Date: 25/5/2022 22:38
0

Benjamin Fortitude Gen 2 Reviews

Benjamin Fortitude Gen2 PCP Air Rifle, Regulated

Average Customer Review

4.0 (60 reviews)

Create an online review   and share your thoughts with other customers

The most helpful favorable review

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful:

5.0 5.0

5.0 5.0

5.0 5.0

By daniel from USA on 2020-01-08 10:38:47

Things I liked:

Nice and light easy to shoot of hand, but it takes about 500 shots to get good accuracy and shoots the best with crosman Premier pointed 14.3

Things I would have changed:

Nothing relay except a longer cocking arm

What others should know:

Break in with any junk pellet you have then switch to Premier 14.3 and clean the barrel before you start

The most helpful critical review

0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:

1.0 1.0

1.0 1.0

1.0 1.0

By cole from USA on 2021-12-05 16:15:46

Things I liked:

Nothing. Leaked air faster than I could shoot it. Bad poppet from the factory

Things I would have changed:

Better QC from Crosman/Benjamin so they don't irritate their customers

What others should know:

Received this rifle with high hopes as it was a Gen2 and supposedly the bad stuff had been worked out of it. Leaks air at a very fast rate from the breech. Past the seal and underneath the breech. The only reason I know for that much leakage is a bad poppet. It seems that they would have found this before they sent it out and got it to a customers hands. Hence from all the leaky from the factory guns I have gotten from them, and had to fix myself, I am not going to buy another one of their products. My QB 79's fill the bill just as well, but but not as light . My Origin, all three of my Gauntlets and Chief II don't leak at all so that tells me a lot right there.

Sort by:
Filer by:
  • 123 Next
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked:

    This 22 caliber version is light weight, well balanced. Makes it easier to carry and manage in my small game adventures. Very accurate. Being regulated allows me to adjust the power of the shot, and or, how many shots I get per air charge fill. This adds to convenience in a hunting experience. It is Not a Cadillac! But for the average plinker, or small game hunter, I would highly recommend this air rifle.

    Things I would have changed:

    Give it an adjustable trigger pull. Other than that - Nothing!

  • 4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked:

    Very light, very quiet, uses the same magazines as my Avenger, excellent accuracy, good power with the ability to tune it down to under 600 FPS for indoor shooting.

    Things I would have changed:

    Make the barrel a bit shorter

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked:

    I liked almost everything, I liked the look of the rifle, the way it felt on my cheek and shoulder, the mags are available and functioned correctly, and the stock is easy to remove and a very accurate rifle.

    Things I would have changed:

    The trigger is not adjustable and needs to be upgraded to an adjustable one, which can be obtained for $35 just for the trigger and springs from Baker airguns. And $142 from Magnum Power. I chose to get the fantastic complete trigger assembly made out of aluminum which includes a trigger, safety, trigger casing, and new springs. Now I have a very good adjustable trigger, and now my Fortitude is all metal with no plastic except the stock.

    What others should know:

    Replace the trigger for an adjustable one, and you will have a rifle that is the offspring to the Marauder.

  • 2.0 2.0

    4.0 4.0

    4.0 4.0

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked:

    I love the looks, the light weight, the potential shot count, the fact that it's regulated, and a repeater. With some mods, the trigger is pretty darn good, and swapping in a Marauder trigger make it outstanding! I like the .177 caliber. The price is great. I have owned more that 10 pcps, and Fortitude could be my favorite.

    Things I would have changed:

    Crosman-Benjamin need to figure out how to manufacture this gun so it does not leak. I have purchased 3 of the Gen2s. They all leaked air to some degree or another. I've owned 4 or 5 Marauders; not one of them leaked. I believe the Fortitude has the potential of being an all time favorite air rifle. Velocity Air, please invest the engineering time needed to fix the leaking air tube problem.

    What others should know:

    If you buy one, first fill it with air and let it stabilize overnight. The next day check the pressure on the gun gage and record. Leave the gun alone (no shooting) for a week. Check and record the gun gage pressure periodically. Decide if the leak rate is acceptable to you and return if necessary.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked:

    The air gun was delivered quickly and arrived damage free. I was surprised that it came charged with 3000psi of air so I could shoot it immediately without charging it up. I threw on a scope and had it shooting within an hour. It also came with 2 mags so that was nice. Just a couple of shots and it was hitting the bullseye at 20 yds. It is my first gun with a mag so I immediately order two more. I have other Benjamin PCP's and It seems that Benjamin is an expert at utilizing other platforms and creating a new product. So far I have 150 shots through it and only refilled it once. Looking like 60 plus shots per fill. Still at the factory hammer setting. I haven't yet cleaned the barrel but expect an improvement in accuracy when I do. Over all really am enjoying this gun.

