Date: 1/12/2020 12:26
0

Customer Reviews for Air Arms Galahad

Average Customer Review

4.5 (6 reviews)
4 star2 star1 star

Create an online review   and share your thoughts with other customers

The most helpful favorable review

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful:

Overall rating:5.0

Value for money:5.0

Accuracy:5.0

By Norman from USA on 2019-08-28 08:55:46

Things I liked: The rifle is very accurate. Like all Air Arms rifles, it is very well made.

Things I would have changed: The rifle is heavy. The weight is 10 pounds and 7 ounces when fitted with Hawke Sport Optics Vantage 4-12x40 AO Rifle Scope. The M1 Garand rifle (WW II rifle) weight is 9 Pounds and 10 ounces. The M1 is considered a heavy rifle.

What others should know: In my opinion this is the best looking bull pup rifle.

The most helpful critical review

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful:

Overall rating:3.0

Value for money:4.0

Accuracy:5.0

By William from USA on 2018-11-20 08:16:28

Things I liked: The gun is very accurate, I really enjoyed how well it fit to the shoulder. Very well built, but one complaint listed later.

Things I would have changed: the mag advance system needs to be changed to something better.

What others should know: The mag advance system was no good on the gun I received. I could not get the mag to advance correctly. Finally got fed up and sending gun back for refund. Don't get me wrong. I loved the gun. But a gun this expensive should not arrive with issues . I would had kept otherwise. Bothered me to send it back. I really did like it. I will not get another until the mag issue is corrected by air arms.

Sort by:
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    By Mike from USA on 2020-09-09
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: As bad as this sounds, yes, I like the look. It shoulders well, the center of gravity is about the center of the grip (just a little ahead). Loading the magazine is simple with no springs, inserting the magazine into the receiver is a simple one (two fingers) handed operation. I shoot offhanded, so I can't say a lot about the accuracy, but yes, the pellets go where my red dot sight says they will go. It is quiet as far as PCP's are concerned. It has baffles inside the shroud, plus the silencer on the end of the shroud. The barrel has no connection to the shroud or factory silencer. The barrel is not threaded. I have no problem with the rotating cocking lever, it's very simple. The trigger, as it's shipped is good. The first stage is smooth and light. The second stage "wall" is solid and firm. The second stage let off is smooth and crisp (mine is anyway). I bought mine as a refurbished model, so the "value for the money", red stars reflects that, refurb. cost.

    Things I would have changed: The worst thing about the gun is the sight/scope rail. While the dovetail shape is correct for a Weaver/Picatinny rail, the "slot spacing" is NOT. If you have a mounting with a single stop, you will be fine. But if you have a "single", sight/scope/riser mount that has "two" stops (that fit into two grooves), it will not work without some file work.

    What others should know: Be sure to spend the extra few dollars and have the Pyramyd guys shoot a "few" magazines worth of pellets thru it to make sure that there is no magazine indexing problems.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Norman from USA on 2019-08-28
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    4.343 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: The rifle is very accurate. Like all Air Arms rifles, it is very well made.

    Things I would have changed: The rifle is heavy. The weight is 10 pounds and 7 ounces when fitted with Hawke Sport Optics Vantage 4-12x40 AO Rifle Scope. The M1 Garand rifle (WW II rifle) weight is 9 Pounds and 10 ounces. The M1 is considered a heavy rifle.

    What others should know: In my opinion this is the best looking bull pup rifle.

     
  • 3.0 3.0

    4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    By William from USA on 2018-11-20
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    4.343 ratings

    Things I liked: The gun is very accurate, I really enjoyed how well it fit to the shoulder. Very well built, but one complaint listed later.

    Things I would have changed: the mag advance system needs to be changed to something better.

    What others should know: The mag advance system was no good on the gun I received. I could not get the mag to advance correctly. Finally got fed up and sending gun back for refund. Don't get me wrong. I loved the gun. But a gun this expensive should not arrive with issues . I would had kept otherwise. Bothered me to send it back. I really did like it. I will not get another until the mag issue is corrected by air arms.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Alan from USA on 2018-02-20
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    4.02 ratings

    Things I liked: I like the quality and workmanship of an Air Arms rifle. I do pest control on farms from behind or inside a blind and the Galahad has the perfect dimensions for operating in tight areas. It is very accurate in my regulated version .22 all the way down to 15 Bar. Of the five power settings, I use number 3 and routinely achieve 60-65 shots per fill. I like the cocking lever on the left side which allows me to keep my hand positioned on the trigger and grip and my eye on the reticle for quick shots onto the next target. My left hand is free to adjust parallax and cock the rifle which keeps the rifle steady and on the target. It is very quiet and doesn't spook my quarry. I have it topped with a Hawke Sidewinder 6.5X20X42 and use the Hawke Chairgun ballistic program to calibrate my holdovers with the use of a Leupold range finder. I like the black soft covering of the rifle which keeps it from being scratched in the field. It does draw the Ooohs and Aahs from people when I'm out and about.

    Things I would have changed: The price of an extra magazine. I think $50 apiece is a little steep compared to a Maurader's magazine cost.

    What others should know: I checked out other manufactures such as Brocock, Daystate, Hatsan, FX, BSA etc... and for the price and quality I thought Air Arms was the best deal.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Alan from USA on 2018-02-20
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: I like the quality and workmanship of an Air Arms rifle. I do pest control on farms from behind or inside a blind and the Galahad has the perfect dimensions for operating in tight areas. It is very accurate in my regulated version .22 all the way down to 15 Bar. Of the five power settings, I use number 3 and routinely achieve 60-65 shots per fill. I like the cocking lever on the left side which allows me to keep my hand positioned on the trigger and grip and my eye on the reticle for quick shots onto the next target. My left hand is free to adjust parallax and cock the rifle which keeps the rifle steady and on the target. It is very quiet and doesn't spook my quarry. I have it topped with a Hawke Sidewinder 6.5X20X42 and use the Hawke Chairgun ballistic program to calibrate my holdovers with the use of a Leupold range finder. I like the black soft covering of the rifle which keeps it from being scratched in the field. It does draw the Ooohs and Aahs from people when I'm out and about.

    Things I would have changed: The price of an extra magazine. I think $50 apiece is a little steep compared to a Maurader's magazine cost.

    What others should know: I checked out other manufactures such as Brocock, Daystate, Hatsan, FX, BSA etc... and for the price and quality I thought Air Arms was the best deal.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Steven from USA on 2018-02-20
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: First thing that I like is the soft touch stock. It is great! The accuracy of this gun is better than anything that I own. The repeat ability of the power adjuster is also perfect, it is so nice to make a power adjustment when I change the distance of my targets. I do not need to go crazy with the mil dots on my scope. I shoot with the power adjuster in the middle for 10-50 yards and just bump it up to high power when I want to shoot 50-100 yards. I also like the charging handle, it allows me to easily cock the rifle without looking or losing my cheek weld.

    Things I would have changed: I would not change anything, I know everyone wants to complain about the manometer placement or the fill probe or the magazine or whatever. Nothing is going to make everyone happy, I knew what I was buying and accepted what it was before I made my final decision to buy it.

    What others should know: Not very pellet picky. Just use quality pellets and find the one's your rifle likes best at the ranges you will using them. I have had this gun for almost a year and wanted to give a review based on real use both hunting and use in field target shooting. I did not get as much field target in that I wanted too but I have used this hunting with great results. It points easily and as I said already, the follow up shot is quick without losing my cheek weld. If any problems do arise with this gun, I am sure Air Arms and/or Pyramyd Air will be there to make it right.

     
Navigation