Date: 23/10/2018 11:6
0

Benjamin Trail NP XL Air Rifle reviews - page 1

Average Customer Review

4.5 (318 reviews)

Create an online review   and share your thoughts with other customers

The most helpful favorable review

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful:

Overall rating:5.0

Value for money:5.0

Accuracy:4.0

By espn1990 from USA on 2010-04-23 21:39:46

Things I liked: Powerful and quiet! Love the scope and the scope rail.

Things I would have changed: The trigger! It's horrible. I just installed a GRTIII, made an incredible difference! I have seen a lot of complaints about the trigger on all of the comments. You guys need to order this trigger from charliedatuna.com. $32, shipping included. Money well spent. Also, they need to offer a composite/synthetic stock in the XL series.

What others should know: Not for kids. This is a heavy gun that is hard to cock. I like the weight, seems to help me steady the shot.

The most helpful critical review

0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:

Overall rating:1.0

Value for money:1.0

Accuracy:1.0

By Asher from USA on 2018-10-07 17:07:47

Things I liked: Nice power in .25

Things I would have changed: Better scope an scope track to mount the scope rail on

What others should know: I purchased this gun a few months ago in 25 caliber the scope broke the the first 20 shots trough it bought a new scope put it on the the scope rail fell off poorly made gun

Sort by:
  • 123 ... 1516 Next
  • Showitems
  • 1.0 1.0

    1.0 1.0

    1.0 1.0

    By Asher from USA on 2018-10-07
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Nice power in .25

    Things I would have changed: Better scope an scope track to mount the scope rail on

    What others should know: I purchased this gun a few months ago in 25 caliber the scope broke the the first 20 shots trough it bought a new scope put it on the the scope rail fell off poorly made gun

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    By Jeff from USA on 2018-09-24
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: Great overall adult sized gun. I bought mine in .25 caliber and I have to say, it gets the job done when it comes to hunting. The scope it comes with is decent.

    Things I would have changed: A more durable wood stock, the wood tends to chip easily. Just make sure to be really careful with the gun.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Thomas from USA on 2018-09-15
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: a quality rifle.

    Things I would have changed: option for better scope.

    What others should know: use reccomended pellets

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    By Dillon on 2018-08-17
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: This is a high quality, heavy duty, serious business rifle. My family is full of powder burning deer hunters and ALL of them were amazed by this rifle. The build quality is great, it's fun and easy to shoot, and - in .25 caliber - it smacks with authority. The nitro piston on this bad boy is AMAZING and is the evolution of spring based air rifles.

    Things I would have changed: I wish the stock trigger was better and that this rifler was a pound or two lighter. If shot correctly this gun is great but it can take a little while to figure it out, especially because the stock trigger is so mushy.

    What others should know: Get a good springer rated scope - I recommend UTG as a high-quality entry level option - YouTube the 'artillery hold', get yourself some JSB pellets, clean out the excess factory gunk and you'll be having a blast in no time. This gun is accurate and effective well out to 65 yards - I have shot thousands of pellets through mine and it never gets old. My np xl has seen tons of use in pest control, plinking, and hunting and it never fails to impress at any range I take it to.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    3.0 3.0

    By Bruce S. from USA on 2018-08-15
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Love the gun, shoots well, got tennis elbow the first day shooting it, I shot a lot. LOL

    Things I would have changed: Needs better scope, the scope that came with it crapped out after about 20 or so rounds. was throwing a lot of flyers. I bought a cheap Simmons scope figuring maybe a regular rifle scope would do fine, ( the package said shock proof) the groups were a lot better for the first 20 rounds or so, then they opened up also. Ordered a Sportsmatch rubber mount scope base for it to see if that takes the shock out of it and saves the scope. Was going to try the Diana mount but no one has the one for weaver bases. Will update after I receive the new mount. Gave only 3 stars because the scope and mounts are very crappy. The few shots I got off before scopes crapped out were all touching at 30 yds.

    What others should know: Upgrade to a good scope mount one the will compensate for the recoil, this magnum gun makes short work of scopes.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Gary from USA on 2018-07-20
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: nice rifle good looking accurate easy to sight in

     
  • 4.0 4.0

    4.0 4.0

    4.0 4.0

    By John from USA on 2018-07-04
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: Big, powerful, good looking air rifle.