    Things I would have changed:

    Seems like both the original mags I got with the gun sometimes fail to rotate the new pellet when cycling the bolt. I don't know if it is a problem or just needs a little more break in. The mags go into the gun very snugly and maybe they are getting pinched causing them not to rotate. I am going to try a drop of Pellet oil on one to see if it makes a difference.

    What others should know:

    I wouldn't hesitate to get this gun. It isn't a $1000 gun, but 10 years ago it would have been with all the features it has.

  • 4.0 4.0

    4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked:

    Very quiet, the pellet hitting is the loudest part. Hand pump friendly. Pretty accurate.

    Things I would have changed:

    More power.

  • 3.0 3.0

    3.0 3.0

    4.0 4.0

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked:

    Quiet, unbelievably quiet. Light weight.

    Things I would have changed:

    It leaks air too fast (100 psi per day), a deal-breaker for me. The fit and finish is not so great. You may feel resistance when push the bolt forward to load the pellet, sometimes it gets stuck.

    What others should know:

    The weight of the gun is not balanced, more weight at the front. But that's fine. Don't be fooled by Crosman's Made in America slogan. It does not guarantee quality...

  • 4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked:

    The combination of disco, mrod, maximus..regulated so shot counts great .super light weight hunter if tuned (easy 3 turns) for $319 its a lot of gun.

    Things I would have changed:

    It didn't come with a single shot tray. I thought how odd is that? My shroud has someone's fingerprints on it and a smudg I can't get off.

    What others should know:

    Obviously with mrod mags it loves the crossman, Benjamin's dome. Gen 2 has a smoother action than my mrod in 25

  • 1.0 1.0

    1.0 1.0

    1.0 1.0

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked:

    Nothing. Leaked air faster than I could shoot it. Bad poppet from the factory

    Things I would have changed:

    Better QC from Crosman/Benjamin so they don't irritate their customers

    What others should know:

    Received this rifle with high hopes as it was a Gen2 and supposedly the bad stuff had been worked out of it. Leaks air at a very fast rate from the breech. Past the seal and underneath the breech. The only reason I know for that much leakage is a bad poppet. It seems that they would have found this before they sent it out and got it to a customers hands. Hence from all the leaky from the factory guns I have gotten from them, and had to fix myself, I am not going to buy another one of their products. My QB 79's fill the bill just as well, but but not as light . My Origin, all three of my Gauntlets and Chief II don't leak at all so that tells me a lot right there.

  • 1.0 1.0

    1.0 1.0

    2.0 2.0

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked:

    It is light, other than that it is no bargain.

    Things I would have changed:

    Having a working gun delivered to me by Benjamin/Crosman company.

    What others should know:

    I got the gun today fired 6 shots and the gun was empty. Refilled it again and waited 30 m9inutes and was out of air. Returned for a refund. I will find sothing else that fits this catagory of rifle and buy that. All done with the line of guns this company sells.

  • 4.0 4.0

    4.0 4.0

    4.0 4.0

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked:

    I liked everything. The plastic stock and trigger felt good. It is light weight. It is accurate, and not pellet fussy. Easy to pump. And, it is quiet.

    Things I would have changed:

    Wish it had open sights.

    What others should know:

    I got the 10 for 10. Get the 10 for 10. I have about 2000 rounds through it. I love this rifle. I shoot in my backyard, 20 yards. It is quiet, and accurate. I did put a lighter spring in the trigger, and now it is a great 2 stage trigger. It holds air. It is not pellet fussy. I have a Diana 34 panther, and a HW 30. This rifle is a great addition.

  • 1.0 1.0

    1.0 1.0

    1.0 1.0

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked:

    Ergonomics of the stock

    Things I would have changed:

    Trigger, Accuracy, Air tank

    What others should know:

    I've shot the rifle enough to get through any break in period. With 5 shot strings I'm getting inch and half groups at 10 meters. I have an Anschutz 8001 that does quarter inch at that distance. I know the Fortitude is a lot cheaper, but inch and a half is not acceptable. That would mean missing a shot on a squirrel. Part of it is the trigger. It is awkwardly long and hard to pull. It actually hurts my wrist when I'm concentrating on accuracy. The other problem is that the tank loses air. I put it up with north of 2000 psi, and a couple of days later, it's down to 1000. I hand pump, so that's no fun. I called Customer Service, and the guy had me checking all kinds of things and wants me to take the barrel band of and see if that improves things. I kind of just want to put it in the box, send it to them and have them figure it out. I'm bummed I didn't go for the Umarex Gauntlet. And now the Umarex Origin is another option with an adjustable trigger.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    Things I liked:

    Accuracy Not pellet pickey 90 shots per fill in .22 Plenty of power Super Quiet

    What others should know:

    YOU MUST BUY A PROBE FOR THE END OF YOUR HAND PUMP! THE GUN DOES NOT COME WITH ONE!

