs pellets do nickle sizes holes at 35 yards on a bench easy. And im no marksman but on high power this rifle can reach out and take doves no problem 91 yards away(it took me 6 shots but i finally hit him) Im confident that once i get better this rifle could do 5inch groups at 100 with the right conditions maybe smaller.

    Things I would have changed: I had the rifle for 2 and 1/2 weeks and I started having problems with it about 2 weeks into having it I noticed that when I tried to pump it sometimes it wouldn't let me pull the pumping arm up it felt like something was sucking the plunger back down and I couldn't figure out what it was I had to let out all the air out of the tank and start completely empty and then the pump was back to normal and then about two and a half weeks into having The Airgun I went to pump it went to raise the arm and all I heard was a snap the pumping arm broke where it meets the Piston to pump so now I have to send it back and wait a long time it's so disappointing knowing that it broke so easily and I don't even use it everyday I use it only on Saturdays maybe for 3 hours.

    What others should know: If you want to make the jump from springers to PCP rifles this is the gun to do it for beginners you have so many ways to adjust the power and the hammer tension the combinations are endless and how many pellets were accurate through this gun I'm surprised it's not picky even with my bad experience with a breaking I still am getting a replacement of the same rifle I wouldn't trade it for a different one.

     
  • 1.0 1.0

    1.0 1.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Van from USA on 2019-05-11
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Accuracy is excellent. 1" group at 30 yards was simple. A good shooter would no doubt do better. I put on a Nikon scope. Light weight. Pumping is easy - IF you do it correctly. First, realize that the pump needs to break in (or so it seemed to me). Probably I had to do 150 pumps before it started to feel good. Second, use long smooth complete strokes, they don't have to be very fast, just steady. 80 pumps from empty to full pressure (3000 psi is as far as I wanted to go). 10 rounds then 35 - 40 pumps to recharge, shooting on low power.

    Things I would have changed: Pellets jam! I have had pellets from the magazine get jammed four times. Nothing unusual was happening, just it was not possible to push the reload handle home. The pellet was jammed so that the magazine could not be removed and the gun could not fire. By wiggling the magazine, and using a cleaning rod to push the pellet back, I was able to free it - on three occasions. On the fourth occasion - it was really stuck. I tried everything I could think of, but could not get it out. Eventually, the small, thin piece of metal connecting the cocking handle to the piston broke - metal fatigue - I was not being a gorilla. It's not even steel, it's a cheap metal alloy. It should be stainless steel. Now the gun is a brick and I am sending it back for repair. I've only had it two weeks. I think it is a design flaw that the pellets jam and are not easily removed, and it is a manufacturing flaw that they used cheap alloy instead of stainless steel for the part that broke.

    What others should know: Buy an extended warranty if you get this gun. The pump handle is supposed to lock into place and you are supposed to be able to carry it using the handle. Don't! The lock is not reliable. If you do carry like this, then always double/triple check the lock is really secure, otherwise you will drop the body of the gun as soon as you pick it up by the handle. I still really like it - it's my first PCP.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Heath from USA on 2019-05-10
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Bang for the buck.

    Things I would have changed: Make it so you could hook a bottle up to it while you shot.

    What others should know: It take around 150 pumps to fill this rifle from zero psi not 60-70. From 3000 psi it takes 60-70 to reach max pressure and I think some are misunderstanding that. You get about 600 psi for every 20 strokes.

  • 1.0 1.0

    3.0 3.0

    4.0 4.0

    By christopher from USA on 2019-04-27
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: It has a very nice action, smoother than my Marauder. The trigger is crisp and consistant. It grouped JSB 14.3 pellets into a half inch at 40 yards.

    Things I would have changed: It needs a bag of O-rings and instructions on how to break the rifle down when it locks up. Mine locked up in the first eight days.

    What others should know: The shooter needs to be tall and fairly strong to pump this rifle up. Mine required 6 pumps per shot on average ( in .22 cal.). Out of the box it failed to decock and it did not hold a charge. Pyramid refunded my money and even covered the return shipping.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Morgan from USA on 2019-04-25
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: I purchaced the .22 caliber version. The accuracy with this rifle is outstanding. I am shooting RWS Superpoint 14.5 gr. It just happened to be the first tin I started with. I never had to try another brand. I also actually used the scope that it came with and once sighted in I was putting all ten shots pretty much in the same hole. Very impressed. Target was set at 25 yards. Now manually pumping from empty was a chore. I counted 110 pumps to just about to the 3600 mark. i have read that around 60 pumps was the number. not mine. i used full strokes and slightly paused at each end of the pump stroke. Once full, 10 to 15 pumps after 10 shots kept it up nicely. I found an easier way to pump it, was easier for me. I held the rifle in one hand and the pump in the other and acted like I was using pruning shears. It was an even amount of work for both arms and felt easier to do. I'm very glad I bought it. I have 14 air rifles now and by far this is easily the most accurate in low power mode.

    Things I would have changed: I like wooden stocks. If this platform somehow came installed in a wooden stock I would buy another one.

    What others should know: Very accurate, pretty lightweight, easy to shoot. Here is an easy fix that I did to quiet the hollow stock. I removed the butt plate and stuffed the cavity with some foam rubber packing from a fragile item that I received in the mail. It worked perfect. No hollow sound any more... It really zips in high power but my grouping changed a little and I had to pump more often. I didn't try any different pellets yet in the high power mode. Still smiling from the accuracy in low power mode. This rifle is a good way to start into the PCP market without all the extra expences...

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By daniel from USA on 2019-04-20
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: you no longer have to worry about running out of air, just pump it up. I would get 9 very accurate shots when pumped to 3000 psi, When it hits 2000, things drop off fast. I can regulate the air, for my 22 cal. it is about 3-4 pumps to keep it around 3000 psi. and on high setting. After each shot when testing pellet drop for distance, I shot ten shots at 5 - 50 yards in 5 yard increments. 5 yds about 7/8 low, the rest under 1/4 inch of center until 40 yards which was 5/8 low, 45 3/4 low, then 50 was 2 inches low. very accurate with jsb jumbo heavy 18 gr. With no pump needed and able to get 1/2 groups or less at 35 yards. i had a 3 inch group at 100 without an exact aim point. Has a great price point, this is a winner.

    Things I would have changed: i don't know if there could be something changed that would work. I would like to see a big bore like a 357 or 45. set up the same way. we all would like it to be less bulky, lighter, and more air storage but compromises must be made. The one thing i would like to see changed is the stock, I need to add a comb riser to it and i have a pouch on it to carry the extra mags. The stock is wider and taller that your typical stock so when a comb riser is added it is about 3 inches wide.

    What others should know: being low noise is one of the most important things to me for hunting., it does have a ping sound but really is quiet. doesn't spook animals when you shoot.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Ben from USA on 2019-04-20
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: So far so good, shoots well, easy to pump to pressure and to keep at a good pressure. This was a great way to move into PCP! Slightly louder than my NP Trail.

    Things I would have changed: I'm not sure I would change anything. I like this airgun!

    What others should know: I'd have bought an extra mag or 2, probably will next time I order pellets.

     
  • 12 Next
Navigation