Date: 16/12/2018 11:32
0

Air Venturi .45. 004-300. Customer Reviews - page 1

Average Customer Review

4.5 (7 reviews)
3 star1 star
Add to Cart

Only 4 left in stock

Create an online review   and share your thoughts with other customers

The most helpful favorable review

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful:

Overall rating:5.0

Value for money:4.0

Size/Shape Distribution:5.0

By Kirk from USA on 2015-11-20 16:32:38

Things I liked: Shoots very well thru the Airforce Texan. Launched them at just under 800 f/s for three shots.Good, soft lead (that's a good thing).

Things I would have changed: They are pricey. The buy 4 pay for three deal makes them a little more manageable.

What others should know: These group very well at 100 and 150 yards thru my Texan. Groups were 2 3/4" at both distances with bullets still drilling plywood and continuing on. This round worked perfect for a 275 lb whitetail at 90 yards. Four mil-dots of holdover and it was all over for him. Entered through right side rib, detached and demolished right lung, passed over heart, penetrated left lung, keyholed through left rib and lodged between rib and hide on the left side. That buck sounded like he had been hit with a baseball bat. He stumbled about 50 yards and expired. Expansion was good, considering I was under 800 ft/s. Expanded to about 7/8". Deadly round.

The most helpful critical review

0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:

Overall rating:2.0

Value for money:2.0

Size/Shape Distribution:2.0

By chris from USA on 2018-11-14 19:03:36

Things I liked: Using the Texan these Air Venturi 300gr are good enough for casual target shooting sessions using pretty close to the same zero as the Nielsen Specialty ammo 290gr.

Things I would have changed: I have bought three boxes of these and they are not packaged well from whomever makes them.( PyramydAir packages them VERY well for shipping) but I have gotten one box of loose rounds in the box that were beaten all to hell and two boxes have been loosely bagged inside the box. Anyway, my point being that they are usually banged up and show plenty of dings and scrapes. I use them only for plinking. I wish they would take more pride in their product and package them more carefully to minimize damage.

What others should know: I would not recommend using these for large game hunting. They do not deform and will overpenetrate and cause minimal damage to large game. Shots fired into pine wooden blocks at 50 yards, after being recovered show very minimal deformation and approximately 3-4 inches of penetration. In a deer this round is going to go straight through soft tissue making minimal damage. Will they kill a deer? Yes of course they will, but if you are hunting I would encourage you to look for a high quality soft lead hollow point to maximize the energy transferred into the target. But if you just want to knock the crap out of steel targets these are good enough.

Sort by:
  • 2.0 2.0

    2.0 2.0

    2.0 2.0

    By chris from USA on 2018-11-14
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Using the Texan these Air Venturi 300gr are good enough for casual target shooting sessions using pretty close to the same zero as the Nielsen Specialty ammo 290gr.

    Things I would have changed: I have bought three boxes of these and they are not packaged well from whomever makes them.( PyramydAir packages them VERY well for shipping) but I have gotten one box of loose rounds in the box that were beaten all to hell and two boxes have been loosely bagged inside the box. Anyway, my point being that they are usually banged up and show plenty of dings and scrapes. I use them only for plinking. I wish they would take more pride in their product and package them more carefully to minimize damage.

    What others should know: I would not recommend using these for large game hunting. They do not deform and will overpenetrate and cause minimal damage to large game. Shots fired into pine wooden blocks at 50 yards, after being recovered show very minimal deformation and approximately 3-4 inches of penetration. In a deer this round is going to go straight through soft tissue making minimal damage. Will they kill a deer? Yes of course they will, but if you are hunting I would encourage you to look for a high quality soft lead hollow point to maximize the energy transferred into the target. But if you just want to knock the crap out of steel targets these are good enough.

     
  • 4.0 4.0

    3.0 3.0

    4.0 4.0

    By Jonathan from USA on 2018-03-06
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Hard hitting

    Things I would have changed: More consistent shape. Not all seated equally well in my evanix Rex p. Had a couple misshapen enough to possibly effect the seal in the barrel, though only maybe three out of 200

    What others should know: These don't seat well in the evanix Rex p .45. they also use more air than lighter pellets would in that gun. I'd stick with smaller pellets for that gun, certainly wouldn't go any bigger than these

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Dean from USA on 2018-01-13
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: Thumper ammo - hits hard .

    Things I would have changed: Nothing

    What others should know: They line up and seat very well in .45 Texan

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    3.0 3.0

    5.0 5.0

    By William from USA on 2016-02-28
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: Pretty much the fact that these are what they are advertised to be. They work well in the Texan (but truth be told, everything I have used in that air rifle has worked at least to the limit of my ability as a shooter (military trained years ago, but not too shabby of a shot).

    Things I would have changed: The item-shock protection in the box seems a bit minimalist for my taste, but, I have not found any damaged pellets, so perhaps not. And, decrease the price a bit, after all, it's lead, not gold :-)

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Kirk from USA on 2015-11-20
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.02 ratings

    Things I liked: Shoots very well thru the Airforce Texan. Launched them at just under 800 f/s for three shots.Good, soft lead (that's a good thing).

    Things I would have changed: They are pricey. The buy 4 pay for three deal makes them a little more manageable.

    What others should know: These group very well at 100 and 150 yards thru my Texan. Groups were 2 3/4" at both distances with bullets still drilling plywood and continuing on. This round worked perfect for a 275 lb whitetail at 90 yards. Four mil-dots of holdover and it was all over for him. Entered through right side rib, detached and demolished right lung, passed over heart, penetrated left lung, keyholed through left rib and lodged between rib and hide on the left side. That buck sounded like he had been hit with a baseball bat. He stumbled about 50 yards and expired. Expansion was good, considering I was under 800 ft/s. Expanded to about 7/8". Deadly round.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Mark from USA on 2015-07-27
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    1.01 rating

    Things I liked: looks great

    Things I would have changed: n/a

    What others should know: they looked good

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Mark from USA on 2015-07-20
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    3.02 ratings

    Things I liked: great

    Things I would have changed: nothing

    What others should know: no

     
Navigation