Date: 13/12/2018 2:42
0

Beeman Gas Ram. 1073GP. Customer Reviews - page 1

Average Customer Review

4.5 (5 reviews)
3 star2 star1 star
Add to Cart

In-stock

Create an online review   and share your thoughts with other customers

The most helpful favorable review

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful:

Overall rating:5.0

Value for money:4.0

Accuracy:4.0

By Fred from USA on 2016-01-28 19:18:42

Things I liked: Gorgeous wood stock with a feel of precision right up there with its German (coil spring) counterparts. Accurate enough provided you have knowledge of the "Artillery Hold".and if your the kind of person that can't make a decision in life this one is perfect for you as it can shoot both .177 and .22 by swapping its barrel out. I would say use one caliber for one season then switch over to the other the next. as opposed to switching out once a day.

Things I would have changed: Beeman can keep the scope as it doesn't reflect the extream quality of the rifle its shipped with. (overall image would have been better if it wasn't included)

What others should know: This is an overseas build model, as such the barrel is lined with grease. (To maker the trip to the U.S. without rusting) Take at least five q-tips and break them in half, send them through the barrel with a wooden dowel or cleaning rod until they come out clean then clean up the breach face with q-tips to remove any traces of grease. This rifle will still diesel like crazy with the first 50+ shots but I can't imagine what would happen if you failed to clean the barrel first.

The most helpful critical review

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful:

Overall rating:4.0

Value for money:5.0

Accuracy:4.0

By Eric from USA on 2017-01-15 17:25:29

Things I liked: I wanted an air rifle to hunt small game. This one will work perfect. Plenty accurate even for somebody who never shot break barrels before I can hit the target at 25 yards within an inch no problem and I've still only fired maybe 100-150 shots through the gun. With it being a break barrel from what I hear the gun and the shooter will only get more accurate as its broken in and as I learn to shoot with the reverse recoil. This was my biggest concern why I researched for a month before I purchased was accuracy and I'm very happy with this one. I wanted the gas spring, .22 with open sites and a scope, wanted a sling which is the only thing it didn't have but I'm going to figure that one out and add it but being a break barrel it may be tricky. Got an extra barrel to shoot .177 as a bonus. This thing shot decent out of the box... scope and mounts are usable but I'd prefer a variable which is the only reason I plan to change it. Looks beautiful like your classic rifle, love the wood stock.

Things I would have changed: The mounts that come with the scope make the open sites unusable. I bought see through mounts that are still to low. I really wanted to set it up like my black powder to have the choice of the scope or open sites without removing the scope... so the plan now is to buy a dovetail to weaver rail since dovetail mounts are limited then u should be able to get the larger see through mounts to achieve my goal or I'll go with quick detach. Also plan to get a variable scope... nothing really wrong with the scope they give you other than the gun is accurate further than the scope... I seen a .25 caliber air rifle by hatson with a 3-9X32 which should of had a 4X32 and this one should have the 3-9... seems like they don't put a lot of thought into giving you a scope that matches the accuracy the guns can achieve. Was actually thinking of buying the .25 and swapping the scopes giving me the option to shoot .177&.22 on this one and .25 having 3 calibers for 260.00 can't beat it. Add a sling!

What others should know: Clean the barrels and make sure you keep everything tight, they give you Allen wrenches be sure and use them... doesn't come with a case and once you put it together it won't sit back in the box so be prepared to buy a case if you don't want it sitting out getting knocked over or covered in dust might consider ordering at the same time.

Sort by:
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By James from USA on 2018-07-30
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    4.52 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Duel caliber is brilliant. Very nice craftsmanship. Very accurate. Super price.

    Things I would have changed: When the trigger is pulled, it almost disappears up into the wooden stock. Nothing a little stock reshaping wouldn't cure.

    What others should know: Great value for the money. You won't be disappointed. Very good looking rifle.

     
  • 4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    By Eric from USA on 2017-01-15
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    4.343 ratings

    Things I liked: I wanted an air rifle to hunt small game. This one will work perfect. Plenty accurate even for somebody who never shot break barrels before I can hit the target at 25 yards within an inch no problem and I've still only fired maybe 100-150 shots through the gun. With it being a break barrel from what I hear the gun and the shooter will only get more accurate as its broken in and as I learn to shoot with the reverse recoil. This was my biggest concern why I researched for a month before I purchased was accuracy and I'm very happy with this one. I wanted the gas spring, .22 with open sites and a scope, wanted a sling which is the only thing it didn't have but I'm going to figure that one out and add it but being a break barrel it may be tricky. Got an extra barrel to shoot .177 as a bonus. This thing shot decent out of the box... scope and mounts are usable but I'd prefer a variable which is the only reason I plan to change it. Looks beautiful like your classic rifle, love the wood stock.

