Date: 20/8/2018 16:16
0

Birchwood Casey Perma Blue Liquid Gun Blue, 3 oz. reviews - page 1

Average Customer Review

4.0 (7 reviews)
3 star1 star
Add to Cart

In-stock

Create an online review   and share your thoughts with other customers

The most helpful favorable review

0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:

Overall rating:5.0

Value for money:5.0

By Woody from USA on 2014-01-25 20:21:33

Things I liked: Ease of use. Reblueing is all about preparation. More time is spent to ready parts than to apply the blue. Follow the bottle directions

Things I would have changed: This 3oz bottle should have a swab attached to the lid for larger projects. Using a Q-tip per directions is fine for smaller parts, but a 3oz bottle could do 3 rifle barrels.

What others should know: Check You Tube for hints and preparation of metal, wear proper latex gloves thru out the whole application, and reapply to get an almost black hue. Follow the directions on the bottle, multiple applications only takes about 15-20 min. but when you get it where you like it, soak in a penetrating gun oil overnight. I lightly used 0000 steel wool between coats, and all parts came out perfect like factory finish. Very satisfied with results.

The most helpful critical review

0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:

Overall rating:2.0

Value for money:2.0

By Unknown Infidel from USA on 2012-07-05 10:12:08

Things I liked: I tried this on a raggedy old crosman 130. I got as good a result as if I had used rubbing alcohol. Basically nothing happened other than I got the metal wet.

Things I would have changed: Make it actually work.

What others should know: Not sure what happened axactly but this stuff did nothing on the gun I tried it on.

Sort by:
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Donald from USA on 2016-01-09
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: I liked how fast it was to use. The ease of use.

    Things I would have changed: nothing.

    What others should know: Good value.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Woody from USA on 2014-01-25
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: Ease of use. Reblueing is all about preparation. More time is spent to ready parts than to apply the blue. Follow the bottle directions

    Things I would have changed: This 3oz bottle should have a swab attached to the lid for larger projects. Using a Q-tip per directions is fine for smaller parts, but a 3oz bottle could do 3 rifle barrels.

    What others should know: Check You Tube for hints and preparation of metal, wear proper latex gloves thru out the whole application, and reapply to get an almost black hue. Follow the directions on the bottle, multiple applications only takes about 15-20 min. but when you get it where you like it, soak in a penetrating gun oil overnight. I lightly used 0000 steel wool between coats, and all parts came out perfect like factory finish. Very satisfied with results.

     
  • 2.0 2.0

    2.0 2.0

    By Unknown Infidel from USA on 2012-07-05
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: I tried this on a raggedy old crosman 130. I got as good a result as if I had used rubbing alcohol. Basically nothing happened other than I got the metal wet.

    Things I would have changed: Make it actually work.

    What others should know: Not sure what happened axactly but this stuff did nothing on the gun I tried it on.

     
  • 4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Alex from USA on 2011-11-15
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: Easy to use.

    Things I would have changed: None

    What others should know: Very good for touch ups

     
  • 4.0 4.0

    4.0 4.0

    By darrell from USA on 2010-11-25
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: goes on very easy.produces nice finish if barrel polished well.changes color quick and can get very dark and shinny.again barrel must be finished correctly

    Things I would have changed: bigger bottle and better absorbing swabs

    What others should know: works best on a whole blueing job for even color.plug ends of barrel and heat barrel in hot water or even a hair drier.works best if gun very warm.before two hours polish out with 0000 steel wool and color will blend together great.barrel must be very clean and highly polished for best effect.wear rubber gloves to keep oil off barrel when coating.

     
  • 4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Richard from USA on 2010-01-25
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: Good for spot repair of small rust patches. Works very well with 00 steel wool. In fact the later is almost a necessity to get a bright finish. As others have mentioned, do not use 3-M Scotch-brite unless you want to remove the previous blue finish. Multiple coats are required to get a deeper blue finish. In comparison with the paste, the paste gives a deeper blue on the first coat, but the liquid seemed to give the deeper blue coat after multiple applications. Completely re-blues a Savage 22/410 shot gun barrel - in my estimation it will take several more coats to achieve the darker finish desired. Very close to matching the finish on a High Standard Model 102 after 6 coats. The later was a spot repair job. Almost immediately matched the finish on a Crosman Model 700 .22 caliber pellet rifle on the first coat. Again the later was a spot repair and a second coat was applied. Spot repair on a Remington 511 Scoremaster took 2-3 coats to match.

    Things I would have changed: Make it less hazardous

    What others should know: The obvious, preparation is 90 percent of the work and patience is the remainder.

     
  • 4.0 4.0

    4.0 4.0

    By Michael from USA on 2009-06-29
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: Seems to work well.

    Things I would have changed: It's not magical...it does not eliminate the missing bluing...but it protects the 'once-exposed' area.

    What others should know: Based on label...highly toxic.

Navigation