    Things I would have changed: Nothing.

    What others should know: I believe there are those airgunners that have went this route, regardless of caliber, can not handle this magnum powered beast in any way. Recoil is more than they can handle. They may be intimidated by it. Always blaming the scope or trigger or something other than themselves. Setting and zeroing the scope is out of the question. Should have went the 20 for $20.00 route, the gun would have arrived with the scope mounted and zeroed.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Jason from New Zealand on 2018-07-01
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: The whole thing, 1st Benjamin AR I have brought and im impressed by it. 1st time I took her out for a shoot I put on a laser sight and killed a large Possum with a chest shot at 10 or so metres, as soon as the round hit it froze and hit the ground with a large thud.no shaking or moving around. So Bravo to the people at Crosman for this one.

    Things I would have changed: Nothing

    What others should know: This is defiantly a Hunter and great for Target shooting inside on rainy days.

  • 4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    By James from USA on 2018-06-29
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: looks and feel of the stock, built in weaver rail, scope is surprisingly clear and clicks are solid.

    Things I would have changed: terrible trigger out the box(hopefully it can be tuned), plastic trigger guard and front sling point

    What others should know: This is my 2nd Trail NP XL .25cal in a month. The 1st one was shooting 5" groups at 30' after over a 100rds fired. The blast pattern was 12" right and 10" from POA, again this was at 30'. The scope bottomed out of adjustment long before POI and POA met each other. I cant praise the guys at Pyramyd Air enough for the way they handled the issue. Sent them an email describing the problem, they emailed me back with a return shipping label......no hassle what-so-ever! I could have bought the rifle from another BIG online vendor for much cheaper, but I imagine I would have been stuck with a junk rifle. The 2nd one arrived a couple hours ago.......less than 30 shots and the scope is zero'd at 30'. It is still smoking and settling in, but the groups are already shrinking to quarter size. Very happy with the rifle and couldn't be happier with the sales and service from the guys at Pyramyd Air!

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Chris from USA on 2018-04-06
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Accurate and hard hitting. One of the best values if youre looking for a larger caliber break barrel that actually has some power

    Things I would have changed: Should have come with a sling. Definitely a heavier rifle which doesnt bother me but makes it harder to free aim standing up. Trigger is definitely bad. The weight isnt terrible for the pull but the travel is ridiculous.

    What others should know: Replace the trigger. The gun is great otherwise. Shot a finch with it and blew its back out completely. Hit a beaver while it was swimming in the side of the head at 30 yards and dropped him like a bad habit. Probably not information everyone wants to know but for those who want to hunt or take care of pests it works perfect

  • 2.0 2.0

    2.0 2.0

    2.0 2.0

    By earl from USA on 2018-04-06
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Power, have not shot it much to say any thing else.

    Things I would have changed: Scope is no good spent about a hundred dollars on a new one maxed out the up and down post on the one that came with the gun.

    What others should know: I will half to shoot some other pellets my group at about 22 feet is not that good disappointed so far .CHECK OUT YOUR SCOPES WITH THE GUNS THEY GO WITH THE SCOPE WILL NOT WORK WITH THIS GUN. MY FAITH IN YOU GOES WAY DOWN WHEN I HAD TO REPLACE THE SCOPE .

  • 4.0 4.0

    4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Wayne E from USA on 2018-03-29
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: hard hiting rifle

    Things I would have changed: the center point scope is pure junk. This is the second one I have had nether one aimed true from the first shot and only got worse.

    What others should know: change the scope and you have good shooting rifle, with a healthy cocking effert. I only wish it didnot have the thumb hole stock.

  • 4.0 4.0

    3.0 3.0

    4.0 4.0

    By Jason from USA on 2018-03-18
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: .25 cal and weaver mount extremely quiet gun

    Things I would have changed: Weight of gun very heavy, i didnt care for the finish on the stock and thumbhole a little chunky for my taste.

    What others should know: If you are going hunting with this get a sling. You will thank me later.