    Things I would have changed: The mounts that come with the scope make the open sites unusable. I bought see through mounts that are still to low. I really wanted to set it up like my black powder to have the choice of the scope or open sites without removing the scope... so the plan now is to buy a dovetail to weaver rail since dovetail mounts are limited then u should be able to get the larger see through mounts to achieve my goal or I'll go with quick detach. Also plan to get a variable scope... nothing really wrong with the scope they give you other than the gun is accurate further than the scope... I seen a .25 caliber air rifle by hatson with a 3-9X32 which should of had a 4X32 and this one should have the 3-9... seems like they don't put a lot of thought into giving you a scope that matches the accuracy the guns can achieve. Was actually thinking of buying the .25 and swapping the scopes giving me the option to shoot .177&.22 on this one and .25 having 3 calibers for 260.00 can't beat it. Add a sling!

    What others should know: Clean the barrels and make sure you keep everything tight, they give you Allen wrenches be sure and use them... doesn't come with a case and once you put it together it won't sit back in the box so be prepared to buy a case if you don't want it sitting out getting knocked over or covered in dust might consider ordering at the same time.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    By Paul from USA on 2017-01-02
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    4.663 ratings

    Things I liked: Versatile, nice looking wood, price, new gas ram.

    Things I would have changed: Not alot, at this price you basically get two very nice guns for $ of one. If it cost more I may go on about better rear sight, better trigger (its not bad) barel bluing. Alas... Good deal.

    What others should know: Every time you change barels you will have to sight in again. Best to stick to one barel cal most of the time and use loc tight on alen screw holding it in.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    4.0 4.0

    By Fred from USA on 2016-01-28
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    4.666 ratings

    Things I liked: Gorgeous wood stock with a feel of precision right up there with its German (coil spring) counterparts. Accurate enough provided you have knowledge of the "Artillery Hold".and if your the kind of person that can't make a decision in life this one is perfect for you as it can shoot both .177 and .22 by swapping its barrel out. I would say use one caliber for one season then switch over to the other the next. as opposed to switching out once a day.

    Things I would have changed: Beeman can keep the scope as it doesn't reflect the extream quality of the rifle its shipped with. (overall image would have been better if it wasn't included)

    What others should know: This is an overseas build model, as such the barrel is lined with grease. (To maker the trip to the U.S. without rusting) Take at least five q-tips and break them in half, send them through the barrel with a wooden dowel or cleaning rod until they come out clean then clean up the breach face with q-tips to remove any traces of grease. This rifle will still diesel like crazy with the first 50+ shots but I can't imagine what would happen if you failed to clean the barrel first.

     
  • 4.0 4.0

    4.0 4.0

    4.0 4.0

    By john from USA on 2016-01-09
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.03 ratings

    Things I liked: Although manufactured for Beeman in China, the Dual Caliber has reasonably good fit and finish, with a nice stock, excellent trigger, and reasonable power. The gas piston is smooth and predictable -- a definite improvement over the old spring model. After running roughly 1,000 pellets through the gun, mostly in .22, I have found it to be surprisingly accurate and powerful. The scope included with the gun will get you started, but better results will be obtained with an other optic. The supplied rings are no match for this gun's recoil, so the scope will creep. If you stick with the Beeman scope, purchase a good one-piece mount or individual rings with double screws on the dovetail and scope straps. I replaced the stock scope with a Centerpoint, and now with a UTG 3-9x40. Once sighted in, and the gun is broken in, I have generally had nickel size groups at 15-20 yards, and 2 inches at 50 yards. Hold sensitive, like any springer, but accurate. Good plinker or hunter.

    Things I would have changed: Better rings. Some will prefer to keep the stock scope, and for those that do, they will need rings. A set of double screw rings should be included. A slightly larger comb would be useful, but this is a matter of personal preference.

    What others should know: For the money, it's a worthwhile gun. Switching barrels is simple, requiring only a minor elevation adjustment -- a couple of clicks. Returning to the .22 barrel, I have not found the scope to be significantly off center. The only thing to watch is the grub screw that secures the barrel. An extra is supplied with the gun. It will loosen with firing. I would recommend securing it with thread lock compound, and even then, check it periodically. A basic "artillery" hold is needed for repeated accuracy, although I have found that putting slight pressure on the grip and pulling the butt against my shoulder (not too hard) helps.

Navigation