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    Things I liked:

    There are a lot of things I love about this rifle. For one, it is extremely accurate, second the shot count is amazing (120 rounds!), and lastly it is quiet.

    Things I would have changed:

    The only thing I would change is I wish the barrel was gloss versus the matte black. The matte black just picks up dust. However, it does not impede it's performance and is cosmetic only.

    What others should know:

    I've had this rifle for several months, and shot over 5,000+ rounds and no problems. In comparison to my Marauder, I think it shoots a bit more accurate, and it's a bit quieter. Not to mention the shot count. Buy lots of ammo and magazines, as you'll need it. It's very addictive to shoot.

  • 1.0 1.0

    1.0 1.0

    4.0 4.0

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked:

    Overall the gun is fun to shoot. I noticed that I would get a flyer on a pretty regular basis at about 20 yards. B

    Things I would have changed:

    As with a lot of people a wood stock would be nice, but overall I like the feel of the gun. You have to be pretty careful when loading the breach. Any break in concentration or balking with the action will load two pellets. When in doubt, pull the mag and waste the shot. I had a jamb which cost me a magazine.

    What others should know:

    Now for the horror story. On June 4, 2020 I ordered my first Fortitude Gen 2. I received the rifle and it worked fine for a while with the exception that every mag had a flier in it. I don't really know if was my pellets or the barrel. One of the video reviewers had a similar issue and sent the rifle back for re-crowning. In a shot time the rifle would not hold pressure. I sent it back for a replacement. On August 14, 2020 my second Fortitude Gen 2, was shipped. I received the rifle with zero pressure showing on the gauge. I pumped it up to 3000 psi and let it sit overnight. It had lost about 1000 psi overnight. So I returned the rifle for replacement. On Sept. 29, 2020 my third Fortitude Gen 2 was shipped. I received the rifle today, 10/03/2020, and gauge read zero. I filled the rifle to 3000 psi and put it down, in less than 30 minutes the gauge showed 2200 psi. I am pretty ticked off. We are looking at more than 4 months of waiting for a working rifle.

  • 2.0 2.0

    2.0 2.0

    2.0 2.0

    Things I liked:

    Very light weight, adjustable HS.

    Things I would have changed:

    Trigger is plastic and creepy, air cylinder band not connected to the shroud not supported you never know you can accidentally bump the chroud.

    What others should know:

    Gen 2 .177 still hard to cock, leaking air that's why I returned it. Also at first pellets jamming hard to remove the mags to clear it after the jammed. Another issue not firing just a click from HS. I changed the pellets no more jammed and not firing is fix. But, it leaks badly 3k psi after one hr it only be 1.6k psi after 4hrs it will leak another 200 psi, I only have hand pump :)

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    Things I liked:

    Price was good, action is smooth, ergonomics are good. I've been very pleased with accuracy and effectiveness as a small game gun. Efficient and hand-pump friendly.

    Things I would have changed:

    I'll probably get an aftermarket trigger instead of the plastic one it comes with. Stock fit to gun was not good out of the box - took some fitting. Finish looks cheap.

    What others should know:

    With very modest tuning (no aftermarket parts, all adjustments) I've got a really nice shooter for the money.

  • 4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked:

    Shroud barrel with baffles = backyard friendly

    Things I would have changed:

    Add more weight to the rifle or wood stock

    What others should know:

    My air rifle is great. I'm using Crosman Piranhas and it's fairly accurate at 20 yards. I did some unscientific measuring and found the bore diameter to be at about 5.50mm and barrel twist rate at 1:20" or 1:21". I kept getting both numbers when I ran multiple tests. I measured the Crosman Piranha head diameter and found that the 5.52mm head diameter to be more accurate compared to other head sizes. To each their own.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked:

    The rifle is accurate, light, and gives a crazy amount of shots per fill. Great for plinking or FT in .177

    Things I would have changed:

    Offer a wood stock option. A metal trigger.

    What others should know:

    Glad I waited for the gen2. The Trigger is better and the cocking is smooth Compared to Gen 1

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    Things I liked:

    EVERYTHING...

    Things I would have changed:

    A better stock . I would pay extra for this option.

  • 123 Next

Buy with confidence

Get FREE shipping on qualifying orders! Any order $150+ with a shipping address in the contiguous US will receive the option for free ground shipping during checkout. Certain restrictions apply.

Free shipping may not be combined with a coupon unless stated otherwise.

View Shipping Info

Text JOIN to 91256 and get $10 Off Your Next $50+ Order.
*By subscribing to Pyramyd Air, you agree to receive recurring autodialed marketing text messages to the mobile number used at opt-in. Consent is not a condition or purchase. Msg freq may vary. Msg & data rates may apply. Text HELP for help, Text STOP to 91256 to opt out. Reply with birthday MM/DD/YYYY to verify legal age of 18+ to receive texts. Terms of Use & Privacy Policy.