     
  • 4.0 4.0

    4.0 4.0

    4.0 4.0

    By Jared from USA on 2018-03-15
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: Excellent velocity and accuracy for a Gas Springer. Weight and balance are very good for field use. Super quiet, shot it side by side with a suppressed .22 subsonic and this rifle is clearly quieter. Liked lighter pellets, but was no slouch with 30-35g pellets.

    Things I would have changed: I've shot my fill of guns, and the only way to get good trigger placement was to use my middle finger. I have adapted, but it would be nice to see the manufacturer produce a stock that is more conducive to proper hand placement. As has been said before the included scope and scope mounts are not the highest quality and should not be used unless access to 20MOA mount and higher quality optics are not immediately available. Also, it would have been nice to see the sunshade and Benjamin sling included.

    What others should know: I bought the Benjamin NP XL .25, and feel like this rifle shines in that caliber. Worth mentioning I did not purchase this particular rifle through Pyramyd, so my review is on the rifle itself, not Pyramyd's excellent service. I tried the 43gr Eunjin pellets and got 530fps average and not very accurate at that speed. I will probably hold on to the ones I have for large varmints, but will avoid anything over 35g in the future. Both 36 and 43 gr Eunjin pellets were a tight bore fit as well.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By David from USA on 2018-03-15
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: The fact that you HIT everything that you aim at! Beautiful rifle! Outstanding accuracy! Powerful in .25 caliber!

    Things I would have changed: It IS a little hefty, other than that, nothing!

    What others should know: Possibly the best most accurate .25 caliber anywhere!

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    4.0 4.0

    By dale from USA on 2018-03-09
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Awesome rifle. Feels well made. So far very accurate

    Things I would have changed: Trigger sucks but with the 5 by 8mm bearing mod it's perfect. Everything else is great

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By David from USA on 2018-03-05
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: First of all this is a beautiful rifle! Accuracy is superb stacking pellets at 32 yards! It consistently hits the mark every time! Trigger pull is crisp and clean, shoulders well.

    Things I would have changed: Nothing really, a superb hard hitting accurate machine!

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Grant from USA on 2018-01-10
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: Power allows me to use copper clad pellets without any great loss of fps. Thumb hole stock is sweet Accuracy is impeccable. More fun than my AK47, any day. Yes, i prefer being on target

    Things I would have changed: Not a must, just a preference, changed out trigger. I got a Chalie da Tuna trigger prior to delivery of my favorite rifle

    What others should know: Charlie da Tuna trigger. Get it while you can. Im in love

  • 2.0 2.0

    2.0 2.0

    3.0 3.0

    By Jon from USA on 2017-12-16
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: lots of power. @ 40 yards, punches holes clean through 1/2 inch plywood. poor little animals... good accuracy & grouping (only with) JSB Monster 13.4 gr. pellets.

    Things I would have changed: Need to weld the weaver scope mount rail on a lot stronger. After about 400 shots, my Trail XL 1500 started shooting all over the place, and I found a hair line crack through the weaver rail welds. Lots of other reviews mention this same problem. If they would fix this weld problem, this would be a really sweet gun.

    What others should know: for .177 cal. The JSB Monster 13.43 gr pellets grouped (A LOT) better than these other pellets: Crossman premier 10.5, JSB beast 16.2 gr, and H&N sniper 14.97 gr

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By airhead from USA on 2017-12-06
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: couldn't ask for much more in a 260 dollar break barrel. It's solid,shoots well,haven't had any issues. Hard hitting,almost the perfect .25 cal,single shot air rifle. I'm really happy with it. Started off with break barrels,then,bought a bunch of high quality pcp's,which I love,but wanted another b-b. So here we are.

    Things I would have changed: I've read complaints about the trigger and piston seal. For now everything is fine as frog's hair. May upgrade those components later. So, no changes thus far. Changing the trigger looks easy enough but haven't found any useful info on piston seals

    What others should know: This is a damned good rifle for the money. Had to get an extra long case for it. It's just shy of 49 inches. Treat the wood stock with the proper oils,do your research,take care of it and you should have a nice small game hunter for years to come. It's on the medium scale of loudness. Perfect if you have woods or a few acres,or just really cool neighbors

     
  • 123 ... 1516 Next
Navigation